We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Lodge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Long Beach Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Long Beach Lodge Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Near Tofino, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Friday Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Beautiful Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went here for a three day getaway. Flew into Victoria and rented a car for the 4.5 hour drive (easy and beautiful) to Tofino. We got a double room with a seaview and balcony. The hotel is located right on the beach so you get great sunsets (if it isn't clouded over) and the entertainment of watching the crazy surfers in mid winter tackle the waves crashing on the beach. The room was very clean, nicely furnished and mostly quiet (although twice we did get a significant amount of running water noise from an adjacent room). The balcony had two chairs for sitting outside , which we did on a sunny day. The gas fireplace makes the room all tghe more cozier - you'll need it in the winter after a hike, walk on the beach or , if you are insane, surfing. Actually watching the surfers was good fun.

The restaurant is excellent although expensive - we had dinner twice and three breakfasts. Continental breakfasts were included and you can supplement these for a few dollars more with hot dishes. The one complaint I have is that a hot tub is advertsied, as part of the surfing club. Well, it is available, but located about 100 meters away across the parking lot from the hotel - not exactly convenient or well situated for views. We did not use it because of the location - however the two person tub in the room was a nice alternative. We had room 213 which is a pretty good room. The best rooms are probably on the third floor over the restaurant because of the views. Be careful that you do not get a room right next to the restaurant on the second floor because my guess is that it will be noisy and it will definitely have a restricted view because the restaurant extends out, thus blocking part of the view.

There are a number of good restaurants in Tofino and a great little pizza spot in Ucelulet. The hotel is next to the Pacific Rim National Park (and UNESCO Biosphere) and has a number of great hiking trails and great beaches. Our Canadian neighbors do a great job with their parks and should be commended. They have their priorities right in this area.

Room Tip: We had room 213 which is a pretty good double room with a sea view and a balcony. The best rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We had considered a hot tub in front of the hotel but were concerned it could distract from the peaceful enjoyment and natural setting of the beachfront hotel rooms.
Friday Harbour is a favorite place for us, we often visit in the summer on our yacht, Flying Colours.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    212
    68
    39
    13
See reviews for
355
798
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The sights and sounds of the ocean right outside the door, the smell of fresh baking in kitchen and wonderful melt in your mouth meals, the very courteous and friendly staff, the comforts of the Great Room with the big overstuffed furniture and large stone fireplace... Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review. We will look forward to your next visit as a return guest.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I have posted other great reviews of this location. It's definitely a 5 star. However I was very surprised to find that the new gift shop has no food/snack items. This is unheard of in resorts and hotels. No vending machines, no fruit bowl, no local granola bars. Literally no food, unless you want to sit in the restaurant. Very tricky between meals, and with small children and teens who needs snacks. I wish we would have known to bring our own food. It seems like very common practice to stock something for guests to take for hikes in other resorts we've stayed at. Disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and your concerns around food service, this is something that we are working on to improve.
We are in the process of stocking the new gift shop with some food items, bars etc. We did not know initially what the demand would be. It is difficult to find companies that will supply vending machines in such a remote location. The last company we worked with have recently gone out of business.
With our new Chef, we are going to be providing take out lunches and snacks for our hotel guests who wish to be away from the hotel enjoying activities during the day.
I am concerned that you found the staff to be unfriendly, this is not a common experience at the Lodge.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Loved loved loved Long Beach Lodge Reort. We stayed in one of the cabins last May for just one night (time restrictions) and want to go back and staylonger. Loved the coziness of the cabin as well as how clean it was - inside and out. First time in BC for me and can't wait to go back and stay longer. Food in the main lodge was amazing and everyone was so friendly. The beach was awesome and loved climbing the rocks - made me feel like I was 6 again.

Room Tip: Book a cabin...it's like home away from home. So beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, I hope you get to visit again as a return guest. With all to do and see, one night is never long enough. We are excited that the launch date for our new Marine Adventure boat is now with in a month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed three nights in a cabin. Very nice and well appointed. Having your own personal hot tub to jump into after exploring the beaches is fabulous. Good pet friendly place to stay. We didn't dine on sight but went into town to explore the many local, awesome places to eat and grab treats. I don't think you can go wrong staying at the LBLR.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive response, we are doing some upgrading in the cottages this string, to make them even more special.
While you said you did not dine in the Dining room, I am hoping you enjoyed our hand crafted continental buffet breakfast , included in your room rate.
Next visit I would reccommend that you try our our dining experience, there is a wonderful variety of fresh and local food, served in the most beautiful setting on the West Coast.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our second visit to the Long Beach Lodge Resort and about our 10th visit to Tofino in the last twenty years. It was a short, 3 night break as part of a winter get-a-way to Vancouver Island. We had an ocean view room with a fire place and a balcony and it was exactly what we wanted. While it was busy on the Sunday we checked in ( it was the first Family Day long weekedn holiday in BC) thing got a lot quieter as people headed home on Monday.

The highlights of the visit were;
- The booking process worked really well as we had booked one day and then found that the Resort had offered a new promo rate the next day and they were more than willing to give us the new rate when we called (without penalty).
- the staff was very good, being both friendly and helpful and not afraid to engage in a conversation. They were a high point.
- the hotel is about 13 years old and in a couple of subtle ways is showing its age. Furniture was a little warn in the great room. Nothing serious but attention will be needed soon.
- The continental breakfast is very good and adds to the value of the stay.
- The other food and beverage offerings are ok but very expensive. $30+ for a pan seared salmon is a little on the high side, especially if the salmoon is raw on the inside. One afternoon we stoped by for a glass of wine and a cheese plate as a snack and we left with a bill for $72 - this was on the wrong side of the value curve!
- The Great Room is still the highlight of the common areas and is a wonderful place to while a way a couple of hours.
- The beach at Cox Bay is a great place to walk off breakfast. The sun down on the beach can be spectacular if the clouds take a break. Watching the dogs play and new surfers hard at their lessons made the beach strolls even more enjoyable!

A great place to spend a few winter days by the ocean - and not have to worry about sun burns!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your return visit to the Lodge. We are very proud of our staff and the service they so willingly provide.
The Lodge is now going into it's 11th year of service. None of the Great Room furniture, you refer to has been in service over 6 years. Furniture is public spaces take a huge amount of wear. We are again replacing a lot of furniture this spring, not that it is worn, but because we wish to change the colour scheme, to introduce some more warner colours.
I hope you will enjoy the changes.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our fifth stay at this property. We have stayed at three others in town and this is by far our favourite. Rooms are nicely done, not quite as nice as the rooms at the Wick but are much better value. It is worth it to try for a partial or ocean view so you can see, smell and hear the waves. The great room is really what makes it for us. A cozy but elegant space to watch everything going on outside in comfort. It is really worth while to have a restaurant on the property if you get so cozy you don't feel like driving into Tofino for dinner you are set. Every meal we have had has been excellent. Staff are wonderful too. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for partial ocean view or ocean view room. For families the cottages are a great set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review and for being one of our valved regular guests. We strive everyday to be constantely excellent, we work with staff on this all the time. it is not good enough for our guests to be good just most days!
I am happy that you enjoy the restaurant and the service. I am not sure that all new guests realize the variety of menu choices offered.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Near Tofino, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.