We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket food store” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meinhardts

Meinhardts
14th & Granville, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Fairview)
Improve this listing
Ranked #907 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $10 - $15
Neighborhood: Fairview
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Fairview
Dundee, Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Upmarket food store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is an upmarket food store/supermarket, selection of food very good with good layout, enjoyed my visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    9
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Expensive but handy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Meinhardts has a long history in Vancouver. Before the Pattison group bought it, it was owned by Linda Meinhardt who essentially copied Dean and Deluca with the wood floors, stainless shelving, and foodie specialty items. Before that it was Harts, and that was around for a long time as the local grocer.

The deli makes the most delicious Indian fare, but is so expensive that every time I pay $20 for a smattering of deliciousness, I figure I could have gone to Rangoli down the street and have someone serve excellent Indian food to me.

The flowers are lovely. Most of the produce is conventional, which is one of the reasons I don't shop there more often.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Foodie Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

For unusual, gourmet or fabulous food for your own kitchen or to impress your friends. I always spend way too much money but come home with excellent gourmet sauces, oils, foods to experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“not the market for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Meinhardts is a South Granville staple, and a lot of Vancouverites love it. I go a couple of times a year just for novelty, as there are markets I prefer in my own neighbourhood. When I stopped in the other day, I was reminded why I don't bother making the trip more frequently. It's going for a European vibe, and has a lot of interesting products, but they seem so overpriced and the space is so crowded and sometimes smells a bit...well...pungent. If I were going to choose a similar kind of pricey market, I'd hit Urban Fare downtown or on 4th, or Whole Foods on Cambie, or the Granville Island market.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Meinhardts - its what Urban Fare improved on.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Meinhardts in Kits closed a while back leaving the Granville street store by itself. MH has excellent prepared food (Lunches, etc) but their groceries and flowers are way over priced. Urban fare does groceries and service better, tho' their food is not quite MH standard.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meinhardts also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Meinhardts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meinhardts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.