We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location + Service = Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Village Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Village Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Village Beach Resort
555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Location + Service = Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ocean village for 4 nights in Feb for a quiet winter getaway. It was exactly what we needed...a solid break from the city.

Ocean Village is located on the best beach in Tofino; Mackenzie. It's a beautiful spot and perfect for walks. The waves gently break in this cove so it's a nice quiet spot. Make sure to set-up a beach fire if you stay here.

Ocean Village is located right on the water: Primo. It's the absolute best way to do Tofino; in a laid back atmopshere with enough luxery to make it very comfortable but not too much to be un-authentic. This place oozes Tofino spirit. Love it.

The staff here are solid. Service has a down-to-earth local feel with someone always around for help or local tips. On the other hand, the staff are invisible at all the right times. Great Crew.

All in all; authentic Tofino accom on best beach with lovely staff. Thanks for the stay.

Room Tip: Go for beach front. For obvious reasons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanejon, General Manager at Ocean Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks Rob for your review of Ocean Village. It's really good to here that you had a great holiday, we're thrilled to have played a part in it.

And not that we're biased or anything, but we think MacKenzie Beach is Tofino's best beach too! ;)

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    83
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
110
109
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We spend 4 nights in this wonderful hotel, with only one regret, that we couldn't stay more... The ocean view when you wake up in the morning in amazing! And the jacuzzi in the evening after an entire day walking on the beach and in the forest so great to relax. The staff helped us a lot to find activities, they were really helpful. Thank you for everything

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Back to nature ! Clean, quiet, modern. Perfect getaway. They are doing some work in other rooms but not at night obviously, so if you stay inside all day you might want to take earplugs. Did not bother us at all and were more than happy to go around the island.
Booked a day in Whale Center to go to Hot springs ! a bit pricey but highly recommended in low season (would not go if more than 5 people go together as quite small. Lovely stay on Vancouver Island and Ocean Village was perfect retreat after a day at sea :-)

Room Tip: upper studio #37 has got a perfect view over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at Ocean Village for four nights in January, 2013. I had booked a lower studio, but when I arrived I was upgraded to a one bedroom. I was traveling with my dog, and she had a wonderful time playing on the beach with the other pooches. The cabin was warm and comfortable with a well-equipped kitchen. The gas fireplace made for a cozy cottage experience. Towels could have been better, but the bed and bedding were wonderful. It was exactly the winter getaway I needed: reading, napping, and exploring the beach!

Weather was mixed. I arrived to a gorgeous sunset on day one. Day two was beautiful, sunny, and mild. Day three was overcast but mild, and day four was for watching the crashing surf. Don't forget your gum boots!

The only glitch was that the wifi was down, but that was actually a relief. Four days without screen time was exactly what was called for.

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Try to get the front row, right on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are looking for a totally relaxing get away, OV is the place to go. We have been 2 years in a row and looking forward to a third stay this year sometime. We have stayed in a lower studio suite both times and found it more than adequate for the two of us. Love the fact that there is no TV, phone.......it's a get back to basics, relax and unwind place to be. Staff is friendly, helpful...only thing we discovered after our first trip, is to take most of your own groceries as the store in town is a bit pricey........

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed in January, expecting the weather to be chilly, but shocked at how the cabin was not equipped to deal with the cold. No fireplace. Electric baseboard heater in the living room barely functional, so we froze basically. Wi-fi was on and off, slow all the time, and was completely off for half the time we were there. The cabins are crowded together, and little thought seems to have been put in arranging the site to make it look good or to ensure basic privacy. Think wooden tents four feet apart in a straight row and that is what you get. The view of MacKenzie Beach is magnificent, once you get past the annoyance of the roofed BBQ area that is directly in front of the second row of cabins....seems a silly place to put in when the beach view is so wonderful and the main reason to go to Ocean Village!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanejon, General Manager at Ocean Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your view but apologize that a couple things did not meet your expectations. If I may address a few of your points-

Our electric heaters are a great dry & efficient source of heat and easily warm our cottages to 25°C. We sincerely apologize if yours wasn't working properly, we do our best to make sure everything is in perfect working order but unfortunately things break down. We do have someone on call 24 hours a day to fix these issues, so all our guests have to do is let the front desk know.

As per the Internet - this is an unfortunate aspect of life in Tofino, and our Chamber of Commerce and Mayor are lobbying for better network coverage. Currently the cable company promises 2.5 megabytes per second signal in Tofino. For perspective, Vancouver gets a minimum of 25 megabytes per second (10x our download rate) with options up to 40X faster. Suffice to say that at this point Tofino's Internet isn't the best. We try to be upfront about that with guests and we offer free WiFi as a result.

When Ocean Village was built in 1976, the cabins were arranged in rows to ensure that everyone gets a great view of MacKenzie Beach.

Thank you again for your comments. All comments help us coordinate a long-term plan for the resort.

Shane Richards

shane@oceanvillageresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been to Ocean Village for three years in a row to meet up with other friends and families for a week of vacation, because there is nothing quite like it. The larger cabins just before the beach are the best if you can get them. This year, our cabin had been nicely renovated. The kitchens are well equipped for all of your meals. The view from the cabins and picnic areas are simply amazing. There are many wide open spaces (both grass and beach) around OV to let the kids roam around safely. MacKenzie beach is stunning, long walks morning and night are a must. The resort is a short walking distance from surf shops and restaurants (get the fish tacos!). We always find the staff to be super friendly. The indoor pool and hot tub is a big hit with the kids, particularly on a rainy day. And the communal BBQ area in the center of the resort is great too. Tofino in general and Ocean Village in particular is well worth the trip. It's BC at its best!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Beach Resort

Address: 555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tofino
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Village is located on MacKenzie Beach in Tofino, BC known for its iconic A-frame cabins. OV is focused on providing families with self-contained, affordable, waterfront vacation cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Beach Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Village Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.