We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This rating is for the hot springs the whole trip would get a 4” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Springs Cove

Hot Springs Cove
Maquinna Provincial Park, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 48 things to do in Tofino
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hot Springs Cove is about one and a half hours north of Tofino. It's located right in the heart of Clayoquot Sound.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“This rating is for the hot springs the whole trip would get a 4”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Listen I'm not the fond on public pools and real that's what this comes down to the difference being it's cramp and over crowded and I've seen puddles bigger than most of the pools. With that said the 1.5 hour boat ride there was stellar saw sea lions, lots of gray whales, otters and so on. The walk to the hot springs is through the Forrest on a board walk and there are a lot of stairs I was told return trip over 1600 I would believe it. So if your going for the trip and the scenery you won't be disappointed if its the springs I would say yes you will. Book through Jamie's Whaling excellent company.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    46
    22
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“The finest hot springs in Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've been impressed by the beauty of Hot Springs Cove. The combination of a cold ocean that washes into the hot springs pools during the high tides, makes this place so unique. Once you've got off your boat, there's a 2.4km long boardwalk to the spring. I really love this well built broadwalk that winds through beautiful rain forest in til it reaches the hot springs. There are a few stairs, but nothing serious.

The water at the spring source is really hot, they say it is around 50C. The small hot pools are located in a little canyon between the waterfall - so hot that you cannot stay under, and the open ocean. Considering the sharp rocks all around, I would recommend wearing watershoes, especially if you like to alternate cold dips in the ocean with hot soaks in the pools. Bring lots of water as you get thirsty easily.

I highly recommend Hot Springs Cove; this is a must do excursion while in Tofino.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sooo great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I think it would be even better to go in the winter when its chilly out and not packed, but the half hour walk to the springs and the natural warm water bath is a total treat! I really want to go back there :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Everything about this excursion was great! The boat ride in open water, seeing the otters was a treat but watching the grey's was overwhelming. The easy 1/2 hour walk was peaceful and beautiful, the hot springs melted all aches away. A very worthwhile experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This trip was wonderful. It's an absolute must. Tony our guide was great and very accommodating when stopping to see the wildlife. The walk through the forest couldn't have been better, the hot springs are so relaxing. Bring water shoes, rocks are slippery and some are sharp. Boat trip across and back was great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Springs Cove also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Hot Springs Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Springs Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.