We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we'd had longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Lodge Resort

Save Saved
You added Long Beach Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Near Tofino, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$300 in Adventure Credits
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Tofino
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wish we'd had longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

As we only had 5 days on the Island and wanted to see Victoria also, we only ended up with one full day in Tofino which is just beatiful. As others have said the setting of this hotel is amazing, we watched the sun go down on our balcony with a glass of red, just perfect end to a day. Our room was really big and looked over the beach, just such a lovely way to wake up and see the beach. The restaurant setting is wonderful with great views and great food. We will be back for longer next time as didn't have time to use any of the facilities, or fully experience Tofino.

Room Tip: Book a room that looks out onto the beach, just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, one day is not enough time in Tofino! I hope you have an opportunity to visit us as a return guest, in the not too distant future.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    973
    176
    58
    38
    13
See reviews for
312
687
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A very pleasant way to spend a few days in any season, from summer sun to winter storms. Pleasant, casual staff, surf lessons with complete rentals, dining room, and near to the charming villages of Ucluelet and Tofino.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms offer a view of the surf coming in off the Pacific. Pets are allowed in ground l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. You are correct in that every season is great at the Lodge and Tofino. The Pacific marine environment is very unique, the ocean sets the mood!

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirbright, surrey, united kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A really lovely experience. Great cabin which we shared with friends complete with hot tub. Hotel on the beach so great for watching surfers and strolling along quietly. We stayed two nights in mid September. Staff friendly and helpful. Perhaps not the widest menus selection but they coped well with the celiac member of our party and had gluten free bread available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your cottage visit. If you have any special dietary requests, it is is always a good idea to discuss your requirements with the Chef, when you arrive, he will be more than happy to assist you.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The setting of the hotel is simply beautiful. STraight on a stunning beach and surrounded by nothing but nature. Me and my bf were simply amazed.
The hotel in itself is also really nice. The rooms are very clean and quite big. Ours had a fireplace and it was really cozy. The bathroom had a double bathtub - very nice.
The included breakfast was also very nice even though as a vegetarian I was lacking options to put on sandwiches.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Overall we were very pleased with our stay at the Long Beach Lodge Resort.
Nevertheless I want to also mention the more negative sides:
-The hotel starts to get old - this becomes visible in the rooms with furniture starting to look a bit rough. I guess they will soon be doing some renovations.
-On our first night we ordered room service. The service in itself worked very well but the food was not great at all and way to expensive for what it was. We had a burger which was very small and the meat was mediocre and some pasta dish that was too salted and at best lukewarm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We are doing some major upgrades to the hotel and rooms this winter, including room furniture and new bathroom showers.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I took my husband (and our new puppy) here for his 50th birthday as he wanted to 'Get away from it all" for his big day. We had a lovely trip. The LBL was a really good place to go for our 1st Pet Friendly vacation. The views were spectacular, the weather amazing. Only regret was that we did not make it to the hot tub. too busy trying to fit everything into our 3 day visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I am delighted you had a wonderful visit to celebrate your husband's birthday. Now that your puppy has had a taste of the Lodge and beach, I hope you realize that your pup will expect to be along on any future visits! October is a wonderful time in Tofino, we often get this beautiful weather and lovely sunsets.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this as I am sitting in my upgraded room.
To no fault to this resort I found those above me on the nosiy side. I am very sensitive to noise. When I brougth this up with the staff they went beyound what can be expected when there is limited availabilty and put me in
a beautiful and quit room. For those that service is number one you can count on this resort. I give this resort a five star.

All the above is in addition to the beautiful scenery and enviroment of the Long Beach Lodge Resort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad that we were able to fine you a quite room, sorry for the inconvenience. Our mission is to do whatever it takes to ensure our valved guests have an enjoyable, stress free visit.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Beautiful modern upscale lodge, ocean front lounge and restaurant. 2 parties in our family group of 4 with 2 rooms in the main lodge. 309 is a wonderful ocean front king studio suite - one large room with fireplace, sofa and chairs, ocean view balcony, small refrigerator and separate lovely bathroom , soaking tub and view. 307 is a very nice king room - fireplace, ocean view balcony, 2 chairs, small refrig and bath with soaking tub. Umbrellas, rain jackets, robes, safes provided in each room. Beds were extremely comfortable; decor was modern lodge style. The spa area was nice with an outdoor hot tub. We could easily stay here a week. Guests were free to linger in the lounge area around the large fireplace with sofas and chairs to read and relax during the day. Sipping fine wine was always an option!

Lodge was a lovely mix of international guests that appreciate the outdoors with very comfortable accommodations. This is truly a special location on the Pacific Ocean. Watching the surfers and taking beach walks made for perfect days - even in stormy weather. The Lodge has a marine adventure boat trip with Josh that shouldn't be missed. We saw gray whales, sea lions, seals, otters, eagles. Josh is a lodge treasure.

The staff continually exceeded our expectations with every interaction. Jennifer was a very gracious front desk receptionist and also helped us book the right rooms when we called.

I checked out the 2 bedroom 2 bath duplex cottages - and they were also very nice with a hot tub for the unit with private garden views - no ocean views. Good kitchen and living room for 4 people. Quick walk to the ocean beach. We would love to stay in these also with family.

I'll post a restaurant review also.

Room Tip: Ocean view lodge rooms are wonderful, no matter what floor. Cottages have a "woodsy" view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit. I am glad you experienced the beautiful weather and gorgeous sunsets. Our company mission is to always try to exceed guests expectations and I am glad we have. Jennifer is so welcoming and helpful and Josh is the best at what he does, both are very valved members of our team. You are quite right, everyone should take the Marine Adventure, it is a different world out there! We look forward to your next visit, maybe in a cottage.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Near Tofino, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.