We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clayoqout Retreat B&B

Clayoqout Retreat B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clayoqout Retreat B&B
Save
You added Clayoqout Retreat B&B to your Saves list
120 Arnet Road | The Clayoquot Sound, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 46 Tofino B&B and Inns
Coquitlam BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

We recently stayed at the Clayoquot Retreat for 3 nights, and would highly recommend this rustic B & B to anyone who is interested in having a relaxing time in a room with the most awesome views. The breakfast served by the owner of this establishment was just fabulous - none of the purchased bakery items that we have been served at other B & B's - this food was homemade, delicious, and plentiful.

  • Liked — The food and the view
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

We stay at the Clayoquot Retreat every time we go to Tofino. It is quiet and peaceful. The food is amazing!!! If I could take that woman home with me to cook I would. It is a friendly environment that is clean and comfortable. The views from the rooms is wonderful. I would recommend this place to anyone who asked where to stay in Tofino.

  • Liked — Sitting in the Hot tub looking out over the ocean
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay any longer
  • Tips/Secrets — gon in Storm season the ratyes are lower
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

We stayed 6 nights on our honeymoon at Clayoquot Retreat, it was absolutely fabulous. The breakfasts every day were wonderful and delicious, the advice about tours to go on and restaurants was right on the money. The hospitality was second to none. We will definately recommend Clayoquot Retreat to everyone we know. We thank Lynn and Bob for helping us start off our married life on the right note. Champagne, goodies, were definately a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

We have stayed at Clayoquot Retreat many times over the past five years. We tried other B&B's, but were not happy with the atmosphere or the food. (muffins from a bakery).

We find the view exceptional and the breakfasts far superior to the others.

Very important to us was the privacy. We had our own table in our room and we ate our breakfasts there.

The owners were hospitable and gave helpful information about the area.

Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Liked — View, food, hottub, privacy
  • Disliked — ferry ride to island
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2006

We fully agree with all other reviewers - this place is a dump! Too bad we didn't know about Trip Advisor until after the fact. We also did a double-take as we drove into the steep rubbish-laden driveway, but persevered. We knew the owner was away, but were told her daughter would "look after us". The daughter was not home but the teenage grand-daughter kindly set us up (turns out they had messed up our booking and expected us the previous night) and she told us her mother would come and see us when she got home. She didn't.

The room wasn't brilliant but it did have a beautiful view and all the conveniences (coffee pot, fridge, tv, toaster, table set for breakfast, etc) and a curious smell. We spent some time exploring the lovely garden (ignoring the odd discarded paint pot)and taking photos of the view. When it got dark, we went back into the room to watch TV. Then water started flooding out of the bathroom ceiling. We ran upstairs and let the daughter know and she raced down with (guest?) towels. Eventually it stopped dripping and she set up 2 of our party of 4 in a second room. After dinner 2 of us decided to use the hot tub which seemed clean and comfortable in the dark (although my legs were itchy afterwards).

It was difficult to sleep during the night as the elephants paraded around on the floor above for hours. What were they running a marathon for?? Eventually they went to sleep and so did we. Our friends in the other room had a little more trouble with their loud fridge. But the beds were quite comfy. The toilet flusher broke after a midnight trip to the toilet and could not be easily repaired.

The "buffet-style" breakfast was supposed to be served at 9am. By 9:45 nothing had happened so we went to investigate. We also reported the broken toilet. The daughter was not awake, but the grand-daughter again come to the rescue and 15 minutes later the grandson appeared with a bowl of muffins and a small bowl of oranges. We enquired if there was anything more but that was it. The milk in the fridge was past-date so no coffee either. No action regarding the broken toilet either and still a pile of sodden towels on the floor.

We decided we'd had enough and packed up to head home a day early. Around 11am we went to tell the daughter we were leaving. The grandson told us she wasn't awake, but we asked him to wake her up because we were leaving. She arrived in her dressing gown and was quite surly that we were leaving - and still charged us the full $120 for the 1 night despite all the problems and lousy late breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2005

My husband and I were really looking forward to our stay at Clayoquot Retreat as the photos on their web page and the write up made it sound like paradise. How I wish we had read the previous comments, all of which we agree with whole-heartedly.
The entrance is like coming into a rubbish tip, the rooms are indeed in a basement area with sliding patio type doors, one of which was broken in our room and could not be opened. There is no other means of ventilation so you only have the option of leaving the door open for fresh air at night, with the possibility of intruders both human and animal, or kept closed and suffocate. The noise from the fridge turning on and off kept us awake, so we turned it off completely. The breakfast was served up in a dark dingy kitchen area where we had to serve ourselves and we were instructed to clear away our own dishes and not to leave them in the room. The breakfasts were strange- we do not appreciate bread and butter pudding first thing in the morning. Electrical appliances in the room were all wired into extension leads draped around the wall certainly contravening health and safety regulations. The furniture looks as if it had been purchased at a garage sale. Fortunately we did not risk the hot tub.
The owner greeted us with warnings about the tsunami and moaning about her family and a whole load of other personal stuff of which we really could not make sense , and there was no attempt at making us feel welcome.
We left a day early but were charged the full amount- but it was worth it just to leave and go somewhere else which was clean and welcoming.
The only positive thing we can say is that we enjoyed the view.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2005

Having stayed at other B&Bs in Tofino, I was looking forward to trying out a different one and again having a wonderful experience. Boy, was I disappointed this time. Coming down the steep driveway to this house I asked myself, "are we at the right place?" It looked like a dumping ground for wood scraps and rusty machinery. Once I finally found the entrance (marked with a teeny, tiny piece of paper), the hostess seemed genuinely put out and did not once ask any questions one might expect being a tourist (ie; how was your drive, did you find it okay...). She led us to the room and once inside I was instantly hit with the pungent odour of cat pee. There was what appeared to be a large stain in the carpet but I wasn't going to bend down and examine it any closer to determine its origin. I could go on but I hope you get the picture. When I left, I truly felt the hostess had no concerns about our stay and whether we enjoyed ourselves. I left angry and extremely disappointed. How many times can I repeat, stay away from the Clayoquot Sound Retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clayoqout Retreat B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayoqout Retreat B&B

Address: 120 Arnet Road | The Clayoquot Sound, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an open-air hot tub just above the surf,and wake up to a sumptuous buffet style breakfast. The view from your room often includes whales, eagles, porpoises.Three quiet rooms each contain separate entrances,private bath, TV and a fridge.Walking distance to Tonquin Beach or village centre.We also have wireless internet available to all our guests ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clayoqout Retreat B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.