We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished I Ate Here on My 1st Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spotted Bear - CLOSED

Spotted Bear
#101 - 120 Fourth St, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
250-725-2215
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wished I Ate Here on My 1st Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent food and value for what you receive. The best restaurant in Tofino. I wished I had visited this restaurant on my 1st night in Tofino and if I had I would have gone back more once.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    77
    28
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went for dinner on our recent visit to Tofino. Was not busy so the service was great..We shared an appetizer which was outstanding and then each ordered an entree, she the duck, me the Short Ribs. Both were very substantial dishes.. too much for us that night. But they were absolutely delicious. The duck presentation was very nice and the short ribs served on a cedar platter. This is a small, casual place with a very limited but very good menu. A bit pricey maybe, but then everything is a bit pricey in Tofino restaurants.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tofino's culinary gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Spotted Bear is tucked away on 4th Street. If the outdoor torches are not burning you may drive right by. Best advice. Drive slowly and seek out Tofino's culinary gem. You will not be disappointed. The restaurant is small, a better word would be cozy, so best to make a reservation. as it seems to have a strong local following and can book out fast. If you are looking for flashy, you may find the atmosphere a little simple. It is not overdone. I like to think subtle with hints of hipster without the pretentiousness. This vibe is what makes the Spotted Bear so memorable. The food is fresh, locally sourced, and downright delicious and focuses on what make great food great! and the service is always casual excellence with a great Tofino flair. It is not stuffy or pretentious. Highly recommend this to anyone who wants to experience some culinary excellence while visiting the west coast. Happy dining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had the chicken paparedelle and it was very generously portioned and tasty. Bf is vegetarian and they made a delicious moroccan couscous which was so tasty I wish I had ordered it as well!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Spotted Bear is one of our favourite restaurants to go to - excellent food at great prices. To the reviewers who think the Bear is expensive: where do you eat??? This isn't White Spot! All the food is prepared on site fresh daily by either the owner and Chef Vince or his Sous Chef Simon. It is actually one of the less expensive restaurants in Tofino!!! And the food is well worth the price. We love the tuna tartar and the pot de creme, but everything is always very tasty. Make a reservation if you are coming in the peak season (at ANY restaurant in Tofino - this is a town of 2000 not a city, so reserve if you want to eat out! If you don't and go hungry you have only yourself to blame - oh and by the way, those "empty seats" you see when you walk in? Those are for people who planned ahead. They reserved.)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spotted Bear also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spotted Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.