We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duffin Cove Resort

Save Saved
You added Duffin Cove Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duffin Cove Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   215 Campbell Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The resort's web site is a bit over the top, compared to reality. That said, the place has its charms, our one-bedroom suite was clean, towels were plush, there was just a bit of scruffiness to the place. But hey, this is part of old Tofino's charm before all the high-end resorts arrived!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateusz K, Guest Relations Manager at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hi - We appreciate your review. It is the clean rustic charm we strive for that keeps visitors returning to their favorite in-town atmosphere at the peaceful cove. Our website will have a new look this winter, making it much easier to view our cabins, studios and suites as they are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    17
    10
    13
See reviews for
20
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Although it's not a five star standard hotel, Duffin Cove makes up for its lack of "luxury" by charm, incredible staff, and the best view you could ask for. The front desk staff, who was the owner, welcomed us warmly and we were offered a great deal. As soon as we saw the room and the ocean view, we rushed back to the office to book for a second night. The lodge looks like a tree house on the beach, and is a great walk into town and down to the pier. We explored Tofino, but also enjoyed the evenings on our deck watching the sun set with a glass of wine. The hotel was clean, had all the amenities I could have asked for, the cutest dog ever (miss you Whitney!), and our neighbours were pretty awesome too. We couldn't have had a better time. It felt like a home away from our eastern home, and my two sleeps there were probably among the top ten in my entire life. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon H, Manager at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank-you very much for your fantastic review. Whitney, (our 70lb puppy), has made a definite impact on the resort and views all our guests as her 'playmates'. Believe it or not, she would remember you if you walked up to her on the street 6 months from now! I am always happy to read a comment that informs me I am not biased and she is the best dog in the world!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We got to the hotel super late, thanks to BC Ferry but Matt was amazing and he waited for us until 12am. He received us very well and was super nice. We stayed in cabin 6 for two nights. I found that the cabin serves it purpose. There was a kitchen with dishes, I didnt like the fact that you have to wash your dishes otherwise would pay twenty five bucks on top of five hundred plus i paid for 2 nights. I would expect a better mattress, it was uncomfortable and the sofa bed fells in your bones. I end up sleeping in 2 seat sofa which was the best of all beds, i just had to bend myself a bit. If you go there never get suites in the bottom, always rent the top ones because there was a toddle in top suite that runs from 7pm to 12 am goooooosh what was that? I would recommend this hotel as 2 stars and the people that works there is very friendly and human so if they update a bit the beddings and a few things I addressed with the hotel, they have potential to be really good as they have amazing view and good business approach. :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateusz K, Guest Relations Manager at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hi Camila,

We are glad you had an overall positive experience at the resort. Since beginning as new management this summer, our primary aims for our guests have been cleanliness, comfort and smiles. There are ongoing improvements under way and we remain in the spirit of coastal rustic charm in Tofino. See you around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flensburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great place at affordable price. Nice cottages and studios usually with ocean view on a charming location. Good service, everything is close by, very helpful staff. I spent a weekend there with my son on short notice. We enjoyed the peacefulness, the gentle sound of the waves when going to sleep in the evening, the nice small lamps illuminating the place at night, and the good location where all attractions and activities are in walking distance. We came with a rental car, but if you want to avoid the hassle of driving across the island, it's perfectly possible to take the bus and have a car-free vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateusz K, Guest Relations Manager at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hi Martin,

Thanks for taking the time to write us about your stay with your son. You're right - we are walking distance to adventures, delicious foods, tours, galleries and the picturesque natural surroundings of Clayoquot Sound. All this in a quiet and cozy setting. The waves do get big here at the cove for storm season! See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We made a reservation to stay at Duffin Cove. Our arrival date was 12 days from the day we made the booking. I let the owner know that I was concerned that if we had to cancel we were already below the number of days required to cancel. Their cancellation policy is 14 days. The owner said to me verbally “Do not worry about that. If you have to cancel we will only charge you approximately $30, not your full $199 deposit.” We had to cancel and he refused to honour what he said to us and instead kept our $199 deposit. When we attempted to discuss the difference between what they said and what they did we were treated unprofessionally, rudely and dismissed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateusz K, Guest Relations Manager at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hi Debbie,

We are sorry you had an unpleasant experience with our staff representative this summer. We charge $30 if a cancellation needs to be made with more than 14 days in advance or the first night deposit with less time remaining. The person you dealt with is not the owner and no longer works here. The new management takes care of special cases and employs strict documentation of guest concerns. At times we may consider a special case like yours and when this is possible, both parties would receive confirmation of such an exchange by email or otherwise.

With Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Simple no frills accommodation with a setting to die for in an area full of spectacular scenery , excellent value and within easy walking distance of the village - friendly staff and dog !! Highly recommended and ideal as a base for exploring the area

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place is very simple, unpretencious, no frills, and priced exactly right. The room I stayed in was small but cozy and had a fantastic view of the ocean. I fell asleep to the sound of waves outside my window, where in the world do you get that for $109???? The location is terrific, just steps away from the main part of Tofino. It's like a cabin in the woods, except it's in the middle of a popular resort destination. The staff was very friendly and enthusiastic.

Room Tip: I stayed in #106 - awesome!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duffin Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duffin Cove Resort

Address: 215 Campbell Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duffin Cove Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hugging the west coastline of Vancouver Island, Duffin Cove Resort boasts an air of rustic charm and West Coast flavour with waterfront cabins, studios and suites nestled in a remote rainforest setting...yet only one block from downtown Tofino. The unique character setting and location allows the quiet solitude to relax, explore the shoreline and enjoy West Coast living...Yet only walking distance to dining, shopping and other interesting adventures. Get away from civilization and into the quiet lifestyle of West Coast living. You will find us at "The end of the road!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Duffin Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duffin Cove Hotel Tofino
Duffin Cove Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duffin Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.