We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tofino Motel

Save Saved
You added Tofino Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tofino Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   542 Campbell Street | PO Box 246, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Sunshine Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful views over the harbor from every room, very clean and comfortable and a lot cheaper than most. A short walking distance to all facilities. The service was great too, very helpful. Would definitely recommend, as would stay there again, but spend longer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
542Campbell, Owner at Tofino Motel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. Perhaps we will see you again? We look forward to extend our returning guest discounts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    73
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We decided to stay in a hotel at the last minute and booked into the Tofino Motel hours before we left home. It was $100 less than most of the other places to stay in touristy Tofino and, for the money, it was a good value.
There is a nice harbour view from all the rooms. The rooms are not as big as they come but they are clean.
The noise between rooms is minimal, although you can hear toilets flush and showers running, but that's not really a big deal to us. Overall it was quiet over the two nights we stayed there.
We had a pet-friendly room, which worked out well with our puppy, who did her business in the green space that makes up the back of the motel.
The clerks were very knowledgeable about the area with good info. on places to eat, etc.
I would recommend the Tofino Motel for anyone who doesn't need all the amenities in the world and doesn't want to spend $250 per night to stay at a Best Western type hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This motel is superbly placed, and every room has a magnificent harbour view. It is in the middle of Tofino, is very clean. Not the cheapest place, but excellent value. Very quiet night. The staff are very helpful in every way. The rooms nearest the harbour have the best view, but all are very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
542Campbell, Owner at Tofino Motel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. Perhaps we will see you again? We look forward to extend our returning guest discounts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The view from our balcony was like a postcard. We had driven up to this motel and were leery but the clerk said to see the room first. It was great. Large with 2 double beds and good TV, good WiFi, good coffee maker, and a large very clean bathroom. Beach towels are available, but it was 17 C and lightly raining: a relief from our hot summer at home. We needed to do laundry and the Tofino laundromat was no more than a 5 minute walk away. All locations in the village are within walking distance. The clerk gave us excellent recommendations of where to eat and where to book whale watching. We saw 3 types of whales. We would definately return to this motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We rented the family suite and found it more than adequate for our family (2 teens.) The suite has a European feel, extremely clean and the kitchen, while tiny, was just perfect! The view from either balcony (it wraps around the suite) was fantastic and the staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. The location is perfect! You are right in Tofino and can walk easily to all the shops and services. Honestly, we were completely surprised by how fantastic this place was -- definitely not your average motel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Have stayed here many times and still love the view. Rooms clean and adequate, nice balcony view over harbour. The rate is high compared to other locations but then it is a high tourist spot and demand allows the price called for.One can watch harbour planes and boats leaving the harbour. The motel is just off the main Tofino street so there is traffic noise.

Room Tip: All rooms have a harbour view from the balcony on the bedroom end. In the evening it is cool and ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this motel in late July and we were very happy with the accomodation and the location. We had a great view of the harbour, the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The motel is small with only about 12 rooms and it was very quiet. The location is ideal for exploring Tofino as you can walk anywhere in the village. Two of the most popular restaurants are within 200 yards of the motel. We paid $185 canadian per night plus tax which seemed reasonable compared to what we had been charged in other parts of Canada. Someone who arrived before without a booking was offered a deal on a room so it might be worth trying to haggle for a better price if you do not have a booking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tofino Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tofino Motel

Address: 542 Campbell Street | PO Box 246, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tofino Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tofino Motel Harborview is located in the Village of Tofino. EVERY ROOM has a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean inlets, the harbour islands with the Mariner Mountain Range in the distance. Walk to the many shops, restaurants, marine excursions, pubs, fishing... all of the nice things Tofino has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tofino Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tofino Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tofino Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.