We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Waterfront Pub

Jack's Waterfront Pub
634 Campbell, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Dockside Marine Pub)
250-725-3277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 44 Restaurants in Tofino
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“What Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This pub is in a lovely location overlooking the water, you can eat either inside or outside. The choice on the menu is varied and has something for everyone. The food is all freshly cooked and the portions are very generous. The service was friendly and efficient. The pecan pie was to die for !!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for writing in after your visit to Marina West. We will have to get the chef to make some more pecan pie as it is his secret recipe and one of his favorite dishes to make when he has the time.
We hope you come back and visit us again the next time you are in the area and we really do appreciate the feedback!

Sincerely,
Graeme Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    57
    38
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We sat outside on the deck in the afternoon, while eating lunch we watched the local fishermen bring their catches into the dock and clean tuna and salmon. Our waitress was attentive, even warned that the bees were bad this year and if we were bothered too much by them that we could go sit inside the pub. Food was very tasty and would definitely go back to Jack's when we visit the area again. Price and food quality were excellent as was the staff and the views overlooking the docks and water!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Richard S,
The team at Marina West is very pleased to hear about your experience here at the Pub. We are very lucky to have such great entertainment at our disposal and we are happy you enjoyed the food and service during your visit. We strive to put forth the best quality food while keeping the prices reasonable. We hope to see you on your next visit to Tofino.
Thank you so much for your review
Graeme Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Watch the fish being cleaned as you eat your lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great view, and delicious food. I think they had the best fries in Tofino. I had a fish taco, my husband and son both had a steak sandwich. We all enjoyed our meals and the service was most pleasant. Sit outside on the patio if it's not raining.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the compliments on the fries, the chef was elated when he read your review. It is great to hear that all areas of your visit were enjoyable, we agree if it isn't raining there are not many better places to enjoy lunch than on our Patio. It is great to receive positive feedback and we hope you will stop by for lunch the next time you are on the coast

Sincerely,
Graeme Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very little on a plate for the $$”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A bit of a disappointment. Food was average and they were very small portions for the $$. In fact we went out to eat again about an hour later. Our server was great and food came fast but it wasn't hot at all.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We apologize for your disappointment during your visit to Jack's at Marina West. Food quality and value is very important to us and this feedback assists us to make necessary changes. Your review will help us to improve the guest experience here at Jack's. I hope next time you visit Tofino you give Marina West another chance and I assure you that things will have changed.

Sincerely,
Graeme Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Live music with the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'd red that there was going to be live music here, so we headed in. The place was pretty crowded even at 8:00pm, but we got a spot at the bar. Both bartenders were quick with recommendations and always got us "freshened up" when we got low. The place isn't really designed for live music long and narrow, but the band sounded good and they played music that the crowed obviously liked. It's very low key here - from the fishermen in the rubber boots and ball caps coming in for an afterwork drink, to vacationers trying to live it up a little. We had a great time, and it's not too bad a walk back into Tofino to the hotels.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We agree the Pub isn't the best location/room design for live music!! We are very pleased to hear you had a good time during our live music. We try and bring as many local Island artists to the stage and like you said appeal to all different types of crowds. We pride ourselves on the diversity of people that frequent Jack's Pub.
I Really appreciate you reviewing your experience here and we hope to see you in the Pub for some live music in the near future

Graeme Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Waterfront Pub also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Jack's Waterfront Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Waterfront Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.