We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose the Wick instead” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Lodge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Long Beach Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Long Beach Lodge Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Near Tofino, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Surfing
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Choose the Wick instead”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed at Long Beach Lodge in late June 2008 having originally planned to stay at the Wick nearby.We are a family of four and chose one of the cottages.

The Lodge is not on Long Beach(a prisine bay nearby) and pictures of the hotel do not reveal that another resort has been built very close to the boundary of Long Beach Lodge.

Make sure you do not stay in one of the family cottages with low numbers close to the main lodge as these are overlooked by the adjacent resort and currently experience significant noise from building works.

Stafff were mainly "summer interns" with very little evidence of higher management.Service was erratical though the couple of meals we ate in were good.Tofino has some great restaurants so earting out is a real pleasure.

  • Disliked — Overlooked by nearby resort with associated building noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    235
    74
    40
    13
See reviews for
390
885
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

Words cannot describe this haven on the coast of VC Island! It is literally the most perfect hotel, where everything is catered for. We recently stayed in one of the resort's "rainforest cottages" which came with it's own Hot Tub, kitchen & living room, and even raincoats!
The hotel itself is pure bliss - beautifully designed with a gorgeous restaurant and lounge! The kids went surfing and in the evening, after dinner, we all went and played Frisbee on the beach.
One of the nights we stayed, we used the resorts complimentary gas BBQ, regularly cleaned and sheltered in their own little gazebos around the woodlands. It made a really nice change from that sort of drudge you get into of going out for dinner every evening.
Even the little things all start to add up - for example the free DVD library you can browse at reception or the cleverly lit pathways leading you back to your room,
I absolutely love this hotel, I'd recommend it to everyone who wants the perfect holiday experience!

  • Liked — Honestly - absolutely everything!
  • Disliked — It took a while to get to from the port on the other side of the island.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Good position on beach and room high standard. Hotel let down by poor reception. No offer of help for elderly customers who have to haul baggage up several steps and then down more stairs to get to the elevator. Reception just watched. Restaurant staff appear to be students spending summer here. Overall lack of management control very obvious. Cannot speak for the many cabins that are available here. Overall absurdly priced. The owner needs to spend time at a first class hotel to see how it should be done.

  • Liked — good room with fine view from balcony
  • Disliked — staff lacked experience,motivation, and enthusiasm
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

My Mum, sister and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago for my 30th birthday and it was fantastic.

We stayed in a rainforest cottage which was very luxurious. The living room, kitchen, diner has double height ceilings and the bedrooms were really nice. My sister and I shared the twin room upstairs but there was plenty of room for both of us and our luggage. My only slight disappointment was the the upstairs bathroom was very small compared to the huge bathroom downstairs that had underfloor heating. Bearing in mind there were two of us upstairs and only one downstairs it seemed a little unfair.

The hot tub in the back patio was lovely and warm, which was handy seeing as the weather wasn't.

At the lodge itself the Great Room has the most amazing views and the staff are very happy for you to just sit and read without ordering a drink or any food. The food in the restaurant was really nice and not too overpriced I felt. Again my only disappointment was that the Great Room and the restaurant are together really, so there were some people sitting a tables in the restaurant who were really sitting in the Great Room but it didn't seem to bother anyone.

Finally, a must do here is watch the sunset from the beach, it is really one of the most amazing things you will ever see and completely free of course.

  • Liked — Amazing location
  • Disliked — Disappointed by size and location of restaurant
  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

This was my second stay at Long Beach Lodge and it just gets better and better. The beach at the front door is, for me, the main attraction and having a room facing the beach is bliss. The sunsets are outstanding, and watching the beach activity - kids exploring, surfers, people just walking - is relaxing, sometimes funny, and often inspiring. So inspiring, in fact, that when I stayed there last December, I went out and rented a wet suit so I could get into the waves and I am 64. But the best is falling asleep at night to the sound of the waves!

As if all that is not enough, the Lodge, the staff, the food and the service are five star - they all combine to give you a feeling of relaxed elegance. I have done much travelling in my life and there is no place as good for the soul as Long Beach Lodge!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purkersdorf, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

It was our first experiance with a lodge. We had the rainforest cottage, which is very big and expensive for only one couple, but we are on honeymoon.

The cottage is large, had two bathrooms, two sleeping rooms one outdoor hot tub, two TVs and one DVD Player. A full kitchen with all you need, except slices and sharp cutting knives.

The beach is famouse for surfing and from the great room, you have a nice view of the beach and the ocean from where you can wath the surfer.

We stayed four nights and we enjoyed every minute. Next time we will come with our son.

  • Liked — The large rainwoodforest cottage
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the lodge and it was absolutely fantastic. We had our canape reception in the beautiful Great Room, and then the fabulous dinner in the reception room. The staff there were so attentive and everything was organized and on time. The food was delicious, and never had to wait for any drink or course. The surroundings of Tofino made our wedding so memorable, we would definately recommend anyone to have a destination wedding there. Heather the wedding coordinator was fabulous with everything at her disposal, making our planning easy. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to the penthouse suite and was probably the nicest room I have stayed in Tofino! Well worth the effort and time. We'll definately be back for our anniversaries! THANK YOU!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Near Tofino, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Business Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.