We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Elegance and West Coast Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Lodge Resort

Save Saved
You added Long Beach Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Near Tofino, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rustic Elegance and West Coast Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for one night this past weekend - a last minute getaway. The reservation process was seamless. Upon checkin we were greeted with the same first class hospitality we have experienced at places like the Four Seasons. Our front desk attendant stated they had been expecting us, and rather than pass our key to us across the desk (which is cold and impersonal), she walked around the front desk, handed us the key and welcomed us. Our room was modest by choice and it was clean, well stocked, and the cot for our daughter was waiting for her. Since we arrived around dinner time, we went to the Great Room and while they were booked full, they worked their magic and made room for us. The service was five star and the food was spectacular. Don't miss out on the hot tub - it was magical - surrounded by fir trees with a view of the night sky. Access to the beach was fabulous. We will be back again but next time to surf! I definitely recommend Long Beach Lodge for families or couples!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am delighted you had a wonderful visit. I am glad that the dining room staff was able to fit you in you for dinner. I have a rule that regardless how busy we are, our valved in house guests must always be accommodated for dinner, even if they come last minute. I hope that next time you can visit for at least two nights.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    953
    169
    53
    37
    13
See reviews for
298
675
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location on nice sandy bay. Views from restaurant and balcony are excellent. Pricey but not most expensive down the coast. Disappointed that boat trips weren't operating when we were there but Jamies Whaling Bear Trips can be recommended.
Rooms cleaned daily. Friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Save money and go for partial ocean view balcony as don't spend that much time in room and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry our Marine Adventure was not offered on the day you wished to go, I hope you saw some bears, they are now down in the rivers gorging on salmon for the long winter.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Long Beach Resort has an amazing view on the Pacific Ocean.We really appreciate the relaxed atmosphere and the nice people there. Tofino was a two day stop of a longer journey across BC and Vancouver Island, the Long Beach Resort made it a unique experience. We had à great time there.

Room Tip: Rooms with Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I am delighted that you had a great visit to Tofino and the Lodge. We have had some outstanding weather, I really hope that you were able to view one of the absolutely beautiful sunsets. Thank you for your comments regarding our people, we do have a wonderful staff!


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed in one of the Rainforest Cottages and found it was good value for the money. The cottage was very cute and had everything we needed. We got the two couples special and brought our small dog. Staff in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the front desk staff person we dealt with was not very helpful and seemed a bit confused by simple questions about the billing. We asked when we checked in if we could split the bill with the other couple when we checked out. She said yes, but in the end she messed up the billing and we just had to figure it our ourselves. She didn't explain anything to us and just silently handed us the bill. When I asked for explanations of things she just stared blankly at me. Not helpful.

I gave the cleanliness and sleep quality an "average" rating because the tub in the main bathroom had a lot of hair in it when we arrived. The pillows on the bed were super lumpy and very uncomfortable. For such an expensive stay I expected a bit more attention to detail.

The location is fantastic and amenities were great (restaurant, hot tub, breakfast). We had been to Tofino before but the couple we were with had not - they loved the location. Aside from the unhelpful front desk staff member and confusion with the billing, we had a great experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I am glad that you had a great visit overall.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We got married at Long Beach Lodge Resort. It was Beautiful and relaxing, the staff were very friendly and our wedding day went off so smoothly. We definitly felt special!! The room was comfortable and the view was amazing, waking up to the sound of the ocean every morning was a dream. I have Celiac diesease which is an allergy to gluten and they were very accomadating in the dining room! Will be going back. It was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Definitly get a room overlooking the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Congratulations on your marriage, we wish you all the best for a long and happy life together. I am delighted that your wedding day was so wonderful and that we were able to accommodate your dietary requests. We look forward to your next visit as return guests.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We enjoyed a couple if days at Long Beach Resort overlooking Cox's Bay in early October, coinciding with a surf competition, as part of a longer three week trip around British Columbia. With a partial sea view from our room we enjoyed watching the waves and surfers from our room and balcony. The room was a good size, and the staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary continental buffet breakfast each morning, the fruit scones are worth a mention. The evening menu was varied with a selection of fish dishes, the crab cake starter and mussels are note worthy, or après surf selection of burgers or pizza. Overall a lovely stay on the west coast.

Room Tip: Cottages and cabins don't have sea views, you need to stay in the main lodge to get a full or pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the Lodge, thank you for visiting us as part of your trip to British Columbia.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Long Beach Lodge several times over the past five years. We love this place! This time we brought our dog and booked one of the pet friendly beach access rooms. Everything worked out great. Our dog settled in very quickly and soon the three of us were walking the beach and enjoying the "west coast" weather.
The service is exceptional here, from everyone, not just the front desk and restaurant staff.
The restaurant menu has something for everyone, and there is a focus on local as in Vancouver Island, and in house prepared.
Complementary continiental breakfast is extensive with lots of in house bakery selections.
And the dining room is spectacular in terms of decor and ocean views.
Great place to be pampered, even if you are a dog!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get an ocean view room in the lodge. The sunset is better than any movie on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is always great to hear from our regular guests. I am delighted that your dog had a great time too, I hope you realize that your dog will now expect to come on every visit to the Lodge!

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Near Tofino, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.