We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shanty Restaurant

Sea Shanty Restaurant
300 Main St, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
+1 250-725-8811
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 44 Restaurants in Tofino
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Owners Lewis & Cathy George would like to welcome our new Chef Billy Feltmate to the Shanty Team. Chef Billy invites you to come and experience our brand new menu. We are very excited to offer a wide variety of seafood options. The best view in Tofino combined with great food and service promises you an unforgettable experience. Located on 300 Main Street Downtown Tofino on the waterfront.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Patio ok, great service, food good/ok BUT not worthy of the prices they charge! Over priced for sure!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    71
    35
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Deck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

It has one of the nicer decks by the water to enjoy the sights in Tofino... the downside is that the food is rather average.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Prime Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is not "fine dining" but it is does do excellent and good value Halibut and chips. Where the Shanty scores is in it's location, we had a table by the window with superb views over the harbour and inlet, that itself makes this a venue to go for. Service was OK albeit it a bit amateurish and over friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“crab is extremely expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We went to the sea shanty on a dull sunday for lunch. W e wanted to order the mixed shellfish platter but they told us that was available from 4.00 pm ony. We thought about leaving but the view was very nice s we stayed. Instead my wife ordered the dungeness crab, market price it mentioned, but nobody told us that market price would be $ 70, an absurd amount of money for a crab. I haven't paid that much for a crab (except King crab) in any restaurant anywhere.
Winelist is extremely limited.
This was a once but never again Sea Shanty, even though the crab was tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Good Food and a View To Die For in Tofino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Everywhere in Tofino the views are spectacular. But most restaurants look out on the Pacific or have no view. Sea Shanty, in a First Nations owned building near the float plane dock, looks out on Clayoquot Sound and islands and mountains to the north and east. The view is amazing. Surprisingly for a "look at this view!" place, the food is also quite good. TwoInMaine and two travelling companions enjoyed fish and chips (simple and delicious), broiled lingcod, a very good hamburger, and a special request to the kitchen for a simple bowl of steamed local mussels that the chef whipped up for only $12. Selection of local beers on tap and wines was inexpensive, varied, and enjoyable. Coffee and desserts were OK but nothing special. There's an outdoor deck even closer to the water, and some braved the wind (using restaurant supplied blankets and eating quickly before the dishes cooled). We stayed indoors. But oh my what a view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Shanty Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sea Shanty Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shanty Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.