We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, Food and Wine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Save Saved
You added Middle Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Views, Food and Wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at Middle Beach Lodge for the second time and enjoyed it just as much as the first, if not more!

We arrived to find a bottle of wine and private message from the manager, welcoming us back! A very nice touch!

Our room at the lodge was ocean facing, clean and very simple. There are no TV's, which adds to the peaceful atmosphere.

Morning continental breakfast is nice, with boiled eggs, toast, muffins, local jam, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee and tea.

Each night at 8pm they serve fresh baked cookies in the lodge.

Overall a great stay, and we'll be sure to return.

Room Tip: Booking in the off season allows you get a ocean facing room at a great price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    193
    56
    33
    15
See reviews for
103
346
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having never been to Tofino before I had to rely on Tripadvisor reviews for an idea of where to stay. Middle Beach Lodge fitted out needs perfectly. Its in a great location only a few mins drive from the main restaurants and right on two nice beaches so you need not get in the car every day. The breakfast was good, free tea, coffee & hot chocolate during the day was a nice touch and hot cookies in the evening was a bonus. The rooms were a little small and by no means boutique, but given your probably out all day its exactly what you need. Would certainly go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Loved this place. Everyone raves about "The Lodge" and they're right. It looks out over the ocean on a wonderful corner of land. We spent more on a 6 plex - lot of room with a bedroom and pullout couch, kitchen, big bathroom, living room, and our own covered balcony. We wanted ocean view in case it was raining all weekend. The time of year to come is off season - more affordable, quieter in Tofino and at the hotel. They had wonderful breakfasts, home baked baking, yoghurt and fresh fruit. Great beaches to walk along. Loved this place. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I actually stayed at at the Beach the first night, nestled deep int he forest (past a rough windy road to find it) From the FIsh Key Chain, to the Occupus to hand on the door knob, it was a quiet adults only - sparse, no nonsense accommodation It felt like you were on a ship, and the view and sounds of the waves crashes right under the window were awesome, The Spartan Close quarters which encouraged you to relax with the other guests in the great room, around a huge stone fireplace, which always had a wonderful fire, free tea, hot chocolate and coffee, cookies, and an excellent breakfast. I switched to the Headlands for my second night, Which was like being at the cabin, with a kitchenette, a separate shower and soaker tub, a living room with a gas fireplace, and a lovely double bed. an even nicer great room, with a larger fire, same tasty food, and free tea and coffee and cookies at 8 PM, with a couple of munchkins running around. Same Amazing view, and sounds of the ocean The Staff were friendly, helpful and great. I really enjoyed not having to pay extra as a single traveller - which often means the great "deal" you see on the website quickly evaporates when you explain you were not planning double occupancy...
Met some very nice friendly other guests, loved the beach walk, and the trails.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra for an Ocean facing View. MBL, the saver in my loved the inexpensive sparta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Who doesn’t love their stay at Middle Beach? Nestled away in a peaceful corner, very private; even amongst the dozen or so cabins; the cabin we stayed in was very well laid out, including a well-equipped kitchenette, amazing soaker tub and private ocean view patio. Quite small, but felt large inside with the open loft space tucked away loft with extra sleeping space.

Breakfast at the lodge was fitting, nothing too fancy, it’s what you need to start your day off. The lodge also offers a supper service (not every night) and it sounded great but we already had other plans; definitely worth looking into for an easy diner that’s in walking distance.

If you stay here you must walk the trails. Oh the endless trails. Great places to view the sunsets, hoard beach findings, or tire out the dogs (did I mention they welcome dogs? (Along with pup towels and treats!)

Something worth mentioning, when we arrived there was a nice fresh puddle of water just inside the cabin door along with a steady drip coming from the door jam. Likely from the horizontal rain pummeling the siding and blowing off a shingle, but not to be alarmed, it was fixed up within the hour by maintenance and no problems for the rest of the stay and the front desk staff were on top of it.

All in all, I can’t wait for storm season to return so I can book another escape to Middle Beach.

Thanks again!

Room Tip: stayed in cabin 38... I think, loved it, ocean view from the front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at MBL in late April and had a spectacular time. We booked a cabin for the four of us (my wife and I + 2 boys ages 9 & 10). The boys slept in the loft upstairs and we had the main floor bedroom. We splurged for the hot tub on the deck and made use of it each day after returning from our beach adventures. There are endless things to do in the area, whale watch, explore the hot springs, gaze at bald eagles, hike and explore the beaches. We spent a lot of time around the MLB beaches -especially at low tide and this is truly a spectacular location. We ate a restaurants and ate in at the cabin evenly. The cabin has cooking supplies, a small fridge, coffee/tea, plates cutlery, glasses and a cute dining area. It was this trip that we knew our boys were ready for some real world travel.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Drove up here from Victoria for 3 night stay. The all timber construction hotel has smallish rooms which are all en-suite but comfortable. Along the corridor is the spacious attractive communal sitting room where a generous continental breakfast is served, all day coffee. For tea I recommend the cinnamon buns topped with icing. For evening meals it is too far to walk in to town where there are several excellent restaurants. The coastal board walk starting at the tip of the peninsula is most attractive. We were there after the main summer season so the town was fairly quiet. Bear watching by boat is amazing!

Room Tip: I think you must ask for room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middle Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.