We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, basic room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jamie's Rainforest Inn to your Saves list
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1258 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada (Formerly Clayoquot Orca Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Errington, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very clean, basic room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was extremely clean I was very impressed, although we occasionally noticed a musty smell in our room. We booked a large king room and it had a very nice large bathroom as well. The hotel is not located on the beach, it is in the trees but there is a beach a short 5 minute walk through the forest at the back of the hotel. The beach is all mud flats when the tide is out so it is not good for walking on, believe me I tried and sunk in the mud over the top of my shoes, lesson learned! The staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. There are no phones in the rooms, this wasn't a big deal for us. The price was very reasonable for Tofino, I would stay here again if I wasn't looking for a location on the beach. The location is good, only a few minutes from Tofino. The bed was really comfortable and the room was large. I wish they had screens on the windows, we had the window open the whole time as we found it very warm in our room. We had dinner one night at Shelter Restaurant, it was ok, not anything great, the prices were higher than I felt they should be and the service was ok, I found it too crowded for my taste, the tables were packed in pretty close. The second night we had dinner at the Wick, it was good, prices were very high, service was amazing though. The staff were all very friendly, informative (we had to ask about a few items on the menu) and really attentive but not in an annoying way. I was shocked to find that the long island iced tea I had was $14 a glass, good thing I am light drinker!

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room on the back, it was very bright with windows on each side and had a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Tofino.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    40
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
44
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This newly renovate hotel backs onto a beautiful forest with hiking trails. We were allowed to have a fire at the fire pit they have. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern. We had free wifi and parking. We also went on the bear seeing tour that is owned by the same company (Jamie's). The guide was knowledgable and we saw 6 bears plus otters, eagles, and a grey whale.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Beautifull freshly renovated hotel. Bright and clean room with comfortable beds and cute, neat bathroom. The hotel staff was always friendly and very helpfull. Parking and WiFi for free :-D Tofino Town and Long Beach both are not far away (both max 10min by car). If you stay at the Inn you def need to do the whale/ bear watching tours with Jamie´s (own adventure company). We did the whale and bear wathcing tour with the zodiak- it was awesome and after it a nice cup of coffee and tea has been served to us. We had a great time and if we would come back to Tofino, we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your adventure tours with Jamie's Whaling Station. What an incredible whale picture! Thank you so much for posting it. We hope to see you again some day.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My fiance and I decided to have a weekend getaway and stayed at Jamie's on April12-13th. From the moment Carlee and Ryan greeted us at the front desk until we left we were treated to friendly smiles and great service. The room and halls were fresh and clean from new paint and carpets. The trail out behind is very nice and peaceful.

We will be staying there again, and I will be telling my friends about this great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are delighted to hear that you will be referring your friends. Thank you for that and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in Tofino again some time.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel has undone many improvements since becoming the Rainforest Inn. Bed was amazing, room very clean and the hotel was close to beaches and town. Behind the hotel is pathway through rainforest to the inlet where you can watch the sunrise in the morning. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here for a 3 night mid week getaway just after it reopened. The new owner & his staff have done a magnificent job of reno'ing the inn & surrounding grounds. I upgraded to a 3rd floor room & loved the jacuzzi tub after a long day of sightseeing & hiking on the spectacular beaches & surrounding trails. The fireplace was welcome during the quiet evenings & the kitchenette perfect for self catering small meals. Migratory birds abounded in the adjacent inlet & when they have completed the planned new wharf area it will be a perfect spot for bird watchers & photographers to collect. A day trip on one of Jaimie's whale watching boats was very successful & included breaching Grey Whales, Sealions , eagles & playful sea otters. The staff on the boat were friendly & very informative. My dog was welcomed at the Inn & the whale watching office offered kennels for her to stay in while I was on the boat. I have given an excellent rating in the expectation that the soon to be opened restaurant will be of the same quality as the rest of the establishment. I look forward to staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: The Inn is not on the outside beach but on the inlet side of the peninsula so is much quieter - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and the improvements that have been made. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. We are eagerly anticipating the opening of our restaurant as well!
Sincerely,
Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This inn was fantastic. The staff was so nice and accommodating. This place is pet friendly!!! Being able to walk out the door to wonderful scenic forest trails was perfect for my children and our dog. it was a short walk to play in the beach. Large tv and microwaves in rooms. Comfy beds, quiet, so relaxing! We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Ryan Orr
Gneral Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamie's Rainforest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Address: 1258 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada (Formerly Clayoquot Orca Lodge)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jamie's Rainforest Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamie’s Rainforest Inn, located in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia, Canada, is the ideal location for your trip to Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast. We are conveniently located on the main road into Tofino, just a short drive (4 km) from the town center and less than a 10 minute walk from Chesterman Beach, one of Tofino’s most popular surfing beaches. The Inn sits on 4 acres of beautiful old growth coastal rainforest with easy access to our private waterfront (located on the inlet side of the Tofino peninsula). There are easy walking trails all over the property making this the perfect location to be fully immersed in the natural beauty that Tofino offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jamie's Rainforest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayoquot Orca Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamie's Rainforest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.