We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and a great breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn

The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn
500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach (The Wickaninnish Inn), Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
250.725.3100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $105
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Surveying the panoramic vistas from the westernmost point of Tofino’s idyllic Chesterman Beach, The Pointe Restaurant’s Refined West Coast cuisine and attentive service come gift-wrapped with 240 degree views of the Pacific Ocean, surrounding islands and wildlife. Much of the fresh seafood is fished from the very waters overlooked by The Pointe, and a longstanding focus on locally sourced, high quality ingredients is evident. Dinner is offered on a seasonal à la carte menu, but for the best of the best, try Chef de Cuisine Nick Nutting’s weekly tasting menu; Daily brunch is a true treat. Out of the ordinary desserts reflect an innovative Pastry program where most everything - from bread to butter to scrumptious chocolate croissants are housemade. An extensive wine list, recognized yearly by Wine Spectator magazine, showcases BC’s finest selections with a broad range of international bottlings. Over 100 Scotch Whiskies and a creative cocktail menu can be savoured in the comfortable On the Rocks Lounge. A true taste of Rustic Elegance On Nature’s Edge - and the West Coast’s best views - are on the menu at The Pointe Restaurant and On the Rocks Lounge.
Fountain Valley, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great view and a great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The dining room overlooks a scenic beach. The service is very good, as is the quality of the food. The loose-leaf tea is tasty and the coffee is delicious. Our food was prepared just as requested and was very good. Definitely a delightful way to start the day!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    59
    36
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fine dinning with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were seated next to a window with a wonderful, panoramic view of the ocean. The meal was exquisite and the wait staff were great, attentive and helpful without being intrusive. I recommend this restaurant highly! We were not guests at the Inn, but would consider in on a return visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a nice restaurant! We had dinner here. The view was wonderfull, the food excellent and the service was fast and by very very friendly staff!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Obviously not everybody has this experience but it was perfect for us. We dined on Canada Day and the menu featured a special Canada Day tasting menu-- all based on fish or seafood. It had been a delightful sunny day and the lightness and originality of the four dishes that were presented was fantastic at least in the opinion of the particular collection of taste buds represented by the four of us. And of course the setting and view are unparalleled.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Agree with D H, great view but only for guests of inn and ruined experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First, our dinner was superb and our server, Jeff, was great. But the best part of this restaurant is the view. We arrived for Saturday dinner at 5:30 and the restaurant was not crowded. There appears to be two sittings. I suspect the later sitting is very popular in order to watch the sunset -- which would be fantastic. We were staying on nearby Chesterman beach and watched the sunset most nights. What we didn't know was that the seats at the huge panoramic windows are only for guests of the inn. Now I get this on one level. It makes sense for the inn to ensure that their guests have access to the best seats. But on another level, it is a bit frustrating to be tucked way back when there was all these empty tables with a great view. It as almost as if the inn tried to make you feel second rate. Keep in mind, dinner at the restaurant is not cheap -- $80 for the tasting menu. I think the owners of the inn should reconsider their policy for two reasons: (1) if you are eating at this restaurant, you are an upscale luxury traveller and (2) the restaurant is the best advertisement for the inn should one come back to Tofino. I am certainly coming back to Tofino. But, sorry Wickaninnish Inn, I will not stay at your Inn and I won't eat at your restaurant again. 5 points for the meal, 0 points for your dining policy, so you get 3 points for the whole experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear OntraioTravelboy,
We appreciate you providing us with feedback of your dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant.
While we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your meals and the service provided to you by Jeff, we do apologize that we were unable to provide a window side table for you.
As mentioned to D H below, it is our standard during the reservation process to advise guests that window tables have generally been previously requested by our in-house guests who typically make their guestroom reservations and corresponding restaurant reservations often months in advance. Of course if there is an opportunity to fulfill any guest request we would most certainly do so although this is not generally possible, especially during the peak summer travel season . We do apologize if this information was not relayed to you during your reservation process and we will certainly be following up with our team in this regard.
It is true that window side tables often appear available but as we are only able to accommodate 5-6 tables every half hour and dining times are often 2 hours in length these tables are typically being held for later arriving diners or in some cases delayed arrivals.
As The Pointe Restaurant does provide our guests with a 240˚ view of the Pacific Ocean, we do feel that tables not right at the window also offer spectacular views and certainly hope our guests enjoy their dining experience at all tables of The Pointe Restaurant.
We would be pleased to discuss our reservation standards or any other aspect of your experience directly with you if you would provide your coordinates through the Trip Advisor private messaging network.
Again, we are truly sorry that we were unable to seat you at a window table and of course disappointed that you will not be returning to dine with us again although we hope you might reconsider.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.