We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Tofino
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

We stayed in August for two days at the Wickanninnish. We were not disappointed. The food was superb at the Pointe Restaurant. The view from the room was superb. The service was impeccable. The staff knew us by name. They helped us book a trip to the Hot Springs Cove for the day we checked out and when we left in the morning, they had packed five beach towels in two knapsacks for us. It cost us $520 a night for the room but the splurge was well worth the money. Grace and Robert

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The cost
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose the older building
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    458
    84
    39
    19
    10
See reviews for
75
394
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

My wife and I have been fortunate to stay at many fine properties but, this is one of the best. The location, quality of rooms and service make this property stand out!

Tofinio itself is a wonderful small town with a few nice restaurants including The Point.

  • Liked — Quality Room and Location
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

We stayed at the Wick as part of a bank-account-busting honeymoon that took in Vegas, Hawaii and Vancouver before we reached Tofino. We stayed in some pretty special hotels along the way but I think we both agree that our two nights at The Wickaninnish were unforgettable.

We flew from Vancouver Airport into Tofino with Sonic Blue Airways which was a fantastic experience on its own. Never before had we been in a plane so small. Once we landed at Tofino's tiny airstrip, we were picked up by the Hotels private shuttle service - a nice touch as this was totally unexpected. I think the Airline rang ahead and booked it for us.

We stayed in the new building on the beach which has been criticised by some people on this site - in our opinion, the fact that the view of the beach is framed by trees just added to the magic. You just felt like you were right in the rainforest. Which of course, you were...

Our room had a magnificent picture window, as did the bathroom. Seeing a Pacific coast storm create 15ft waves just metres away from our room whilst we sipped champagne in the two person bath tub was something very special. The hotel complements its surroundings and doesn't intrude on the landscape - the driftwood furniture and the natural colours all add up to create a feeling of serenity and of being at one with nature. The very essence of the area.

It was also great to be provided with your own rain gear - jacket, wellies and trousers - together with a flashlight and binoculars. (Presumably not to be used at the same time). This allowed us to make the most of the area despite the first days rainy conditions.

We had two brilliant meals at The Pointe - if you like seafood then you can't go wrong. It is pretty pricey but the quality, service, ambience and presentation is second to none.

It was an experience that will stay with us for a very long time and even though we live half a world away we are already planning when we can return.

  • Liked — Overal Ambience and location. In fact everything!
  • Disliked — Restaurant is very busy so we never got our table by the window. Minor point...
  • Tips/Secrets — Go there and relax!
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

We arrived with great expectations at The Wickininnish Inn. We expected our two night stay to be the highlight of our vacation. Our room was beautiful - in the original building, facing the water, on the 3rd floor with a clear view of the water. We knew from other TripAdivsor reviews, and from a friend, to stay in the original building, not the new building, because the view is so much better if you request the 3rd floor facing the water. The new building is set further back on the beach. Our room had the same view as the restaurant - quite spectacular. The double soaking tub with large window overlooking the waves lapping over the rocks below only added to this beautiful spot. We also had a small patio with 2 chairs and a gas fireplace.

We ate in The Point Restaurant, which is the hotel's restaurant, the night we arrived. It is located in the same building as our room, which was very convenient. We enjoyed our meal. The following morning we returned to the same restaurant for breakfast and found the service extremely slow. It took 45 minutes for our breakfast to arrive. When we inquired, our server told us the "kitchen was backed up". The following morning we purposely ordered a cold breakfast (apart from coffee and toast) and, once again, we waited 30 minutes for the order to arrive. In the meantime we noticed other guests also waiting a long time and complaining to their servers. We also observed that others were walking in with the newspaper and when we asked at the desk where we could get a paper we were told they were gone. This sounds like a small thing, but we were annoyed. Given the high cost of the room it would have been reasonable to expect that sufficient papers would be available for all guests.

Given our experience, if we returned to this area again, we would try one of the many bed and breakfasts, or another inns, located near Tofino or Ucluelet.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Slow service in restaurant for breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2006

We spent 6 nights of our honeymoon at the Wick and had a wonderful time. The hotel has 2 main buildings, the "Pointe" and the "Beach." The Pointe rooms directly overlook the ocean and have a spectacular view. The Beach rooms are located back from the rather deep Chesterman Beach and have the potential for a nice view, however there is a row of very tall trees between the building and the beach which makes the view "partial" at best. When first calling to make this reservation, I was told that the beach rooms were newer and bigger than the Pointe rooms, and that they had a "beach view" plus a "rainforest view" that was every bit as good as the Pointe. Unfortunately this was not the case. The "rainforest" was actually the obscuring row of trees. To the credit of the Customer Service at the Wick, they were extremely apologetic about the skewed room description and offered a half-off discount for one night of our next stay in any room.

Other than the view issue, all other features of the Wick are fantastic. The rooms are beautifully furnished, include a nice pair of binoculars for use, several field guides and books about the area, raincoats and a flashlight for beachcombing at night. There is a coffee bar downstairs in the Beach building, but drinks are pricey. The workout facility is tiny, but does have a treadmill, stairclimber, light free weights and complimentary bottled water. The Pointe restaurant is very pricey and we had better meals elsewhere in town (loved Tough City Sushi Bar -- best value), but the service at the Pointe was excellent.

We would definately stay at the Wick again (once our pocketbooks have recovered), but only in a room in the Pointe building, and only for a very special occasion. We checked out a few other hotels while in Tofino, like the Middle Beach Lodge, and they looked just as great, with excellent views, for a lower price.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2006

As they say in and around Boston, the Wickaninnish Inn is "Wick"ed Awesome! My wife and I just returned from a 6 night stay at the Wick and could not have been more delighted with our stay. We stayed in one of the premier king rooms (Room 209) of which there are 3 at the inn (109, 209 and 309). The views were unbeleievable. Unlike most rooms which appear to only have two large windows facing in one direction, we had several sets of windows facing two directions so we were able to get the full benefit of the Inn's amazing location. Everytime we told a member of the staff what room we were in they would also respond with a knowingly nod when we told them we were in Room 209. To the extent it is available, I would highly recommend one of these three rooms. The rooms look exactly like they do on the web page and are immacualtely clean. The beds are very comfortable as are the chairs. All of the bedding and linens are Frette and the toiletries are Aveda. There is twice daily maid service and they do a very nice job maintaining the room. One thing that I did not see advertised but that was a pleasant suprise is that each room is equipped with complimentary high speed internet access. Although the point of staying here is to get away from it all, this was nevertheless much appreciated. I should mention, however, that the hotel offers two work stations (one in the Pointe Building and one in the Beach Building) where guests can log on and print anything one likes. The spa is located on the first floor and while small is excellent. My wife and I both enjoyed a couple of treatments and were impressed by the service. My wife also took the group yoga class every morning and really enjoyed it as there were never more than two or three in the class. The Pointe Restaurant is, as everyone else has stated, excellent. Yes it is expensive but it is worth it. We at several breakfasts and two dinners there and each time the meals with great. The service at dinner is more formal and more professional at dinner but the service was all around very good. Our server at both dinners--Michael--was as good as any waiter we have had in the best San Francisco restaurants. Adjacent to the restaurant is a small lounge where you can get lighter meals at lunch and dinner and there is a cafe on the ground floor of the beach building which is opened from 7:30 to 3:30 for muffins, coffee and light pastries and sandwiches. The staff at the hotel, while young, is very good and it is clear that ownership takes great pride in its staff and the staff really seem to enjoy helping out. The location of the inn is tremendous as there is a great beach right at the doorstep and you are only a few minutes from Tofino. Tofino is an interesting little town--part surfer, part artist, part bohemian and it all works. There is not a lot to do in the actual town and you can vist the stores and galleries in about 1/2 a day. We really enjoyed dinner one night at the Rain Coast Cafe and at SOBA (in the Botanical gardens) and enjoyed Breakers (although not the friendliest of service) and Cafe Vicente. We did find that most meals were quite expensive, however. There are tons of outdoor activities in and around the area. We went bear watching with Jaimie's which was a lot of fun and whale watching with Lance at Aquamarine Adventures in Ucluelet which we would highly recommend. Lance was fantastic! We also rented bikes at The Wick and tooks numerous walks along the beach. The inn is right near the Pacific Rim National Park and there are some great hikes in the park as well. The Inn is quite a drive from Vancouver as it requires a ferry ride and then a good three hour drive accross to the west coast...while parts of the drive are spectacular it is slow going much of the way. Overall, this was a great experience and one that I would highly recommend to anyone who is interested in "getting away" from it all without sacrificing great food and great lodging.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

Stayed here during a tour of British Columbia. It was the one hotel which we were desperate to stay in and we weren't disappointed. Travelling with 2 children aged 11 and 14, I don't think that we were their typical guests! Never the less the staff were very helpful and even went to great lengths to get us a whole reel of string when our kite string broke and they stocked children's DVDs. It is just the perfect environment. All the decor is subdued colours and natural materials, and the setting was just unbeatable. We could have spent the whole time just lying on the beds looking at the view. With 2 children of course they had other ideas. They loved the beach and rock pools and rain forest walks. Ideally this would be a honeymoon venue, or anniversary destination, but if you are visiting Tofino with children, this is certainly not a stuffy, grown up hotel - just a really relaxed place to be.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.