We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCENIC, PEACEFUL AND....RELAXING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Village Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ocean Village Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Village Beach Resort
555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cobble Hill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“SCENIC, PEACEFUL AND....RELAXING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My Wife and I just spent two nights here [15-17 Oct/13] We stayed in cabin # 15, in the upper portion of the cabin. The cabin was comfortable and well laid out. The views from the balcony were wonderful, from sea fog mornings to pink hues in the sky at sunset. The beach was beautiful, lots of friendly people walking or playing with their dogs. The facility is pet friendly, we saw so many breeds. The ocean is a real treat for them. The grounds are very well maintained and I picked up a few ideas for my next rock garden project. Gas BBQ's are provided in a common area, recommend using them as we found food pricey in restaurants. Also if you drink your coffee with crème or sugar, bring your own as neither is provided. To conclude, we had a wonderful time in Tofino seeing the sights and would return to the Ocean Village Resort again, possibly staying in a cabin directly on the beach.

Cheers, Jimmy and Virginia.

Room Tip: Prefer a top floor, better view and no noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    96
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
128
122
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The newly renovated cabins were a delight to stay in. The bed, full kitchen and bathroom were all great. Being right on the beach was wonderful. We had a main floor room and the ocean view was perfect. The Resort doesn't support TV, radio or clocks (although the stove clock served us well). There is Wi-Fi available, but the signal is very week. If you need to contact someone by e-mail, there is just enough strength to receive and send your e-mail. We were close to the main office, so I assumed the signal would be strong enough, but I was wrong. There wasn't a closet in our room, so the hooks and nails where sufficient to hang your clothes (bring your own hangers). The beach was wonderful and being so close to Tofino and other beaches made this a wonderful two night stay!

Room Tip: I think every room gives you a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've stayed in Tofino many times but this was my first time at Ocean Village. We were looking for a cheaper room and got our top floor studio for $100. We didn't have high expectations for that price but were pleasantly surprised by our beautiful room. It was spacious with vaulted ceilings a very nice bathroom and a comfortable couch that pulled out into a bed if needed. We loved our patio and kitchenette as well. Of you book a room here, make sure to get a top floor suite as their nicer.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had an upper studio with an amazing view on the beach. The room is spacious and cosy with many wooden elements. We also used the swimming pool and jacuzzi, which were both enjoyable. The staff were very helpful with recommendations and booking a whale watching trip. The town is very close (by car) and hence staying on this beautiful beach is better than in the town itself (especially that it's not busy at all at night). Sitting on the deck while watching the sunset is unforgettable!

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Loved everything about is place. Was here 30yrs ago and loved it then. Was not enjoying all the dogs on the beach. They now allow pets. Great for dog owners not for the others. Staff were great and we lucked out with beautiful weather. Would recommend. FYI there are no phones, TV or clock radios in the room, total relaxation.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in an upper studio on the waterfront. The hotel gave us a nice postcard and a bottle of wine for our occasion. The room smelled wonderful like a wood cabin. The shower and bed were so comfortable... and those are really the most important parts when finding suitable accomodations. There is a small but full kitchen. Coffee maker microwave and toaster all worked great. Our studio was on the waterfront we had a great view of the ocean. The beach is only a few steps away which made for great pictures. The area was very quiet and enjoyable. Tofino is only minutes away. The pool is large and perfect temperature and a nice sized jacuzzi tub.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return kn our anniversary

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

For so many reasons...when we decided to renew our wedding vows (after 10 years of marriage, almost 16 together) we knew we wanted to have the ceremony in a place that would be symbolic of all we have overcome as we have celebrated life's ups and triumphed over the downs, and an injury to a family member (one we are grateful wasn't fatal). We knew the ocean and all it's powerful glory would be the perfect partner in our vows, and the vibe in Tofino would help make the whole event more than memorable. But where to stay? Camping, not a good choice since a wedding dress came along for the trip. We stumbled upon Ocean Village online...how to express how glad we are that serendipitous discovery happened!? Driving onto the property is magical, to see the quaint little cabins all lined up with the ocean waves crashing on the beach just mere footsteps away!!! Everything was so clean, and the lawns so beautifully kept, the natural beauty of the area is perfectly blended with how the buildings are laid out...the kids (10 and 9) were besides themselves when they finally saw the building with the pool and hot tub!
To the front desk we go, and there we meet Kim! Who was so patient while we hoped to be able to move from a garden view to an ocean view cabin. Not only was she patient, but she made it happen! Cabin #8 became our home for the next few nights! We arrived quite a bit before the 3pm check in time, and were quite content to wander by the ocean until our room was ready, we certainly didn't expect anyone to have to rush because we were anxious. But Kim took our cell number, and said she'd call when our cabin was ready. We walked by cabin #8, and were so happily surprised to see a lovely young lady already working on getting it ready for us. We walked along the beach for what was less than a 1/2 hour, and our cell rang, our cabin was ready! Above and beyond customer service to say the least!
Walking into the cabin was all I hoped for! Big bed for us, two pull out style beds for the kids, a beautiful bathroom, with a huge tub, complimentary shower products, lovely towels, and room to spread out our own toiletries. Full kitchen stocked with all you'd need for meals (equipment wise) and some very yummy coffee! Our dog even had some treats waiting, and a dish, and a towel which became his place to dry off from the ocean side walks. On the table for us, a complimentary bottle of wine and a congrats card for our vow renewals. Cabins are so clean, nice laminate floors that are easy to sweep, and electric heat!!! The location, out of town while simply being a quick drive into town is quite the appeal as well!!!
The emotions of the trip for us ran high, our vow renewals were significant in recognition of all we went through, Kim helped tie a beautiful bow around it all, with how much she simply seemed to care that we were well taken care of. The kids spent so much time in the pool, they loved it!
Thank you Ocean Village for allowing us all the memories we hoped would be created by this trip.
PS: reading this back to my hubby he simply said "Kim is so awesome, I can't say enough"
For us, Ocean Village offered it all, family friendly surroundings, perfect customer service and memories that for lack of a better cliche will last a lifetime. Even for our little shih tzu, who while running on the beach got to practise being a real dog!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Beach Resort

Address: 555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Village is located on MacKenzie Beach in Tofino, BC known for its iconic A-frame cabins. OV is focused on providing families with self-contained, affordable, waterfront vacation cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Beach Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Village Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.