We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All my family loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shelter Restaurant

Shelter Restaurant
601 Campbell Street,, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
+1 250-725-3353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 43 Restaurants in Tofino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All my family loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The food was amazing, the server was super nice and friendly. The oysters are strongly recommended, the chef's special was pretty good, so was the steak. My family absolutely loved the meal...on the other hand, I tried to step out of my comfort zone and tried the "Tofino Surf Bowl" instead of ordering a steak or a main entree seafood. The food was not good in my perspective, the rice was hard and there was hardly any sauce, the vegetable sucked. But I guess that's only because I am out of my comfort zone. The other food I tried from other people's plate was amazing. Sorta regret it haha :D

The food came up a bit too slow..I hope the restaurant could improve on that :)

P.S THE CLAM CHOWDER WAS PERFECT!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    345
    76
    31
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great food, wine and friendly service. Might be a touch more expensive than some other places but its worth it. Very nice ambience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a cute little restaurant on the left side of the road as you are entering Tofino. We think it is the best of the ones we have tried. It has a lovely patio and the inside decor is beautiful. The food is excellent!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A variety of good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

While their pricier options seemed a little hit or miss, their casual fare, including their lingcod burgers, were awesome. Nice flexible price range, fun environs, and great service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best fish ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Visited here on the recommendation by the host of the B&B we were staying at.
Fantastic oysters followed by a beautiful piece of halibut.
Great staff really helpful and efficient. If you are in the area give it a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelter Restaurant also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Shelter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelter Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.