We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambigous feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tofino Botanical Gardens

Tofino Botanical Gardens
1084 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
250-725-1220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 20 attractions in Tofino
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Tofino Botanical Gardens is over 12 acres of coastal old-growth forest with walking trails, sculpture, & interpretive sites located throughout. With our childrens garden, vegetable and herb gardens, and exotic plants from places like Chile or the Himalayas, there is something for everyone at the Gardens.Plus, we have ducks.
Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ambigous feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I get what they're trying to do, but it felt overpriced for what was there - group of 4 cost us more than to visit UBC botanical gardens - and *no* comparison. I'm a professional horticulturalist so definitely appreciated the (occasional) plantings, but they need to do a pile of clean-up & spruce up signage etc.

Loved the art. Nice walk overall. I think it would be a great place to spend time in if you were a local, or in Tofino for a long stay, but it was ultimately rather disappointing as we had expected "more", and had assumed it was more of a finished/complex garden from the website hype.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    12
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

this is just horrible! they call it botanical gardens but in fact it's just a totally ignored woodland and even the little trails are bad! and they charge $10 for that! I'm a garden lover and I just couldn't believe what was there! save yourself some money and energy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sweet and unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I rode my bike to the Gardens and took a stroll through the small but charming grounds.
The great part was the chickens roaming around the gardens.
However my favorite aspect of this site was the Darwin Cafe, I ate lunch here two times and was very pleased .
The food was reasonably priced and completely fresh.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Charming little place, worth a visit with right expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place was a short walk from our hotel in Tofino, so we made a visit. First thing I should say... it is nothing like Butchart Gardens or elaborate botanical gardens in other cities. It is very small, kind of wild, and may not interest diehard fans of botany or manicured gardens. That said, we enjoyed our visit of about one hour. There are a few theme areas like plants of Chile and Japan, which demonstrates that they are trying to cultivate an interesting variety of specimens from both similar and dissimilar climates. The paths are rugged but easily passable by any able-bodied person. The map is entertaining reading although a bit confusing for way-finding, but as long as you stay on the paths you won't get lost and will find your way back to the entrance. The cafe serves only vegan/vegetarian food, which is fine by me, and lunch was simple and tasty. Chickens wander freely around the entrance and we enjoyed watching them for a while. With the right expectations this can be enjoyable place to visit, and you can be in and out in less than an hour.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite gardens - the Canadians really do these well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We loved the herb gardens where you could pluck at them and smell the different herbs. The owner was really helpful and made us feel very welcome - just a beautiful place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tofino Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tofino Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tofino Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tofino Botanical Gardens to your Saves list