We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Springs Cove

Hot Springs Cove
Maquinna Provincial Park, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Attractions in Tofino
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hot Springs Cove is about one and a half hours north of Tofino. It's located right in the heart of Clayoquot Sound.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Nice boat ride to it, we saw sea lions and sea otters, a grey whale and bald eagles. Nice walk to the falls through the forest. The not springs themselves are not really spectacular but nice to bath in. The hot springs are totally natural so. to for those unsure of their footing. They are also not very big so can't accommodate loads of people. But then the tour operators stagger their arrival times to try and avoid overcrowwding.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    43
    22
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
victoria, bc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best to go when the weather is slightly cooler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Taking a boat to get there offers a decent cruise along the outside and/or inside passage, where you will see the beauty of Vancouver Island's coast line. We saw whale and sea otter, eagles and a plethora of other sea life. The walk through the rain forest to the hot springs is another treat, in and of itself. I love the lush beauty of the forest. And then there are the hot springs. Rugged, remote, beautiful, and hot. Yes, there are (too many) people, but they're travellers mostly, and interesting conversations can be had while relaxing in the water. Don't forget to notice the wonderful clean air, as you breathe it all in!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice and warm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

After a 1,5 hour boatdrive to the place – on which we saw a blackbear, many sealions and seaotters – we had a easy one-hour-walk to the cove. It was quite crowded, but we liked it anyway because it is so special to take a bath in the nice warm springs! We recommend the trip if you like walking in nature and taking a hot bath.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hot springs cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a must do if you are in Tofino, the trip was absolutely amazing and so were the hot springs.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You have to go… but once will probably be enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Beautiful trip out to the cove. We went early as our guide said it would worth it to go before the crowds arrive. He was right! Not much room at the hot springs. Nice hike to the hot springs, but be prepared it is about 30 minutes to get there and similar to the hike is Pacific Rim National Park. Also be aware, the hot springs are really hot, almost too hot for our kids. I would definitely combine this with whale watching and fishing otherwise it would be pretty expensive for what you get.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Springs Cove also viewed

 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Hot Springs Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Springs Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.