We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sugar Shack

The Sugar Shack
450 Campbell Street, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
250 725 3242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 44 Restaurants in Tofino
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“needs an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I got sundaes, the icecream flavours were average, nothing too exciting. Maybe I've been spoiled by the icecream shops in the Okanagan....I didn't care much for the berry sauce on mine, but my husband of course enjoyed the chocolate sauce. Portion sizes were on the small size. The inside is super outdated, definitely sit outside at the pink picnic benches!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Island Farm Ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you like island farm ice cream like my husband, this is like mecca. Lots to choose from a bit of time warp to tie die shirts and community based feel. Open later than the rest of the neighbourhood.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackenzie, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“If Chocolate Tofino is closed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Otherwise, go there instead.. The service was pretty gnarly (my wife got a ridiculously small portion, and when she asked if she even got the 2 scoops she paid for they made a stink), it's super hot inside, cash only (there's an ATM inside).. A fair bit of seating outside, though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty summer treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our group of friends stopped in here while we were up camping and exploring Tofino on a sunny day.

Sugar shack is your typical ice cream shop. Lots of flavours, some soft serve and I think a few frozen yogurt options. I also believe there were some beverages available.

There is plenty of indoor seating as well as some picnic tables outside. The paint inside is funky and bright with some art of surfers.

If I remember correctly, I think it is cash only, so be prepared for that. Service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sugar Shack also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sugar Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.