We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Village Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean Village Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Village Beach Resort
555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We LOVE Ocean Village! Every time we stay it's perfect! The grounds are beautifully kept, the cabins are spotlessly clean and well stocked, and the staff are always friendly and helpful. They truly seem to enjoy themselves! From check-in to check-out and all the time in between, everyone we came across was phenomenal. We also love how dog-friendly they are, offering basic doggy supplies in our cabin upon arrival. The wifi is slower but this wasn't our first time to the coast and we know the region is offered limited bandwidth which is completely out of their hands. We aren't fussed by this as visiting Ocean Village and Tofino is a time to unplug and enjoy the outdoors! The view from the cabins and the endless activities in the area are far more fulfilling than wifi use. But if you do need any entertainment, they offer board games & books to borrow in the office! Fantastic idea! We feel like Ocean Village is a home away from home and we love returning to the laid back atmosphere they provide. Thank you OV - we'll always be back!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    101
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
134
129
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights for our birthday (same day funny enough). We are from the West Coast of Vancouver Island ourselves s it was nice to get away to a different part of the the Island. Our cottage was lovely and very clean in one of the middle row cottages. The amenities inside were great and no complaints at all.

The pool area was nice but the hot tub jets were not working either night and the hot tub temperature was pretty much cold and therefor useless. The pool was very cold.

The beach was lovely even though it was winter and we walked along the beach during each low tide.

Being a family friendly place it was very loud on the weekend with a lot of commotion most of the day and even into the night with some rowdies which was unfortunate. The one night there was a lot of noise on site until after midnight.

The worst thing is they advertise free wifi but neglect to tell you that the wifi rarely works at all for most of the day as they only have limited bandwidth. You can pay to have more bandwidth if you want, but then why advertise free wifi? I asked before booking if the wifi is good as we both had to work from the Internet during our stay but we only had access (very bad access) for about 2 hours total each day. In today's age having poor wifi access in the hospitality industry is inexcusable. The reception staff at the desk didn't seem to care when I asked her about all of this and she was even rude and standoffish about it, didn't even try to care about it which was not a good experience.

All in all the stay was average for the price in the Tofino area but we'll try another place next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, cabins, beaches & staff. It's just great. No need to say more..

But as TripAdvisor seems to think only 200 characters or more can give a sufficient review then I must waste time writing this additional sentence.

Room Tip: Book early, ocean front rooms allocated on 1st come basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Two families shared an upstairs and downstairs of a pod for 3 nights. We all loved it - and given that we are used to camping - it felt very glamorous. We loved hearing the rolling waves at night, enjoyed walks on the beach and swimming in the pool. Only wish we could have stayed longer. Very much hope we can come again soon. Worst thing I can say is that there is limited drying room inside for rainy days - but the laundry facilities for those items that can be tumble dried were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the Eco practices and recycling bins. We appreciated the shower gels and towel policy.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We got a cozy cabin on the beach front. It was 1BR with kitchen. Even though, they do not have food and dining services, It was a life time experience. I would like to go in summers as well, just for experience. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: should book it in adavnce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Perfect view from the cabin of Mackenzie Beach, everyone we dealt with at the front desk was great, and the accommodations were so cool! Loved the feel of my upper loft, it had just enough amenities to be super comfortable while still feeling like a cottage on the beach instead of a fancy hotel. Total "glamping" experience, loved it!

Room Tip: Is is ON the beach and gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dena B, General Manager at Ocean Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi Winterseasalt!

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us...I'll pass on the nice comment to the Office ladies, Thank You for your kind words!

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tofino.

All the best and safe travels!

Cheers,
Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

We stayed here with our big dog for 3 nights. The ocean front cabins are only feet from the beach and have a beautiful view of the ocean. Great place to getaway and leave the electronics behind. Close to town so easy to go out for food. Nice place to let the dogs run on the beach and go for a walk on the sand. You can watch surfers right from the shore. Highly recommend as a dog friendly get away. Oh and if looking for a good dinner place head to the wolf in the fog!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ocean Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Beach Resort

Address: 555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Village is located on MacKenzie Beach in Tofino, BC known for its iconic A-frame cabins. OV is focused on providing families with self-contained, affordable, waterfront vacation cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Beach Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Village Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.