We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spotted Bear

Spotted Bear
#101 - 120 Fourth St, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
250-725-2215
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Tofino
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
North Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are in Tofino several times a year but until recently have never visited the Spotted Bear, in fact we never knew it existed as it is not on the main street. This is a reasonably small restaurant, but it is cosy and well-decorated. The kitchen is open to the dining area so you can watch the cooks prepare your meal.

We visited recently as a party of 6 for breakfast and had a wonderful meal. Most of us had the Pinche Aguacate which is basically an eggs Benedict dish. There is no way that you would be hungry after finishing this meal and it was cooked very well. The eggs were perfect - exactly right (thanks Kevin!). The service was fun and friendly - just what you need to get you going for the day.

This will definitely be a place that we return to whenever we are in Tofino.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    75
    28
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Need to cook fish properly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was quite disappointed with my experience here recently. Small restaurant with open kitchen design sounds fine. However, the ventilation in the kitchen area was inadequate and I had an asthma attack sitting in the dining area. Some of the dishes were tasty and creative. However, I ordered the halibut, which is very likely freshly caught and local. I was surprised when the fish came to me so dried out. Couldn't eat it. Our server graciously offered to replace it with something else or cook a new serving. I chose the latter and asked that it be served under rather than overdone. I was absolutely shocked when it can back pretty much as dried out and tasteless as the first time. The waitress was very sweet and offered to take the price off the bill. I'd have prefered to pay for a nicely cooked piece of fresh halibut. If you can't do that in Tofino, the restaurant won't last. Too bad. Lots of potential.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Try the octopus bacon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I've never had octopus bacon before but what a great idea. When we visited it was served with halibut that perfectly cooked but the bacon stole the spotlight.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went for a romantic dinner and we almost have the place for ourselves. This is a small restaurant and the chef takes very good care of the details. The food is local, it varies with the seasons, and delicious!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Gourmet Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is definitely one of the more upscale places in Tofino. Great menu with with some creative meals. All fresh and local food. The tuna tartar with truffle is to die for and a combination I never had before.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spotted Bear also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Spotted Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spotted Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.