We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fishing Adventure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tonquin Fishing Charters

Tonquin Fishing Charters
335 Lone Cone Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
+1 250-725-3184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 Nature & Parks in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tonquin fishing charters wants to offer you an experience of a life time, here in Tofino BC on Vancouver Island's west coast providing some of the worlds best salmon/halibut fishing charters. Our trips are all privately guided to ensure the best time possible with Tonquin fishing charters. You can enjoy a private trip to Hot Springs cove with prawn and crab fishing on the way home! Plan your charter to fit your needs, We welcome kids on board to experience a fishing experience they will never forget!Born and raised here in Tofino BC, Owner/Operator John Nikiforuk grew up fishing off the local docks of Tofino catching bull heads, snagging crabs, and of course winning the legion derby for biggest bull head! Later in his teenage years he was lucky enough to have an older brother with a boat, they would fish every chance they had! John gives the upper hand with his knowledge and years of experience working on his families commercial Prawn and Tuna boat. Now as a Tug boat captain since 2006 and a sport fishing guide since 2007, here in the local west coast waters Johns marine experience is second to none.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic Fishing Adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our second fishing trip with Tonquin Fishing Charters and it was just as great as the first! Captain John took me and three others of our party out on a great morning of fishing offshore for halibut & salmon. He knows were to go and how to catch them. Very pleasant and patient with us, giving helpful tips on landing them when required. I would recommend John & Tonquin Fishing Charters to anyone looking for a great time fishing. When we make our way out to the Tofino area again, we will definitely be making our third fishing charter with them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john N, Owner at Tonquin Fishing Charters, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank for your repeat business and the great review! I'm sure you guys are enjoying the fish and telling fishing tales. We will see you on the next adventure on the MEGA BITE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks, Canada
1 review
“MEGA BITE - Fish on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Captain John, the finest guide I have had in my numerous fishing experiences. Ready to go, with lines rigged up we set out 2 adults and 2 young lads. John's enthusiasm, integrity and wit are genuine. He knows the waters and knows how to cater to his customer. His attention to detail (left hand on hook of persuader) when operating at sea with young children made you feel very safe. Most importantly "fish on!".Capped it off with a bucket of Dungeness Crab! Do not miss out on this opportunity....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john N, Owner at Tonquin Fishing Charters, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks for the review. Another great day on the west coast of Tofino fishing for halibut, salmon and of coarse dungeness crab! "My favourite" Till next time and keep in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

John and Tonquin Fishing Charters provided me and three other family members with a great day of fishing. He knew the waters, was professional and enthusiastic in his approach and personalized the day to fit our needs. Thank you, John, for a great trip!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john N, Owner at Tonquin Fishing Charters, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Awesome day! Good times, lots of laughs and great fishing another awesome adventure with Tonquin Fishing Charters! Hope to see you guys again till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family experience and excellent guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My 11 year old son and I and a friend and his son went fishing with Johnny on August 11th for a half day. Johnny got us setup and fishing and were catching fish left right and center. My son says he will remember this trip forever and it was the best day of his life.

We only had a half day and Capt John made the most of it giving all of us a great day of fishing. His boat is great and he is definitely knowledgeable about the area.

I am planning a return trip next year for sure where we can go out for a full day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john N, Owner at Tonquin Fishing Charters, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Great trip guys ... It turned out well for us and cant wait to do it again all day long. Till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WOW - AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

John was an amazing guide. We had a triple header just as we got the lines in. Non stop action from then on. He knew the spots for the various species plus provided tips in landing and reeling in the fish. Truly made the fish charter enjoyable and memorable. Best guide by far. We are already planning our next trip with Tonquin Charters.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john N, Owner at Tonquin Fishing Charters, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Great review thanks! We definentley landed on them, its nice when that happens. Keep in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonquin Fishing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Tonquin Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonquin Fishing Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.