We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Stay on the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Lodge Resort

Save Saved
You added Long Beach Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Long Beach Lodge Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Near Tofino, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3 Great Deals at LBLR
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Tofino
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cozy Stay on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Long Beach Lodge over Remembrance Day. We booked a room in the lodge with a partial ocean view and were happy with the view that we received for the price point.

The room was spacious and we enjoyed playing a games (pick them up at the front desk) in front of the fire before leaving for dinner. We did have a fridge; however, it wasn’t a stocked mini-bar. That being said, the room service was quick to bring us wine.

The bed was comfortable. The towels and the robes were a bit worn but the hotel did apologize for this when it was pointed out. The jetted bathtub was a fantastic way to end a long day. There’s also a hot tub available. We had the whole thing to ourselves – probably because it was a rainy evening and it’s a short outdoor walk to get there. If you make it, the trees do provide some cover so it’s a nice place to bring a drink and relax.

The access to the beach was fantastic, and some rain gear is provided in case you need it. It’s the perfect location for a walk and for surfing. If you don’t like to surf you can also camp out in the Great Room and watch the surfers with a glass of wine.

The food at the restaurant was good and the service was excellent.

Overall, it was a very cozy, laid back place to relax on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am happy that you both enjoyed your visit. I hope you were at the Lodge on the Saturday, it felt like summer on the beach!
I apologize that the towels and robes, looked a little worn. I too had noticed that some were not up to our standards, and had mentioned it to the housekeeping department. I am happy to report that we have now received a large order of new robes and towels.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    893
    157
    51
    36
    13
See reviews for
281
625
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Long beach lodge has been our favorite destination for awhile now, it's 5 star all the way. The service is beyond, the staff are so pleasant, everyone smiles at you and offers to help in some way. We went for 3 nights and can't say more about the place. The cost of the restaruant is reasonable. For breakfast there is a free continental and you can add 2 items for $8.00 (eggs, bacon, sausage, etc....). Everyday there is a special; ie; soup, pizza. I had the pizza 2 days in a row. I just loved the thin crust. The service was fast and the scenery from the great room is so relaxing. We have been to a lot of resorts and this one is at the top for everything. There are a few bad reviews.. not many but don't let that deter you from booking at the long beach lodge. You won't be disappointed. Trust me I have writen a few bad reviews of other places because they were bad, this one.... TRUST ME! It's the best place in Canada... for us!

Room Tip: The cottages are great for a couple or family, quiet, cozy and very clean. One visit we stayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for such a nice rewiew. It is reviews like yours that really make it all worthwhile for both myself and our staff. We are always striving to make the guest experience even better. I hope you will be back soon to visit us.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delta, bc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have a great time at this resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was awesome, fresh muffin, loaf's, fruit, not your normal fair that is for sure and watching the surfer's while eating was great entertainment. Snack and Dinner in the great room was very good as well with the roaring fire to top it off. We stayed in the ocean view room which was great, beds very comfortable. The beach was a nice walk, and the best waves on the pacific rim in my opinion. We will be going back for sure!!!!!

Room Tip: The cottages look nice but not on the water, the water front rooms are excellant to watch the waves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We try to select employees that have a very positive attitude, so it is always nice when our staff are mentioned.
We had some great storm watching last week , the Lodge is a good place to witness what nature can throw at us! Cox Bay is open to the Pacific, there are no islands to block a raging storm, we therefore get the biggest waves in Tofino on our beach.
We will look forward to your next visit as a return guest.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The location is good, the room we stayed in was good, the food was okay but very expensive. The service at the resort is far too slow and there is a certain level of haughty arrogance in the dining room upstairs. We have come here on a number of occasions for a variety of reasons. One reason is that the resort pet friendly. They are a little cute about their pet friendliness. The beach makes if fun for a dog.

As a word of caution, visitors making the 5 + hour trek from the mainland have to understand that the prices for meals at the Long Beach Resort are very over the top expensive.

As an example, a small bowl of clam chowder will cost you 16 dollars (not including tip) and 22 dollars (including tip) will get you a okay tasting medium sized Cobb salad. The small little salad was not worth 22 dollars no matter how much it costs to send a head of lettuce and eggs to Tofino from Nanaimo and beyond.

As alluded to above, weary tourists should be aware of the long trecherous drive it is to get to the other side of Vancouver island and the slow expensive service is at the Long Beach Resort. Be prepared to have your wallet and purses significantly lightened as it is very expensive on this side of the island.

And having said all of that, despite the long treacherous drive, the slow service and the expensive food, and the noticiable snottiness, we may still come back to Long Beach. All in all the lodge is okay but the potential is there for it to be much much better. The cleaning staff are very kind.

As a tip to weary travellers, to get a good sense of the various places we are interested in visiting we always go to go to Trip Advisor and then sort the reviews, reading the bad reviews first. We find the bad reviews more revealing and more insightful. We would recommend this for any place listed in Trip Advisor, including the Long Beach Resort.

In closing, as repeat customers, we are still waiting for this resort to find itself fully and achieve consistent greatness so we may actually try it again, or maybe not and a lot will depend on what the reviews have to say in Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this resort last week and what an incredible place to stay. We had one of their oversized two level cabins complete with a living and dining area and we really did not want to leave the suite. Fortunately, however, their main dining room features one of the most spectacular views to their private sandy beach and the ocean beyond. You are literally on the beach when the tide is in and we enjoyed watching the surfers in the water, performing their acrobatics. This grand room is nothing less than beautiful and we enjoyed having both dinner and then breakfast the following morning. Having dined in this restaurant before, we knew what to expect and were not disappointed. They do an excellent job with both the menu and with the service. We wanted to see Long Beach at this time of year and it was rather nice to be within a 10 minute drive from this property. It is the closest resort to Pacific Rim National Park.

Room Tip: I recommend the cabins when staying here as they have all amenities including one's own hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review. I hope we can welcome you back as return guests, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a wonderful stay over the long weekend at the Long Beach Lodge. We stayed in a standard room and it was lovely. The staff were very nice and helpful. We had complimentary breakfast included and that was an amazing breakfast, lot's of options. Though, I'm not one to usually complain in a restaurant, as I work in the hospitality industry and I dont like to be bothersome I have to comment on our dinner at the hotel's restaurant. We were unsure of where to eat our first night in Tofino and we saw that the restaurant had good reviews so we tried to make a reservation and we could only get one at 8:30pm, We had been traveling all day and were hungry but decided to wait it out since if it was that busy it must be worth the wait. When we finally got to eat we had a nice table, our server was very nice but the food quality for the price was very over-rated. My boyfriend ordered the rib eye steak, which came as two smaller steaks to equal the one 8oz that he ordered off the menu. It was drenched in oil, made him feel very sick after. I ordered the ravioli pasta, $25 for 5 ravioli which were not filled with anything. Seemed like all the filling fell out while they were cooking. We just found that the price for the "quality" of the food was terrible. Our overall stay without this restaurant experience was great, very clean room, wonderful bathroom with deep tub and great hotel staff, I would just dine in town rather than at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your feed back. I am happy that your enjoyed the hotel and your room, that you felt very positive about our staff and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.
I am sorry that your dinner experience was not so positive. I have asked the F and B manager to talk to the kitchen crew and to follow up with me. Usually our food gets great reviews.
Tofino was extremely busy all week end, we haven't seen so many people since the busiest days in August! Waits for restaurants in town were up to two hours! We always recommend that you make a dinner reservation when booking a room., so that you can dine at the time you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was a brilliant short stay holiday... the Lodge is like the home one always wanted... in an idyllic location with that amazing ocean always there ...always changing... always beautiful ...the staff are warm, friendly and interesting ... and again... always ready to help make everything perfect... We needed to unwind after a hectic work schedule; and the Long Beach lodge is the perfect Haven of peace that gives space to renew and re-find the joys of life...We began every morning with a walk along the beach remarking on the surf that day... weather was just another element in the scenario and if it rained or was blustery we simply donned the raincoats the Lodge provided and strode off into the West coast wind and spray laughing above the roar of the waves... then into the great room for breakfast and the wonderful coffee ... always the fire lit in the huge stone fireplace ... and the windows surrounding showing the length of the beach we had just traversed ... sometimes we simply stayed there in the great room and watched the surfers out the windows... we took to having a game of scrabble with our second coffee...it was something we had not done in years... it was such simple fun... no stress ... no decisions... except should we go and have a hot tub or sauna before lunch ... or simply read by the fire in our room... It seems so seldom in these times that we can simplify to the point of relaxing and being... in the moment with nature... the waves the wind, and ourselves, being nourished and refreshed.... I just got home from there and am a little giddy still from the effects of the place...and am wondering when we can return..... The only negative was having to leave.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe Beach View room, but they are all beautifully appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Near Tofino, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#3 Business Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.