We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great west coast lodge experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Middle Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Middle Beach Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great west coast lodge experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

2nd visit here...love the lodge great room and layout of the grounds. Nice walking trails around the property and access to two great beaches. Stayed in a freestanding cottage...very nice. Unit had an outfitted kitchen. Excellent views across middle beach from large windows and the deck. Comfortable beds with duvets. The decor and style of the cottage leans more towards an authentic west coast cottage experience...use of reclaimed woods in the furnishings, wainscotting, wood floors, tab curtains..all very appealing to me in this setting. I had forgotten how good the cinnamon buns are at breakfast...good coffee and muesli as well. Would have scored 5 out of 5 except it appeared our unit may not have been refreshed by housekeeping if we had not prompted them at 4:30pm....also, the area around the bottom of the stove(cottage 55) in the kitchen needs some additional attention from housekeeping...just some visible dirt and crumbs.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms can be on the smaller side...its all about the view...the common areas are wonderful...b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Front Office Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Beachfinder2010,

Thank you for taking the time to review Middle Beach Lodge! We certainly do have a rustic setting with the reclaimed wood within the lodge and cabins. This wood was saved from old buildings that were being demolished in Victoria. If you ever stay in one of our lodge rooms, the doors were recycled from an old ship and the rooms were built around the doors!

In regards to your stay over cleans, you should have been informed by the front desk staff that they are done in the afternoon between 3-6pm. I have talked to the manager from housekeeping about the oven and she has dealt with the matter.

We look forward to your next stay,

Olivia Taylor

Front Desk Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    210
    61
    34
    16
See reviews for
115
374
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We've just returned from our 5th or 6th trip to Middle Beach Lodge and must report that it is consistently the best resort in the region. The cabins are comfy and well appointed, the staff are friendly and helpful, the food is delicious (dinner as well as those amazing cinnamon buns!) and the location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Front Office Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Judy L,

Thank you for being such a wonderful repeat guest! We pride ourselves on consistently looking after everyone who comes to stay at Middle Beach. We offer dinner at the Headlands, 5 nights a week, during peak season. The seafood is caught daily and if you are lucky enough to stay on a Saturday night, we have a Dungeness crab dinner!

We look forward to your 6th or 7th trip,

Kind Regards,

Olivia Taylor

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Although most people know an overpriced resort down the beach from here ---- this facility beats it -- hands down -- at half the price !! A wonderful inn with additional unattached cabins --- and amazing views !! If you go -- stay in the main lodge in either of the two " Headlands " suites ( # 30 or 31) --- it will be an experience you will never forget !! This was our second time staying there -- and we will definitely be back !!! ( Final tip -- try to arrive and leave on either Saturday or Sunday --- not because of anything at the lodge --- but the lumber trucks do not run on those days --- and the VERY NARROW AND WINDING Route 4 is much less nerve wracking sans trucks.)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Front Office Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear FMAC523,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful Trip advisor review!! I personally love the view from the Headland Suites, as you can see both the sunrises and the sunsets from the large balconies. They also have a stunning view of Wickaninnish Island and if whales ever swim through the inlet (which they do), you are the first to see them!

We look forward to your next stay,

Kind Regards,

Olivia Taylor

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a lovely time at middle beach lodge, Pricy but worth every cent!
Something not to miss is the Hot springs tour, we saw whales, a black bear , seals, Seaotters etc,,, Don't be discurraged by misty wheather. It brightened every day by midday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Front Office Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear SCK Travelbug,

It was so lovely to have some fellow Australians come into Middle Beach and I am so glad that you had a lovely stay! The Hot Springs are definitely one of the best tours to take, if you have the time, as it gives you a day of seeing the local wildlife around Tofino. I know Jeff, the tour operator with Marina West, has been with the company for 10 years, so he has a wealth of knowledge.

Hope you enjoyed your trip to Whistler and the trip back to Australia was not too long,

Cheers,

Olivia Taylor

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great location on the water,10 minutes to Tofino. Lots of variety to chose from for types of accommodation. Friendly staff, clean rooms... would go back again. Good value for Tofino... you can pay a lot more, but we found this more than adequate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Front Office Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear David W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Middle Beach Lodge. As mentioned, we have 23 different types of rooms available, between the 2 lodges, so we can accommodate everyone from couples to large families. Because of the variety, we are able to be competitive with our rates to suit a number of people.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Cheers,

Olivia Taylor

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great night car camping, super location steps from the beach, clean facilities, a pool! and really friendly staff. This is a great inexpensive alternative to staying in a room. Can't ask for much more!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Front Office Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Lisa L,

Thank you for writing a review for Middle Beach Lodge, although I have a feeling that it might have been for our neighbour, Mackenzie Beach Resort? If you ever feel the need to stay in a more comfortable setting, please know that you are always welcome at Middle Beach.

Kind Regards,

Olivia Taylor

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June as a mini holiday.
This was the perfect location for my husband and I to get away "from it all"! Our room was in the main lodge area with a partial view of the ocean and beach. The room was a little small but for us it was perfect. We could hear the ocean and feel the breeze off the water which made it like heaven.
There was a little balcony for us to stand on.
The beach was great! Found starfish, sand dollars, seaweed and when the tide was out, the sandbar was perfect to walk on. The water was cold BUT the sun was nice and hot.
The service was welcoming and very friendly. I went for a morning run and came back to the perfect breakfast for runners.
The bed was super comfy; the towels could use an upgrade though. Once they got wet you could see that they are almost at the end of their duty.
No pets allowed at the lodge which was great NOT to wake up to barking dogs or their messes on the walking trails.
All and ALL a wonderful place to get away from it all. Only wish we could have stayed a couple more days.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Front Office Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear FtMac Tompkins,

We are so pleased that you had a relaxing time with your mini holiday! The lodge rooms are the smallest that we have here on site, at the Lodge at the Headlands, but on your next stay, you can talk to our friendly staff about bigger rooms as some even come with some kitchen facilities. In regards to your towels, I have alerted housekeeping about the condition of them and they have let me know that they are currently in the process of upgrading them.

Please come again to get away from it all,

Kind Regards,

Olivia Taylor

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middle Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.