We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, lovely owner... just plain lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tofino Motel

Save Saved
You added Tofino Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tofino Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   542 Campbell Street | PO Box 246, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely view, lovely owner... just plain lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Tofino Motel last weekend. The reviews were so positive that we opted to stay here rather than at one of the beachfront lodges or resorts. I'm so glad we did! The first floor room was clean and spacious with a breathtaking view of the harbor. The proprietress was incredibly friendly and helpful- she gave us great restaurant and beach recommendations and filled us in on the interesting history of Tofino.

We can't wait to return to Tofino and we'll DEFINITELY stay at the Tofino Motel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
542Campbell, Manager at Tofino Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you Willow! What a kind review! And coming from Portland, not so far away, we hope to see you again?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    71
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Decent price for area! I mean the whole place is highly priced so this one is the cheapest and highest in combo on trip ad-visor. All rooms have a decent view of "Inner harbor" at least on second floor. Not sure about first.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
542Campbell, Manager at Tofino Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We had such nice weather during your stay; happy you enjoyed your time in our little wild west coast village!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

But once the doors are closed, it's very quiet. A nice lady owner, who was very charming to us. It was a little more expensive than we normally pay, but all in all a very nice stay. I have to rate pool and fitness centre, I don't think there was either, hence the low rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
542Campbell, Owner at Tofino Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you, and we certainly enjoyed being able to meet and accommodate you, all the way from Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Large and Very clean rooms with a view to the harbor and montains. Next to a nice sustainable restaurant with local fish. Not far away from the town Center so you can easily walk the distance, also short way to the national park. Stay there when you are in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
542Campbell, Owner at Tofino Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! It is a long way from Germany to Tofino, and we were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Tofino Hotel was such a lovely little hotel that was right in the heart of Tofino and convenient to everything, restaurants within walking distance, marina, hiking, and serves as a great basecamp for adventures in Pacific Rim National Park. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and this was by far one of the cleanest and well-cared for I've ever stayed in. It had so many nice decorating touches that you could tell a lot of effort is put into keeping it nice and inviting. The staff was great and gave me such a warm welcome and local tips on hiking. Tofino captured my heart, and this hotel is most definitely where I will stay the next time I visit again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: My room facing the gardens with a view of the marina was so very nice. It had a private porch and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
542Campbell, Owner at Tofino Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Colleen, you have definitely earned the "One Star West" Guest prize. You come on back and we'll see you have a nice dessert and glass of BC wine on the house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

First time visit was very satisfying. Room was clean, large and comfortable and the view was lovely. Took many pictures as the flowers and boats in the harbor were postcard worthy. Centrally located if you like to stroll in the shops. Good restaurant a few yards to the left and casual restaurants down to the right as you come out of the property. Lots of activity but you are just on the fringe so it is quiet. Personnel were helpful. The view and the cleanliness were a big plus. Will return for sure. Lovely people at the desk each day..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
542Campbell, Manager at Tofino Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you Arlene! Long trip from Alabama to Tofino and you two seemed to enjoy everything about our west coast village. If you ever come up across the border again, we will make sure you get our local rates, cause you felt like a local right away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed there in mid- August for 3 nights during a fishing trip. This is an older motel that has been refurbished. The rooms are clean, the beds and were of very good quality. It is right on the harbor and central to the town of Tofino. The staff were very friendly and even went out of their way to return something I left in the room. It is not a resort, but if you are looking for a clean, quiet place, without the cost of a resort, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
542Campbell, Owner at Tofino Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you! Please come back ! We have excellent rates in the winter months with wonderful views over the foggy harbour. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tofino Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tofino Motel

Address: 542 Campbell Street | PO Box 246, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#8 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tofino Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tofino Motel Harborview is located in the Village of Tofino. EVERY ROOM has a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean inlets, the harbour islands with the Mariner Mountain Range in the distance. Walk to the many shops, restaurants, marine excursions, pubs, fishing... all of the nice things Tofino has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tofino Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tofino Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tofino Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.