We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Pacific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Lodge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Long Beach Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Long Beach Lodge Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Near Tofino, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tuesdays are Freedays
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise on Pacific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fabulous place! Long Beach Lodge offers amazing ocean front views from lovely rooms.
Truly one of the best places we have stayed!
We had long walks along the ocean that was right out the front door, but we could also enjoy the ocean view from our balcony. Also, enjoyed a relaxing supper, again enjoying the beautiful scenery from our view from our table. The salmon was incredibly delicious!
This was our second stay here and we long to return. Truly paradise!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting us from Regina. I am happy you enjoyed your holiday. Cox Bay is rated as one of the most beautiful beaches in North America. We will look forward to welcoming you back, next time you are on the West Coast.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    197
    64
    39
    13
See reviews for
341
748
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent a weekend in March in one of the cottages with our dog. I was impressed with how dog-friendly the cottages were including a doggie bed, towels and dishes. There was even a letter welcoming our dog by name along with some biscuits. He also mooched some biscuits from the front desk staff. The beach just behind the hotel was great for walks with our dog especially at low tide. There was an outdoor area to rinse the sand off of him before heading back into the hotel.

The cottage itself was very nice with all the comforts including some nice toiletries by Judith Jackson Spa. Breakfast was included and quite basic. We ended up ordering some hot food to go with the breakfast which was quite tasty and reasonably priced. The fitness room was small but since my husband and I were the only ones using it when we were there, it was fine. The resort is a short drive from Tofino so it is conveniently located. The last time we visited the area, we stayed in Ucluelet and this was a much better location. We had some great meatball subs in Tofino at Tony's.

Overall, it exceeded our expectations and we would definitely stay here again with our dog!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Manager at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you had a great visit and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We have over doubled our pet friendly rooms and cottages, the last few years, as dogs enjoy visiting so much. Their favourite activity is playing on the beach!

We look forward to welcoming you back as a return guest.

A NOTE TO ALL OUR GUESTS WHO COMMENT ON TRIP ADVISOR.

It is estimated that 80% of travellers now go to Trip Advisor, before selecting a place to stay when planning a vacation.

We really appreciate all our guests, who take the time to write such positive reviews, after a visit. Our mission is to always try to exceed the expectations of our valved guests and it makes it all worth while, when we succeed.

If you, as a guest, have any suggestions as to what we could do to further improve our service or resort, please contact me directly at lblr@shaw.ca. A number of improvements, though the years, has come from guest suggestions.

Thank you.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Long Beach Lodge Resort is a beautiful property in a great location. There's really no need to even go into Tofino itself and everything's at the lodge. The dinner menu is great and the staff very knowledgeabe and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you choosing to stay at our resort.

We hope to see you again soon.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Every time we come and we have been coming for a long long time we wonder if the magic will still be there. Perfect location, fantastic restaurant, tremendous facility - surfing, water tours etc. Of course the staff help make it what it is and new management including a new exec chef are doing their utmost to carry forward a tradition of welcome, excellence and an atmosphere that enables adventure or just chilling. Food outstanding, views unparalleled - having time to dream and chill over great wine during a soggy week PRICELESS. You have to experience it - Soon!!!

Room Tip: Try the third floor Ocean Front Deluxe but not directly over the restaurant !! Breakfast is always a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for another great review. I am delighted you had a good visit, sorry that we couldn't do anything about the weather!

I truly believe that we now have the best management team, we have ever had, including our new Chef Ian Riddick . We are constantly looking to ways to improve our guest experience. We love what we do!

Thank you for your continued support, it is greatly appreciated.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed there for a weekend in one of their cabins and truly loved it! Cabin was nicely decorated and fully equipped. Having a private outside hottub was a real bonus. We only ate breakfast there but that was superb both days. Service was reasonable and the view is spectacular. Only negative was the dismal WIFI in both the lodge and the cabins. Just don'r count on getting or staying connected.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your cottage.

With regard to the WIFI, it has been difficult to provide the same standard of service , as we have come to expect in a urban area, in such a remote place as Tofino. We have recently switched to a satellite provider and are working to fine tune the service. If a guest is experiencing any difficulty, guest services can assist.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went there to celebrate my in-laws 50th Wedding Anniversary and brought home some wonderful memories.I'll start by saying that they sure do know how to cater to all, including pets.We were happy to be able to bring our dog and were extremely happy that they do not discriminate against breed or size as ours is a Rottweiler.We were given a Standard suite as it is ground floor with easy access to the beach for the dogs.The view was breath taking from the suite and you could hear the waves rolling with the door open.They had a lovely letter addressed to our girl ,Angel, reminding her to make sure her parents followed the rules and remembered the doggie bags for clean up.The letter was held down with a milk-bone in each corner and her nose knew it..lol..They had a VIP card to hang on the door when she was left inside alone,uncrated at that,so the staff would know there was a Very Important Pet inside.They also had a blanket,2 stainless steel bowls and 2 towels rolled up in front of the fireplace upon arrival.Wow is all I can say with the way they treat pets..

Now for the humans.
We had the chance to see all available accommodations as we had Standard suite,In-laws had a Rainforest Cabin and brother & wife had Ocean view suite on 3rd floor.The cabin (#1) was a short distance from the concierge and dining room and was very cozy.It had a king size bed on the main floor with a shower and super soaker tub.Living room had a comfortable sofa and arm chair with a large screen TV and a kitchen table w/4 chairs and a built in bench.Sat 6 of us with lots of room.Had a full kitchen with everything you would need to stay and cook.Upstairs was 2 double beds and a washroom also.Outside on the back private patio was a Jacuzzi tub that could have sat 6 but I had all to myself as it was raining like crazy.Ocean view room was on the 3rd floor looking out to the waves and had 2 wooden chairs to wave watch on the patio.King size bed with a separate shower and soaker tub also.Between the room and bath was wooden blinds that could be opened to see in/out of.Standard room also had these features..Each room also had a flat screen TV,and radio alarm clock that we were able to put our cell phone into to play our own music and it was nice sound that came from it.Also had a coffee maker with a variety of teas as well and fresh cream in the fridge.Hanging in the closet was 2 big umbrellas along with 2 Gortex jackets to use during your stay..Had a combination safe.iron and board in closet as well..

The restaurant..included with the stay was a continental breakfast with a variety of food.Cereal,oatmeal,biscuits,yogurt,fresh fruit,toast,PB & J,muffins,juice,milk,coffee/tea and much more.Also avail at an extra cost was a breakfast menu with bacon,eggs,omelets etc.They had a lunch menu but I cannot comment on that as we did not do lunch there.For dinner there was a great selection to chose from steak,rib pountine,spinach dip,fish and chips,burgers and much more..The prices were rather expensive but that is to be expected from a resort such as this as the food was exceptional.Compliments to Chef Ian,who I understand is a new addition to the resort,and they definitely would be wise keeping him as his presentation was impressive as was his food to the palate.Chef Ian went out of his way to make a special dessert plate for my in-laws and personally came out to serve it to them and explain what was on it and wish them a Happy Golden Anniversary.It had chocolate cheesecake,shaved chocolate in a tube form filled with banana mouse topped with raspberries,blueberry,pear,strawberries on the side and a heart with an arrow through it around it all (see picture).He went above and beyond to make sure they had a 'special' memory to take home.THANK-YOU Chef Ian from the bottom of my heart.Clothing in the dining area was casual as they cater to surfers and storm watchers so no need to change clothes and get rid of the Gortex and surf gear to have a meal..
They had a Surf club on site which has a nice souvenir shop you go through to get to the outdoor co-ed Jacuzzi and sauna.Women's change room has lockers free for use with keys and a plentiful supply of towels so you do not need to bring them from the room.It has a well equipped gym upstairs and that too is included in your stay.There is also a souvenir shop in the lobby to purchase items as well as the body lotions and supplies left in your bathroom should you enjoy them as I did.

They also have a hall to rent for weddings and we were fortunate to see one taking place during our stay.The vow exchange was held in the dining area in front of the ocean view windows and was beautiful.The beach was perfect for pictures and the rain managed to let up for the bride and groom long enough for them to get their pictures taken with her in red rubber boots and all...lol...Congratulations to the Bride & Groom..(Crystal)

Sorry if this review is long but I wanted to cover everything as to share my fantastic weekend at this Resort.The hospitality and staff make me want to go back and real soon..Exceptional stay..Thank-you Long Beach Lodge Resort!!

Room Tip: Rain forest cabins do not have view of ocean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for such a thorough review, it will be very helpful to future guests.

I am glad that Angle enjoyed her stay as well. I hope you will visit again soon. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Lodge.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I finally, finally, finally got to stay overnight at Long Beach Lodge Resort! So stoked!! The best part is that they are offering a "solo traveller" deal, in which it's 40% off. I booked via the phone and talked to a very nice girl who really helped me out, answered all my questions, and hooked me up with a room, with a fireplace and a "partial view".

When I got into the room, I was in aww. The "partial view" was amazing, so good that I slept with patio door slighty open so I could hear the ocean. The fireplace is cozy, with two comy chairs, and a wee table stacked with lots of reading. A huge flat screen tv, and a very comfortable king size bed with pillows that were so good!

Also, a soaker tub with jets, to greet you after a cold day in the surf. So good. And the best part..everywhere you went you were acknowledged by the staff, any staff, whether it be the gardeners, the window washer, the front desk..they all were so friendly, and said hello. It made it such a warm place to stay!

I was also offered a complimentry breakfast, which was a selection of fresh fruit, croissants, pasteries and tea/coffee and cereal. The staff, again were extremely helpful and friendly. The views as well, you can chose any seat in the hall, and if your lucky you can sit by the fireplace and watch the surfers outside.

Thank you for doing the deal for solo travellers, as so many times the specials are based on dbl occupancy, and there never is a break for those travelling alone.

Room Tip: go for the "partial view" as it's a little cheaper, and the view is nothing near "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
You are most welcome, thank you for such a positive review.

I have always felt that single travellers were not getting a fair deal. We have had a great response to this offer, after initiating it this winter. I believe that the Lodge, with its "home like" feel, is a wonderful place for single travellers to visit.

With our new chef in place, we are now able to offer room service, which is great for singles who would rather dine in their room.

We look forward to welcoming you as a return guest.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Near Tofino, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.