We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spotted Bear

Spotted Bear
#101 - 120 Fourth St, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
250-725-2215
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Tofino
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is one of the few restaurants to remain open for dinner during off-season, and this is good news for visitors! Suggest reservations, as we tried ot get in our first night, but they were full. We perservered and were glad we did. Food was excellent. Fresh local ingredients, with a twist on things. Not over the top, but good flavors and combinations. Daily specials. Service friendly and spot on. Appetizers good, we had the tuna tartare and the daily pork/shrimp patties. Main course also very good, we chose the duck and the PHO. Highly recommend the Spotted Bear.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    75
    28
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Words cannot describe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This is the best food in the town, for a very fair price. The chef is definitely talented, and the staff is great! A must try for sure!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of many fine Tofino restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The chef is great!...wonderfully prepared and delicious food with a portion that's not skimpy like most "bistros". My only gripe might be that (like all Tofino restaurants) they could perhaps have at least a couple of more reasonably priced house wines on the menu....I know there are decent one's out there that can be sold (with a profit) for under $30/bottle....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Consistently great Bistro Food - great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I wanted to write another review of this restaurant based on our last visit there.

I can't believe anyone thinks this place isn't great value for money. For the quality of the ingredients and preparation its a complete steal.

We had a slight hiccup at the last visit due to the our table being double booked (can happen anywhere) - we were immediately sorted out with seats at the bar whilst we waited and free drinks - and very well looked after throughout the rest of the evening.

The starters and main course were all superb - my only, very slight , criticism is that the desserts lack as much flair as the rest of the menu - but are still very good.

We will visit again - and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divide, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was recommended by the managers of our B&B, and I can't fathom why. The atmosphere was terrible, like eating in a box. The chef is talented and the food good, but way overpriced. They need a new location!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spottedbear, Owner at Spotted Bear, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear flicka55,

As the owner and chef of the Spotted Bear, I'm extremely sorry to hear that you did not have a more than wonderful dining experience. I was so glad to see that you did indeed enjoy the food and am flattered that you feel I am a talented chef, so I thank you very much. I am sorry you felt that my food did not merit the pricing. I believe in using the freshest and most sustainable products available; purveying those items from such a remote location in the winter months is not always easy and can dictate the prices accordingly.

Regarding the atmosphere and decor of the restaurant, I am always striving to make my restaurant a cozy, relaxed and comfortable space and it pains me to see that your experience was not so. If you could provide me with more detailed feedback - via private message if you prefer (info@spottedbearbistro.com) - so that I might better understand why it impacted your rating so much, that would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much for coming in and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spotted Bear also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Spotted Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spotted Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.