We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must for northwest art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bill Reid Gallery

Bill Reid Gallery
639 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2G3, Canada (Downtown)
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 184 attractions in Vancouver
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Downtown Vancouver's public gallery named after acclaimed Haida artist Bill Reid. The Gallery is home to the Simon Fraser University Bill Reid Collection and changing exhibitions of contemporary Aboriginal Art of the Northwest Coast.Highlights include Bill Reid's stunning gold and silver jewelry, monumental sculptures and a towering totem pole by James Hart of Haida Gwaii. Visit the Gallery Gift Shop for a selection of original works and prints by local Northwest Coast artists, distinctive jewelry, accessories, books, cards and more. Located in the heart of downtown, just steps from the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, Pacific Centre Mall and Canada Line skytrain City Centre Station.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“a must for northwest art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Bill Reid, really don't think I need say more. the jewelry gallery is just stunning. the guest artist pieces were very witty with the theam being comedy loved the cereal boxes

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Discover Aboriginal Art and an Amazing Canadian Visionary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Raining and cold in Vancouver so we decided to check out Bill Reid Gallery - boy, am-I happy we did. The displays were insightful and thorough. I was able to learn and gain a new appreciation for Aboriginal art as well as the humour, resiliency and vision of the First Nations of Canada.
The exhibits were accessible and the reading material was just right. There was great care in explaining the different trends in Bill Reid's art and what he was trying to express. What an amazing great Canadian artist of our times. I recommend this mini gallery to all who head to Vancouver.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“excellent way to while away an hour or two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I wasn't that familiar with Northwest Coast Art before this exhibition, so this was a good overview of what it's all about. There are some excellent pieces by Bill Reid in this gallery, including a lot of jewelry pieces and the large bronze frieze Mythic Messengers, which is absolutely amazing. The current exhibition on humor in contemporary Northwest Coast Art is great too. If you're looking for something to do that is unique to Vancouver, I highly recommend this gallery!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A Moving Tribute To A Great Canadian Artist & A Few Laughs, Too :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband & I were "playing" tourist on a warm September day, this fall in Vancouver. We were from walking Yaletown to Coal Harbour when we "discovered" the Bill Reid's Gallery. A set of stairs took up us to a secluded garden. The gallery is off to the right of the garden.

The theme of the current exhibition was Carrying on "Irregardless": Humour in Contemporary Northwest Coast Art. " Works in "Irregardless" were selected for their aesthetic qualities and their sense of fun and playfulness, the two main ingredients of humour. Works in "Irregardless" use humour, irony, parody and satire to challenge stereotypes and raise unexpected questions. This exhibition continues the Bill Reid Gallery's growing tradition of exploring new themes in contemporary Northwest Coast art." said Mike Robinson, Executive Director, Bill Reid Gallery.

We were charmed & challenged by the theme.

The permanent collection included: Reid’s bronze masterpiece, Mythic Messengers, a 8.5 m bronze frieze, Reid’s gold and silver jewelry & several of Reid’s works featured on the Canadian $20 banknote. Also, historical footage of Reid from 1954 through 1998 presented by CBC which I found fascinating. I would recommend taking the time to watch this footage.

There was a full-scale totem pole carved by James Hart of Haida Gwaii, featuring the Wasgo, or Haida Sea-Wolf that presided over the gallery space.

We spent about 1 !/2 hours immersed in the art of Bill Reid. Time well spent.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A small treasure in downtown Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I am biased for I am the chair of the gallery. It is a warm and inviting space with pieces from numerous Pacific Northwest Coast artists, including Bill Reid and Jim Hart. A pleasant one to two hours visiting the gallery won't be wasted.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Reid Gallery also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bill Reid Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill Reid Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bill Reid Gallery to your Saves list