We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Black Bear Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Bear Guesthouse
926 Black Bear Lane, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 47 Tofino B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Great place, and very knowledgable, friendly, accomodating hosts (Bobbi and Jay) who made us feel right at home for 4 nights in the private suite. Short walk to Chesterman, short drive to town, pretty view of the inlet the main house sits on. If you are staying in the suite and preparing your own meals, I'd suggest calling ahead to see what if any sort of staples are stashed in the cupboards (e.g., coffee, salt, pepper, etc.) as you might be able to save a couple of bucks on groceries. All in all it was an excellent experience that we'd do again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Beautiful place with amazing people. Highly recommend this little oasis just steps away form Chesterman beach and great surf.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

A beautiful brand new house on a stunning piece of land over looking quiet inlet with forests surrounding. Perfectly placed to access Tofino and beaches. Cozy beds, large bath with huge soaker tub, dead quiet at night. Bobby is a superb gourmet cook, made a special vegan requested breakfast for me that was the best I have ever had and I am not joking..amazing!! Beautifully presented, will try to include a picture. Wonderful people with a B&B that worth the trip on its own.

Room Tip: "Inlet" room is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks for the great review, was so nice having you and your family at our place... And a pleasure testing out my gourmet oatmeal recipe on you. Hope to welcome you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A friend and I decided to vacation in Tofino for 4 days and we found this B&B on the airbnb web site. When I first viewed the pictures, I figured that they were professionally shot and staged, but I was wrong! When we arrived and walked into the guesthouse, I was blown away - the house is gorgeous. Rustic look with a warm atmosphere, and all the top amenities you could want. And the view of the inlet......stunning is all I can say. Bobbi and Jay (the owners) are wonderful people - they really make you feel like you're welcomed in their home. They will do just about anything to make sure that you have a wonderful experience. The breakfast was healthy and always very tasty. And they have a fire pit that they kept going for us every night.

Jay is a tour guide in town and one day brought us on a private bear watching tour since there were no other people signed up -and we saw 10 bears and cubs! They both have great connections to restaurants and other businesses in town, so we really felt like we had an 'in' when booking our fun activities.

The guesthouse is located just across the street from Chesterman Beach, and they have an outdoor shower in case you want to wash off before coming back into the house (especially if you're surfing!).

I would highly recommend staying here on your next trip to Tofino!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Hi ladies, thanks so much for being such amazing guests and come back again soon!! It was such a pleasure having you at our Guesthouse and we appreciate the awesome review.
All the best,
Bobbi & Jay & Auley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ronge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I called the B&B on a recommendation from another hotel as they were all full and got Bobbi on the other end of the phone. Right from the beginning she was willing to spend the extra minute to make sure you were getting what you wanted out of your trip. Jay hooked us up very short notice with some surf boards and made sure that we got to the bus on time to make our way home. The rooms are so gorgeous, the house is clean and has a beautiful view. They are some of the nicest people you could hope to meet out there. Thanks guys for an amazing home away from home.
P.s. Bobbi's Eggs Benny are the best I've ever had! See you guys again when you get the hot tub in!

Room Tip: The Osprey Room has a king size bed and a view that will knock your socks off. Best pillows I've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Hi Larissa and Jakobi, thanks for such a lovely review was great having you guys stay with us and so glad you had an awesome time!! Se you again when that hot tub arrives!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Four of us were looking for a place to stay in Tofino short notice on May long weekend. I found the Black Bear B&B online and sent a quick email to check if they could accommodate for one night. Ten minutes later I received a call from Bobbi and it happened that they had one night available. Normally they book for 2-3 night minimums, but just ask and they might have a spot for one night. I have stayed at many different places in Tofino and Ucluelet, but this was easily my favorite:

Location: Right across from Chesterman beach means put your wet-suit on in their hot outdoor shower (they have very nice indoor showers too) and walk 4 minutes and you're in the water

Price: Rates are extremely reasonable for what you get. Check them out for any time of year as storm season rates are great.

Setting: Amazing location on Clayoquot sound. Great views of the ocean rain or shine.

Accommodations: Very clean and comfortable. The guest house is only a year or so old, and all of the amenities are new. A great mix of modern with warm and inviting wood construction.

Hosts: Bobbi and Jay were fantastic hosts. Very easy going and seem genuinely happy to have you stay with them. Bobbi was very welcoming making it feel like our home. She made us a wonderful breakfast and gave us lots of great tips on places to check out for local cuisine. Jay has been living in Tofino for over 17 years; he can tell you just about anything you want to know about the area. Ask him about anything from where to surf, to that little tree sitting on the property over there.

Definitely recommend you stay here. www.tofinoguesthouse.com The photos on the site are actual ones that Jay has taken while out guiding.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. They also have a self contained suite that is off to the side and can be rente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thanks for stumbling upon us, was great meeting the 4 of you and we hope you 'stumble' upon us again in the future!

Bobbi, Jay and Auley - the eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful setting and home.Great service and conversation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Guesthouse

Address: 926 Black Bear Lane, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Bear Guesthouse, a brand new Westcoast designed home, overlooking the beautiful calm waters of Clayoquot Sound. The Inlet is a protected wildlife sanctuary with river otters, bald eagles, osprey, harbour seals and if you’re lucky you’ll spot a local grey wolf. Come experience the tranquility of the Inlet andstunning views. Whether you’re here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, Black Bear Guesthouse is your home away from home. We have 3 guestrooms and offer a hot or fresh baked breakfast every morning to start your day. We are within a few minutes walking distance to popular Chesterman Beach with its long sandy shoreline and great surfing. The town of Tofino with all its amenities, restaurants and boutique galleries is only a 5 minute drive down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Bear Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.