We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This trial has everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Cove

Schooner Cove
PO Box 280, Ucluelet | 2040 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
+1 250-726-3500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 48 things to do in Tofino
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered by many to be one of the best boardwalk hikes around, you will be immersed in the natural serenity of the temperate rainforest. You can take the easy stairs to the beach, where you can gaze at the gentle waves crashing in. During low tide, an inviting passage presents itself so you can make your way to a small island where you may find bald eagles soaring above. Schooners Cove is nothing less than invigorating and rejuvinating. Truly a picturesque adventure.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“This trial has everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The schooner cove is one of my favourite trial in the national park. It has boardwalk all the way to beach so it's nice to walk and good for the environment. It is a bit narrow so visitors have to be careful when passing other hiker. The view is excellent through out the whole trial. It has rainforest, valley and beach. The beach in the end is nice and quiet. There aren't many people visiting here. The island off shore is beautiful and you can walk onto if during low tide. This trial is for everyone and it should not be missed if you are visiting the park.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    31
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

To get to the cove you walk through the rainforest on a wooden board walk. There are stairs and it can be slippery in the rain. Once you make it to the cove be sure to head right and once you are over the rocks you will be able to walk for kilometers of sandy beach and come across a huge old uprooted tree that has been bleached by the sea and looks like driftwood. It was wonderful to walk along the near deserted beaches and hear the waves wash up on the shore. This is a hidden gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A great walk through the rain forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We visited Schooners cove on a very wet day. However this only seemed to enhance the whole experience. This walk takes you through a rain forest by way of a series of wooden walkways and stairs. Arguably this is the best part. This really is not a ealj ti miss whdn visting this wonderful srea.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Easy walk to nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

From all beaches in the Pacific Rim National Park, this was the one I considered the most beautiful. Nice for walks and very easy access through a boardwalk, almost to the sand.

As this beach is part of the park, there's a fee you must pay at the parking lot (it gives you access to all parking lots in the park for a period of time). Visit the park's site for more information.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Secluded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was a fabulous walking trail. Perhaps it was when we went (in the evening around 6:30-7pm), but we were the only ones on the trail! It has a lot of up and down staircases and steps. It my girls (4 and 8) managed just fine. It takes you to the beach. When we got out into the beach, it was completely deserted as well! We were a little nervous that others knew something we didn't, but we couldn't figure it out. We weren't able to stay as long as we wanted due to it getting later and we didn't want to be on the trail at dusk/night as there were recent cougar sightings in the area. But it was low tide when we got to the beach, so the we were able to explore the "island" a bit. But definitely check this trail out!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Cove also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Schooner Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.