We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shanty Restaurant

Sea Shanty Restaurant
300 Main St, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
+1 250-725-8811
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 44 Restaurants in Tofino
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Owners Lewis & Cathy George would like to welcome our new Chef Billy Feltmate to the Shanty Team. Chef Billy invites you to come and experience our brand new menu. We are very excited to offer a wide variety of seafood options. The best view in Tofino combined with great food and service promises you an unforgettable experience. Located on 300 Main Street Downtown Tofino on the waterfront.
Parksville, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were a group of nine for a family dinner. The service was quite good, the setting was nice. I had pasta with seafood for $18. Lots of fresh seafood (prawns, white fish and smoked salmon) but the pasta noodles and the sauce were like glue. Not sure if the order sat for a while before they brought it out. One fellow at our table sent his steak ($28) back 2 times. He ordered medium but got well done the 1st time, and very very rare the second. By the time they cooked it the 3rd time everyone else at the table had finished their meals. We were a large group so they add a 15% tip, the waitress encouraged my elderly aunt (who was a bit confused with the credit card machine ) to add an additional tip when she paid. No extras here. They charge $3 for bread. We will not go back, there are too many other choices in Tofino.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margot B, Owner at Sea Shanty Restaurant, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'd like to start by thanking you for providing us with some constructive feedback regarding your experience with us at the Sea Shanty.

Please accept my apology for the unfortunate circumstances regarding the food items that were ordered. I, as the Executive Chef/Owner was concerned when I read your comments and have spoken to the Kitchen Manager and Service Staff Supervisor on duty at the time of your visit with us. We spoke candidly regarding the specific incidents that you mentioned in your review and please be assured, I take these types of incidents seriously.

The supervisor was taking payment and has indicated there may have been a misunderstanding regarding the tip function on the debit machine. When there will be a service charge added to a bill, service staff are required to provide this information to the guests at the table before the bill is presented. Once presented with the bill, we remind service staff to voice to the guest that a service charge has been added to the bill and when prompted for the tip, they may prompt past the % or $ amount. The supervisor did apologize for any misunderstanding this may have caused, however we are not able to remove the prompt for a gratuity on a bill that has a service charge already included.

There are certainly many options in the Tofino area for a dining experience and we hope that you would provide us with another opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Regards,

Margot
Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    71
    35
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great view, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great view and good food. Fish and chips we very good. Service was friendly but a bit disorganized. I think their computers were down that day, so maybe another chance again

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margot B, Owner at Sea Shanty Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here at the Sea Shanty. Due to unforeseen circumstances, we were operating with our a POS system during your visit. Thankfully, much like yourself, most people are able to overlook minor glitches and enjoy the food & view our restaurant has to offer.
I am extremely pleased that you did enjoy the food & friendly service and thank you immensely for your patience during your visit.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tofino.

Warmest Regards,
Margot
Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Salmon my husband ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We chose the Sea Shanty mainly because of the wonderful view of Tofino Harbor. We were pleasantly surprised at how great the food was. My husband said it was the best salmon he ever had. This is high praise as we were just finishing a 19 day trip to Seattle, Alaska and Vancouver Island. The Chef marinated it, then smoked it, then grilled it. My veggie and pasta dish was wonderful as well. The staff was super friendly and professional. We would highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margot B, Manager at Sea Shanty Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for providing your feedback! We sincerely appreciate the time you've taken to provide others with your experience here at the Sea Shanty!
We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Margot
Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Salmon & dessert were wonderful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Beautiful view, nice staff, bbq smoked salmon was delicious and the veggies were a bit too underseasoned for us. The chcolate express mousse dessert was great. Would recommend the restaurant and feel that most people will enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise and a must try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were heading down the street to the pier and noticed the restaurant. We went in for lunch and sat on the outside deck. The menu is small but packed with flavour and surprises. Two of us had the burger of the day which was a Cajun snapper with Shrimp and the most amazing fresh salad and house made wild berry dressing. My hubby had the duck burger and cousin TS had the shrimp and smoked salmon monte cristo. Added to the great meal was watching boats and a float plane come and go. Would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Shanty Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sea Shanty Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shanty Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.