We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Impressed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Save Saved
You added Middle Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Super Impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in two different ocean view "cozy rooms" and they were absolutely amazing! Really nothing fancy, but quaint, clean and full of antiques. The rooms were quiet, and the two different common areas were a great place to unwind with a book and glass of wine. The breakfast included was also great. Couldn't have a better location, either. Right on the beach, and a very short drive into town. We caught this place on a sale, so for $138/night was definitely worth our money in Tofino! I can't gush enough about this place.

Room Tip: Ocean view, upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    184
    53
    32
    12
See reviews for
94
333
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights at the Lodge at the Beach. The room was very clean and we were given an abundance of fresh towels & Bee Kind toiletries. There is no bar fridge or coffee maker in the room so we were welcome to coffee, tea & hot chocolate which is available all day in the guest lounge. We were made to feel very welcome....almost as if we were in our own livingroom. Freshly baked cookies were put out every night @ 8:00 in the guest lounge. The décor throughout the premises is very country antique & Ralph Lauren-like. Raincoats & gumboots were available for beach-combing. No negative comments......we are waiting to go back.

Room Tip: we didn't find it necessary to have a room with an ocean view because you can walk down to it in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Middle Beach Headlands Lodge for two nights, and honestly wish we could have stayed longer. I booked a "loft suite" but didn't fully understand what I was getting (I booked through a travel website and the description was different to what is listed on the Middle Beach website); so I was very pleasantly surprised when we were checked in to our own separate cabin! One of my biggest issues when on holiday is being able to hear guests in adjacent rooms, so for me this type of accommodation is ideal. Inside it was lovely and rustic, yet still well kitted out (tv, hairdryer, iPod dock/radio, kitchen etc); the free logs for the fire were a very nice touch too. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower was great (despite there apparently being water-saving devices in place, that could reduce water pressure?!). Best of all was the balcony, complete with hot tub and gorgeous view of the beach (the cabin we stayed in, number 58, was right on the end and so had a kind of side-on view of the beach - still lovely though). The hot tub is more like a bath with a few jets in it, but is still great for relaxing in with a glass of wine.
Perhaps even better than the cabin was the beautiful communal lounge area in the main lodge..... WOW. We spent ages sitting on the huge comfy sofas, listening to the crackle of the open fire and just staring out at the Pacific ocean; there are also books, magazines and board games available, plus free tea, coffee and hot chocolate. The wifi also worked better in the lounge than in the cabin. We made full use of the kitchen in our cabin so cannot comment on the standard of the dinners served in the lodge, however breakfast (included in room price) was reasonable: mostly muffins, croissants and cereals, as well as fruit.
The location is excellent, just a few minutes drive from central Tofino and walking distance to the beach. Bear in mind the road leading from the main road is FULL of potholes, so be prepared!
We loved our stay here, and would definitely go back again... and again....... and again.

Room Tip: Ask for cabin 58 (Headlands Lodge) - it is right on the end of the row of cottages, and so feels a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

"That's how a fellow guest described Middle Beach. We were staying for a couple of nights in the Headlands Lodge (as opposed to the Beach Lodge) and attending their nightly supper, a prix fixe meal for $37/per. The food was adequate but not stellar. I'm not sure it was worth the $37 - appetizer, salads, bread, crab, risotto (kind of gluey), asparagus - but wonderful desserts and very attentive service. The lodge itself is gorgeous, furnished in lovely antiques with wonderful common spaces, comfy couches, and a huge fireplace. Fresh fruit and coffee, tea etc are available all the time and included, as is the continental breakfast, very nice. The dining room is very pleasant with lots of windows looking right out onto the ocean and beach. Our room was charming - antiques, very comfy bed, flat screen TV, antique dresser, big bathroom with deep tub, window that open (of course), and a little "standing" balcony overlooking the water. It was very quiet. We had some problem orienting ourselves when we arrived and didn't find the signage was great - went to the wrong building and were not-so-graciously directed to the other one. It's amazing how first impressions gleaned from young/inexperienced staff members can affect your judgement! But we got by that and settled in to really appreciate the rustic and natural beauty of the place. Its location is fabulous, lovely grounds, easy parking, and trails that lead to the beach. I would love to come back and stay longer.

Room Tip: There are a lot of choices for rooms - ocean view, "garden facing," balconies, cabins, lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear DLCAlbeta,

We are glad you enjoyed your West Coast Getaway at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia. We are glad to hear that your experience with Middle Beach Lodge lived up to being “Magical”.

We do agree that getting to the lodge for your first time can become a little disorienting, and we are working toward keeping our signage clear and in view. It does concern us that your first impression of our front desk staff was "young" and "inexperienced", as we do take pride in having a very well trained and customer oriented front desk staff. I have informed the front desk manager and we will be addressing our staff about this issue.

We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post this excellent review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Josh Hannigan, Manager &
All the Staff of Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

In 1992 I was in Tofino with some friends when we heard about a new property under construction. We went to the site and met the charming English couple that had been hired as the first management team. They were so enthusiastic, that we made a reservation for the next spring. With the exception of 2 years I have stayed at Middle Beach at least once a year since. Sometimes two or three times! 25 visits as of this year. Obviously, I like the place!
The Lodge "at the beach" is geared to adult travellers and has a slightly rustic, retro feel. No phones or TV's, communal breakfast seating and an emphasis on quiet relaxation. The great room is lovely, the view over Middle Beach is the West Coast at it's best. The down side to this lodge is that the timber frame construction transmits a fair bit of sound. The running of plumbing and room to room sound can be an issue. Never a deal breaker for me, but I know which rooms are better than others!
The Lodge at the Headlands has very nice rooms; 28, 29 & 30 are the best. The Templar point six-plex has kitchenettes, big soaker tubs and nice porches. There are also various cabins, great for families and groups. I've only stayed in one, but other family members have enjoyed a number of them over the years. Again, the construction style of the buildings does transmit sound, the six-plex next to the Headlands Lodge being the worst for noise! Stay on the upper floor...
The breakfast spread is ample, the evening meals are quite good (variable availability depends on season) and the service is enthusiastic if sometimes a little inexperienced. (Staff turnover is obviously a common issue for all remote resort towns, Tofino is no exception.) I've already booked for next spring!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

It is AMAZING...The entire property...location, architecture, decoration, atmosphere, cleanness and staff are all Wonderful! A perfect place filled with enchantment, tranquility, the scenery is to die for...you have the excellent mix...nature/wilderness/romance/beautiful views/peacefulness with the perfect amount of luxury and comfort! You actually feel you are disconnected from the world!

You wake up with the sounds of the ocean, you look out the windows or you go out to the balcony and you have.... the perfect beach, the perfect scenery, the peacefulness you need to relax and enjoy the company of the person beside you...rain or shine...you are not disappointed. Every moment is priceless.

The service is great; staff is very attentive, honest, helpful when you ask for advice and opinions about tours, restaurants and things to do; which is fantastic! Who knows more than the locals...all the recommendations they gave us were Great!
The lodge has two large lounge areas which are beautiful; breakfast is DELICIOUS and Dinner WOW!!! The dinner menu varies every day and it is scrumptious! Can't say enough...loved the all day complimentary beverage and fruit stations...Oh and the 8 o'clock cookies are soooo good...What can I say....everything is perfect...the views, the music inside the main lounges, the warmth and wonderful atmosphere...we enjoyed it so much. The nature trails and walking down to the beach are extremely enjoyable plans...
If you are tired you can rent movies and see them in the lodge in a room that is as cozy as home....or you can just read a book with the view of the beach and the sounds of the ocean...
Can't wait to come back and enjoy it again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Pilar R,

We are glad you enjoyed your West Coast Getaway at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia. We are thrilled you had an AMAZING experience at Middle Beach Lodge!

We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post this excellent review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Josh Hannigan, Manager &
All the Staff of Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We choose Middle Beach Lodge for our annual trip to Tofino (more if we can manage it!) The accommodations are a perfect mix of luxury meets west coast and the welcome back gift basket of goodies is always appreciated. We sleep to the sounds of the Pacific ocean crashing in to shore and just love the peacefulness of the location. The main Lodge is welcoming with a roaring fire, all day hot beverages, free games and books and a even warm cookies in the evenings. Breakfast is served in a nice casual atmosphere with fresh baked cinnamon buns and muffins and granola with yogurt and fresh fruit. Middle beach is also a great beach for a morning jog or afternoon stroll. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Many different styles to choose from - we like the beach house if it's just the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middle Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.