We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I opened the door and the first thing I said was, "Sweet!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilp Gybuu (Wolf House) Bed & Breakfast

Wilp Gybuu (Wolf House) Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilp Gybuu (Wolf House) Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Wilp Gybuu (Wolf House) Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
311 Leighton Way, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 46 Tofino B&B and Inns
Port Coquitlam, BC
1 review
“I opened the door and the first thing I said was, "Sweet!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Wilp Gybuu surely was sweet! My partner and I stayed for two nights at this beautiful B&B. Wendy did an excellent job of looking after all 3 couples who stayed over the Easter Weekend ensuring our comfort. During breakfast on the first day, she put chocolate Easter eggs under our cups, and when we picked them up we were all pleasantly surprised! The rooms are warm and charming (we stayed in the Alder room with twin beds), with a real gas fireplace - a saving grace for us because when the power went out for awhile, we were cozy and comfortable on a cool and wet April night. The B&B is off Main Street which makes the neighbourhood quiet, away from traffic and pedestrians but close enough to walk to almost everything in the town of Tofino. Wilp Gybuu was truly a wonderful weekend getaway B&B and we will be back some time soon! Don't forget to sign the guest book in your room! Thank you Wendy and Gino (the cat)!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I had read so many fine reviews and these combined with the fact that a twin room was available(rare in a b&B) prompted my calling to reserve. First impressions/ parking in front of our room/ spacious area with fireplace, night light in the bathroom/ an abundance of reading material/ tea and cookies in the lounge/ Gino the cat at the top of the stairs/ view from the breakfast table/ knowledgable suggestions of the area, warm conversation/ background jazz playing and last but not least, inovative recipes with stylish presentation.
We have seen all of Vancouver Island many times and had Tofino on our list. Wendy made our 2 night stay there perfectly memorable.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Thank you for a wonderful stay at your B&B, I had a great time, excellant breakfast and the company was by far beyond hospitality, I will be back in the near future and look forward to seeing you again.

Peggie
Penticton, B.C.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed here with a couple of friends. This place was fabulous. The rooms were nicely decorated and very comfortable. Wendy and Dom were great hosts. Breakfast overlooking the ocean was delicious. I can tell you they don't charge enough for what they give. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

This is a comfortable B&B in a residential area of Tofino. By walking three short blocks, you are in the middle of Tofino's downtown.

The home is more than 20 years old, but appears to be brand new. The rooms have contemporary furnishings and are very comfortable, with a nice sitting area and a fireplace. Parking is near the room entrance.

The breakfasts are delicious and elegantly presented. And, there is a terrific harbor view from the dining room.

Great location, excellent food, comfortable rooms, and wonderful hosts. On our next Tofino trip, we won't look any further than Wilp Gybuu.

Tips:
1. Follow the website directions as our GPS tried to send us down a dead end.
2. Great dinner places within walking distance
3. The Pacific Rim Park beaches are a short drive away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

We booked our stay at Wilp Gybuu last winter on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. A few minutes walk to the harbour and restaurants and the closest beach, with a spectacular view of the water from the dining room.

Wendy's recommendations for dinner were bang on (do try Tough City Sushi ). The Salal Room was very well equipped and comfortable and the breakfast excellent.

Recommended.

  • Liked — Location, host
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

My husband and I have stayed at Wilp Gybuu four times now over the past six years. It is one of the three best B & Bs in all of North America that we have stayed in. We will keep returning. Wendy is a marvelous hostess and cooks fabulous breakfasts. The rooms are warm and cozy and she has coffee available at 7:30 for early risers. She offers to help you while in Tofino to find the best restaurants, shops, and sites to visit. The breakfast room overlooks one of the bays and is so restful. We love to kayak and hike the area and love coming back to Wilp Gybuu in the evenings to read and relax. It's a great place that we highly recommend. Gino, the cat, is available for petting as well!

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilp Gybuu (Wolf House) Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilp Gybuu (Wolf House) Bed & Breakfast

Address: 311 Leighton Way, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adult guests welcomed to our contemporary west coast cedar home. Tofino is located in the heart of Clayoquot Sound which has just been designated an UNESCO BIOSPHERE RESERVE. Watch boats travel beautiful Duffin Passage while enjoying a delicious full breakfast in the dining room. Tasteful guest rooms with fireplaces, en suite private bathrooms, twin & queen beds. A guest lounge with TV and library is available exclusively for guest use. There is also a small guest pantry stocked with complimentary hot beverages and cookies. Walk to Tonquin Beach, galleries, restaurants and tour offices. Pacific Rim National Park, with its magnificent beaches and old growth rain forest trails, is minutes away by car. Our entire property is smoke-free! Gino, the resident cat says no to pets. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilp Gybuu (Wolf House) Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.