We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Star Beach Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Star Beach Retreat to your Saves list
Sea Star Beach Retreat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1294 Lynn Road | PO Box 2, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Seattle
Level Contributor
180 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed 4 nights, great location closer to Tofino, but well within an easy ride to Ucluelet, as well as the Pacific Rim Park. The suite was spacious and clean and the amenities (washer & dryer, hot tub just outside the front door, the BBQ grill, etc.) were a nice touch. That said, a full size stove, instead of the two burner hot plate, would have been the "cherry on the sundae."

About the only negative I'd give is the noise level when the suite upstair was occupied. Fortunately, that suite was only used on that one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after seeing positive reviews and feedback from friends. The location is great-across from North Chesterman. The suite is spacious and had everything we needed.The poor for cleanliness is not due to actual housekeeping, as the suite was tidy and clean, but due to an odor of mould/mildew. Nobody else has mentioned this on reviews and the owner was surprised and accommodating- offered for us to stay somewhere else and to give our money back if we were too uncomfortable to stay. We stayed, but experienced allergies that I have only felt cleaning my grandparents basement.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at the main suite. Everything was clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped. There are even comfy throws to use while watching TV.

We didn't use the hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My brother and my sister-in-law are just back from a 3 days stay at the Sea Star beach retreat. We stayed in the Main suite and it was very nice. There is 2 bedrooms with comfortable queen beds one with ensuite, The place is very clean with everything you need. The owners live upstairs and you could hear noises during the day but they kept it quiet at night so it was no problems to get a good night of sleep. The location is perfect with a 2 minutes walk to Chesterman beach. The use of the hot tub is also quite nice. I would stay there again during my next stay in Tofino.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comox valley, bc
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

5 of us stayed here around New Years, 2011 and it was great! We rented the garden suite and the loft which gave us lots of room. The kitchens were well equipped for all the cooking we did, the beach is a couple minutes walk away, the hot tub is fantastic, We didn't see the owners the whole 48 hours we were there. It is relaxing, there are no "rules' posted, the beds are very comfortable, there are washers and dryers to use, fireplaces, great water pressure, and so affordable!!! We are booked in for 3 nights in July and will be taking our teenage nephew with us this time. We can't wait to be back at the Sea Star!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We've stayed several times at the Sea Star in the past decade. Each time we've enjoyed our stay and found the accommodation completely met our needs.

This trip we stayed in the Loft Suite. There were 3 of us and though the suite can accommodate more, we were very comfortable. The beds were comfortable and had nice comfy duvets on them. The kitchen was well appointed with all the cutlery, utensils and a nice nice Cuisinart coffee maker! The bathroom was recently renovated and has a nice deep tub.

We really enjoy the hot tub while we're there. The temperature is always just right to stay in for a quite a while; not too hot but warm enough to stay in and enjoy a beverage or two.

The location is outstanding. Not on the beach with not on the beach prices, but right across from the public access to Chesterman Beach, the nicest beach around. It is spectacularly quiet at night and one can get a free restful sleep in the Loft Suite.

All in all we always enjoy staying at the Sea Star and enjoy our conversations with Rod and Kelly. It is just the right spot if you don't need to be on the beach and want a spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable suite for you and your family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Whilst this is listed as at Chesterman Beach it is interesting to know that it's only a few miles to the village of Tofino which has restarurants/supermarket/hardware store etc.

We wanted a quiet spot to relax. The suite (we rented the Loft) comprised two bedrooms living room, decent bathroom and well equipped kitchen. The unit can actually accommodate 6 but 4 is the ideal number. In the summer you have access to a BBQ and the hot tub is available year round. Very relaxing spot, the beach is across the road. Owners are conscientous but unobtrusive. Wi-fi and TV with many channels available too.
Pacific Rim Park is a drive away but well worth exploring, particularly the rain forest walk. Just be aware that they charge for parking (permit).

The beach is fabulous pay attention to warnings re waves - you'll also see items washing up from the Japan Tsunami - post photo o Tofino website as they're trying to plan for the expected increase in flotsam.

Whilst we couldn't afford to eat at the Wickininish Inn, they were very gracious about setting us up in their outstanding dining room on the rocks (great storm watch spot) for a cuppaccino for two total cost tips and taxes around $14 but well worth the experience. It is an exceptional resort, beautifully maintained and decorated with native art.

Room Tip: Loft is quiet and spacious (doesn't have sloping ceilings is a normal self contained suite but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge
0.5 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#11 of 17 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 17 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Beach Retreat

Address: 1294 Lynn Road | PO Box 2, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Star Beach Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the privacy of semi-waterfront suites just steps through the rainforest to 3km of white sandy beaches. Sea Star strives to provide luxurious accommodation for the traveler to the Tofino area. With the warmth and closeness of on-site hosts and the privacy and freedom of a self-catering suite. Sea Star provides that special retreat where you can relax and enjoy your visit. It is our hope that you will feel as comfortable here as you do in your home surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sea Star Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Star Beach Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.