We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Anniversary Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant to your Saves list
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“A perfect Anniversary Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Tofino is as far west as you can get in Canada & if you want to see this spectacular setting in style, you'll pick the Wick.

Granted it's roughly an hour flight or a 5 hour drive from Victoria, but once you get here, you'll understand "the bother".

The setting is on a spectacular beach & rocky coastline with lush rain forests, eagles & beginning surfers. The hotel is both kid & dog friendly. But you'll see more couples of various ages, all here to unwind.

We booked an end room on the second floor with an ocean view, king bed. This came with luxurious amenities like a fireplace, great linens, a jetted tub with an ocean view, tv that recedes Into a cabinet when not in use, even loaner binoculars.

The hotel offers bicycles to loan for free, as well as a car, but for that you have to possess a Canadian passport. Taxi service is available which you'll want. As the price points for meals at the hotel as exorbitant, though the setting is spectacular.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    96
    41
    20
    10
See reviews for
91
458
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, part of an anniversary weekend.

The staff here truly went above and beyond to make sure our entire stay was as comfortable as possible. We were always greeted by name, and often even our dog was welcomed warmly.

Hotel did an excellent job making our pooch feel welcomed - a bed, bowls, ball chucker, poo bags and towels were provided in the room. Grounds well equipped with dog-wash stations and towels - the water supplied for rinsing the sandy paws was even warm! Nice touch.

Food was excellent. The chef even called our room to check in and see if we had any special requests for dinner, and later customized his menu to suit the desires of my partner. Completely blew me away, as they prepared her risotto perfectly and completely from scratch, though it wasn't even on the menu. I had the best scallop entree I've ever tasted - one of the best meals I've ever eaten.

Spa is pricy, but glorious. Opt for the private cabin if you get a massage, and make sure to take some extra time to enjoy the steam cave before/after your appointment. Best hot-stone massage I've ever experienced, hands down.

I've stayed in Tofino many times, but never before at the Wickaninnish. It's not a cheap stay, but I believe it to be well worth the splurge, and I look forward to returning sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor gets better views; and make sure to take advantage of turn-down service at night! Bikes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale Altrincham Cheshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

From the moment we entered this wonderful hotel till the moment we left We were treated in a very special way,the staff remembered our names took an interest in what we wanted to do they were sooo helpful.there was the use of the courtesy car to take us where we wanted to go and to pick us up.The staff in the restaurant were very professional and caring nothing was too much trouble,and the setting amazing.We loved our stay and would love one day to return.Our suite was perfect with beautiful views of the sea. We booked this hotel after looking at the website and reading reviews and it was sold to us,we were choosing hotels for us and 2 friends so we wanted it to be good,it was all we wanted it to be and even more the only downside was having to leave.Thank you all at The Wickanninish Inn.

Room Tip: We think that every room will have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you want to disconnect Tofino is your place. While wifi is everywhere, even in the hotel, it's incredibly slow. Don't expect to download movies. It's not the fault of the hotel, the island gets it's Internet via microwaves. But it's actually a benefit to give you the focus you need to enjoy the beauty of the location.

Let me start with the service, everybody is super friendly and very helpful in some cases too friendly. The location is like none other right on the ocean. We were in room 310 which is the corner with has outstanding views. The room is large with a large bathroom, featuring a tub for two. The hotel has three eating areas, a top notch restaurant, a bar and a fireplace lounge. Each with separate menus. My favorite dish was the shrimp gnocchi. Lots of local beers too choose from and a good wine selection. Bikes are available for free. By far the best experience you will get in Tofino.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed for four nights and it was a great place to unwind. It's location on Chesterman. beach is great for long strolls and fresh air - check out the rock pools and the starfish too. The Hostel Spa was first rate and added to our relaxing stay.
The staff were very friendly and the food and views in The Pointe restaurant were outstanding. A great selection of wines too.
It is also a very short drive from Tofino which is a great location for several wildlife viewing trips. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I must admit looking at the photographs on the web and reading previous reviews, I came to the Wickanannish Inn with high expectations. Too often these expectations aren't met, but in this case they were if possible, exceeded. This is truly one of the great places to stay in Canada and the location and accommodation are simply stunning.
I had a room in the Pointe Building facing the west. These rooms overlook the islands and ocean, and you are literally only a few metres from the breaking waves. The rooms themselves are large, spacious and equipped as you would expect from a quality property. There are many small touches such as binoculars, wet weather gear, reading material etc that add to the comfort.
The staff are not only efficient and accommodating, they are genuinely friendly as well.
The Pointe Restaurant is high quality and the views are exceptional. The food is superb, but the portion sizes are rather small and as a result you tend to have additional courses which can push up the cost.
One thing I like compared to many other similar Canadian hotels, is that parking is free including the valet parking. WiFi is also free, although the web bandwidth around Tofino is somewhat limited and thus reduces download speeds.
The Wickaninnish Inn is a great base to explore the Pacific Rim Park and Tofino and is an outstanding destination in its own right. An absolute gem!

Room Tip: The Inn has 2 separate but adjacent buildings, the Pointe and the Beachfront. As inferred by the nam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We love this place. Its easy to leave all your stresses behind watching the waves and the fog advance and recede and eagles converse in the trees. The biggest decision for us here is how far to walk on the beach, the biggest decision for the dog is how often she wants to chase the ball before she lays down in the nearest sea water. The staff in this hotel make this an easy and memorable stay. We've chosen this Inn and restaurant(always creative) over the years because of its reliability to make us comfortable and what more do you want?

Room Tip: We don't spend much time in the rooms but you should choose water view, we have stayed at the Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.