We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway to rewind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Middle Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Middle Beach Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great getaway to rewind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A Short Review.

Stayed for 3 nights. Truely a gem. Had a room in the Building next to the reception/lobby/restaurant., with the best view( in my opinion) and falling asleep to the Sound of the ocean.

The Lobby is more a Big Living room with several couches and chairs where you could relax and read. There is coffee and tea which you could take all day plus fruit.

There are raincoats and rainboots you can borrow as bikes.
Breakfast is good with freshly baked goods and there are daily fresh baked cookies.

A stroll on the Beach is a 5 minute walk from the Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Ryan K,

Thank you for your three-night visit with us here at Middle Beach Lodge. We're glad that you found our lounge at MB2 comfortable and inviting. Our intention is to make our guests feel safe and at home when relaxing here.

Your comments are warmly received.

Safe Travels,

Sam Connolly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    210
    61
    34
    16
See reviews for
115
374
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crosby Lake, Westport, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our 2 couple lodge was comfortable and private; the hotel is perched on the ocean front with awesome views. The main lodge has a beautiful dining room as well as a large comfortable lounge with a stone fireplace and spectacular views everywhere. The food was excellent - croissants were wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Pete S,

Your review is greatly appreciated. You might be interested to know that our fireplace was constructed using stone from the Kennedy River, just 35 miles East of Tofino. It's good to hear that you enjoyed our continental breakfast buffet, as we take pride in its being a healthy step above the standard complimentary fare offered by competing resorts. Thank you for staying at Middle Beach, and please visit again soon.

Safe Travels,

Sam Connolly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Has all the ingredients but unfortunately there is a lack of attention to detail which lets it down.
The location is stunning, the public rooms impressive and the staff always pleasant. Our room however had a poorly designed bathroom and insufficient mirrors. Whilst the availability of coffee daily in the lounge until 11pm is impressive it is not, for us anyway, a sufficient substitute for a simple kettle in the room.
We enjoyed two superb evening meals but felt very let down when having booked a third, after the menus were published, it was decided later in the day that due to lack of bookings it would be cancelled. That is quite unacceptable and would not happen in other hotels of our experience. Seemed quite ridiculous too given that numerous potential diners would be booking in later in the day upon their arrival!
Shame.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Avante540,

Thank you for taking the time to provide thoughtful feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Great Room and the beautiful expanse it overlooks, but sorry to hear that your accommodation did not elicit the same enthusiasm. We do offer units outside the main lodge with alternate washroom configurations and kitchenettes for all your culinary needs.

In regards to your dinner reservation: Unfortunately, there are occasions (though rare) when, due to low occupancy, we cannot logistically serve our Dinner At The Headlands. We are doing everything we can to ensure this happens as infrequently as possible, and we hope you come back to dine with us again.

Safe Travels,

Sam Connolly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We enjoyed a very quiet three nights at Middle Beach Lodge over (American) Thanksgiving week. We loved the breakfast and enjoyed a delicious dinner there every night. During the day we shopped online in the common area (consistently good wifi). We'd take a stroll on the beach or head out at lunch at mid-day. Other guests, including families with small children, enjoyed reading, playing board games and hanging out. I really enjoyed this off season gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Gail R,

Thank you for taking a moment to provide such positive feedback. The tranquility and quiet Middle Beach provide (on such a wild and oftentimes fierce coast) are what make it a wholly unique getaway.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Safe Travels,

Sam Connolly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had driven up to Tofino from Victoria just to stay at this hotel on the advice if a cousin who knows it well.The main building and restaurant is separate from the bedrooms.We were seconds away from the main building.The style is elegant and restrained and is a delight with astounding views all around.Sitting before dinner is an occasion and the food was excellent even though it was a set menu it was superb.Arriving at reception we were surprised to see a great array of waterproofs and wellingtons but it was our good luck to have constant sunshine for our visit. This was the highlight of our visit to Canada and was all too short a time.The staff were happy and helpful.

Room Tip: Maybe keep close to main building but not essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Jorrocks1932,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The lodge was built with recycled, heritage materials with the intention of highlighting its rugged trappings and not the other way around. Thanks for noticing.

We are equally pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience, as it is our goal to provide inspired meals that reflect and compliment our incredible surroundings.

As much fun as can be had trekking around the wet coast in bright yellow galoshes, the summer months have certainly been sunny ones so far, and we hope the trend continues. Thank you for your kind words and patronage.

Safe Travels,

Sam Connolly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in small but very quaint ocean view room. Room was $79.00 in mid June. What a deal! Ambience is amazing in all buildings. But, there is only one, don't eat the previously prepared dinners. We were too tired to leave as we arrived late. Besides that, it was great.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Diane B,

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback. Our policy at MBL is to provide access to a truly intimate coastal getaway at prices that accommodate a wide array of travel budgets.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. It is of great importance that our meals meet the expectations of our guests. We take great care in the preparation and presentation of our dinners, and our access to fresh, local seafood and island produce inspires us to create memorable Tofino tastes.

If our Dinner At The Headlands did not fully satisfy, we would welcome any suggestions you may have concerning its improvement.

Safe Travels,

Sam Connolly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Middle beach is great value for the money. My husband and I stayed in a sextet suite and it fit our needs perfectly. We were able to make some meals in the unit and loved falling asleep to the sound of the ocean every night.

The grounds are well maintained. The addition of the gym is great but the quick access to the multi-use path off the highway is a real bonus for runners. The location to town and other beaches is also really convenient.

Loved the continental breakfast - great coffee and fresh baked goods.

Overall, a really nice home base in Tofino.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear AshPatSat,

Thank you for the review. It is a point of pride for us that out oceanfront grounds grant ease of access to Tofino hotspots while still retaining a sense of sanctuary. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and proud to be your home away.

Safe Travels,

Sam Connolly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middle Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.