We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words can not describe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant to your Saves list
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edmonton
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Words can not describe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

How wonderful this inn is and what a great time we had. Our room(304) had a wonderful view of the ocean. The front desk on our arrival showed us all of the wonderful amenities which were many including rain jackets, backpack, umbrella, music books as well as the wonderful features including a hidden television and sliding doors on the bathroom to look out.

Our last night we had the most fabulous meal in Pointe Restaurant with wonderful service and such a great view. Our breakfasts were also amazing. The food is a bit pricey but almost everything is made on site including the breads,jam, juice,etc.

The only downside was the menu at the Driftwood Cafe. It is limited to Tapas type food or was when we were there. The servings are small and pricey. The service though was wonderful.

Oh the bikes were not in good shape but we were told they are been replaced. That being true the chains could have been oiled especially when we asked for them in advance.

Room Tip: Try for the third floor as the view will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    96
    41
    20
    10
See reviews for
91
458
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in the "On-The-Beach" building in a Deluxe Beach Room overlooking Chesterman Beach & the surfers. Our room was perfectly designed for what we came for: peace, rest, relaxation & a sense of renewal. We hadn't stayed there before & we weren't sure which building to stay in but as soon as we entered our room we knew we had made the perfect choice (with the help of the reservation service staff). The price goes up in increments so the higher priced rooms are on the highest floors. There was a cozy seating area beside the fireplace & was perfect for reading, lazily sipping tea or cocktails or just gazing out past the large forest framed picture window (binoculars included). The king bed felt luxurious & comfortable, the bathroom (with heated floors) was spotless, spacious & included a magnificent shower & a deep double soaking tub. There was a sliding screen door that opened to a small balcony with 2 adirondack chairs - all this luxury included a magnificent view overlooking the rolling waves on sandy Chesterman Beach. We slept in each day then began the day walking on the incredible beach. We then made our way to the restaurant & enjoyed a delicious west coast inspired brunch then headed back to our room to relax & read. All that fresh ocean air made us sleepy so an afternoon nap was essential. Later we headed back out to the beach again, returned to our room & enjoyed a cocktail by the fireplace while we watched the afternoon slip away. We looked forward to more delicious fresh seafood prepared at the Pointe Restaurant & we weren't disappointed. We really enjoyed watching the surfing & playing with other guests' dogs on the sandy beach. It was great entertainment for us plus the bonus was we didn't have to deal with any messy wet dogs! When it came to pampering, no one was left out @Wickaninnish Inn: there were doggie stations where owners could freshen up their beloved companions plus homemade dog biscuits sold in the lobby. Down the hall from us was a library (3rd floor) with complimentary games, a computer, telescope & inviting oversized chairs to curl up in & read or just simply sit, relax & enjoy the panoramic ocean view. The staff was friendly & accommodating without disturbing us & we felt at home. We repeated this luxurious lazy pampered ritual for 3 days & we felt totally rested, refreshed & renewed. When we next visit Tofino we'll definitely stay at Wickaninnish Inn again - we plan on taking surfing lessons, a trip to HotSprings Cove plus book a treatment or two at the Ancient Cedars Spa. It was a much needed relaxing & romantically wonderful getaway for the two of us & the Wickaninnish Inn was the perfect luxurious west coast escape.

Room Tip: If you want a view winter storms, crashing waves & panoramic ocean choose the main Wickaninnish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Seldom does one find a hotel that could be fine-tuned enough to replicate and in this case by-pass your feeling of being pampered like you are at your own home.
This hotel provides just that and more.

From the minute you arrive, you are welcomed with a smile.
All the staff make you feel that they are there for your enjoyment and they behave accordingly.

The whole hotel is set in and within nature. A marvel of design of architectural environmentalism. Even the color fuses in with the trees and the rocks the hotel is built on.

The windows of each and every space is placed as if to become a painting portrait of the view outside. The trees that hug the hotel are as if placed just to compliment the painting and frame the view.

The interior decor, as you enter, is warm with natural wood complimented by tables and furniture made from the wood that was spit by the sea. The rooms are comfortable and warm with everything thing you might need down to the binoculars and the music player with a selection of CDs to the espresso coffee machine to the rain jacket and pants and boots.

The beds are thick with memory foam that grab you begging you to stay. The bathrooms are well designed to give you privacy even with window wide open with a his/hers dual bathtub with a candle and a match. A separate shower space and an separate toilet room. The tiles are all stone earthy with the same natural green color again complimenting nature.

Though you are in a hotel, somehow the wide windows gives you the feeling of being outside. The library is a beautiful room/balcony over the lobby that has a window spanning two floors. Again all in wood with warm colors. Bountiful amount of books and DVDs to enjoy, not that you would want to for the outside provides you with a huge sandy beach to walk for hours.

The Pointe restaurant is another gem of a location and design with a central fireplace and an 360 view of the ocean and rocks and a splash or two of the Pacific waves. Not to mention the excellent service and great food which I will refer to in the restaurant section.

I have been to many hotels, but honestly, this one stands out. I highly recommend it with no hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 36 of the beach building excellent view with privacy. Then we stayed in suite 49 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had heard so much about this place that it may have tainted our expectations! The room overlooking the ocean and storm waves was great - if a little small. The bed was comfortable and heated tile floor in the bathroom was a nice bonus. We ate at the Pointe Restaurant and did not feel welcomed or comfortable there. The prices for everything seemed a little high - and they were skimpy on serving portions. I really did not like being given a play by play of what I ordered....let me enjoy my meal! It is unfortunate that we could not find any of the staff that were local - we have found locals can provide a friendlier atmosphere to their hotel! While this was a good place to stay for the views, be prepared for a different experience.

Room Tip: If you are there for the views, then make sure you check our your room first to ensure a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear jajpsawatzky,
Thank you for posting a Review of your recent stay at our Inn on Trip Advisor and sharing your experience with our online community.
While we are pleased you enjoyed the view from your guest room, as well as the bed and heated floors, we were most disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations, particularly in regards to The Pointe Restaurant. It is our goal to provide each and every guest with a culinary and service experience that meets and hopefully exceeds their expectations and we apologize this was not what you experienced. As we pride ourselves on our friendly, sincere service, it was disappointing to read that you did not feel welcomed or comfortable. Please be assured that your comments have been provided directly to The Pointe Restaurant Manager, as well as to our Management team.
Please also accept our apology if you did not appreciate the food descriptions provided by your server. Diners of The Pointe Restaurant have expressed that they are interested in the special ingredients used by our culinary team to create their meal and that they do feel these short descriptions do enhance their dining experience.
Thank you also for your comments regarding the Inn’s hiring practices. We are pleased to advise that we are proudly a Canadian company and always recruit regionally first and foremost. When we cannot fill positions regionally, we do look to augment our Canadian staff with International staff primarily using our fellow Relais & Chateau property contacts, International hospitality schools and travelling youth. , As our guests are travelers from all over the world, we do have the added benefit of possibly having someone from their home country on staff to greet them in their native language and welcome them in true West coast style.
As we believe our guests are the very best source of information for continual improvement, should you have additional information you would care to share with us or would like to personally discuss your experience with a member of our Senior Management team, please feel to contact us through Trip Advisor’s private messaging system or directly at sandy@wickinn.com.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked since August, our wedding weekend was flawless...making me wish I could get married every weekend!
First - the room. I cannot begin to describe the perfection it was to stay in room 309. The views were multiple and endless. The amenities list easily tripled that of any luxury hotel I have stayed at - 2-person soaker tub, Frette linens, fireplace, rain slickers, DVD player (although the television wasn't even touched), an iPod player, CD's, books, umbrella, a real HBC blanket for use on the balcony, blankets and a knapsack for the beach, glass shower with ocean views, and two comfortable chairs that we turned to just sit and look out at the crashing waves. And oops, if your forgot anything or need rubber boots to wade in the water, they have them!
Second - the food and drinks. They make drinks the way all bars should - by hand and using unique recipes ('Sprung' was my fave). Room service breakfast was delicious - fresh, flavourful and perfectly prepared eggs Benedict and continental breakfast. We enjoyed delicious mochas at the Driftwood Cafe on the Beach building. We had an incredible wedding dinner at the restaurant overlooking a rather calm late-winter storm.
Third - the service. I have never felt so special of a guest at a hotel in all of my life. We were getting married in a quieter time of year, but the level of detail was incredible. Many staff knew our names and almost all the staff we encountered knew we were the lucky couple getting married. On a very special note, Laura Watson is truly a gift to the Wickaninnish Inn. As the Elopement Coordinator, she ensured all details were perfectly executed. Even the rain made it beautiful! Her warm and welcoming smile made me know from the moment we arrived that it was the perfect place to get married.
Fourth - the wedding. It was a small, beautiful and very special event for my partner and I of over 10 years. In a small pocket of the rainforest, with a photographer, marriage commissioner and two of our best friends, we said our vows. Following that, we enjoyed a wonderful hot rock massage in the Cedar Sanctuary at the Ancient Cedars Spa, while listening to the ocean waves in the background. After our wedding dinner at The Pointe, we retreated to our oasis and were surrounded by romance. Rose petals, candles, hot bath, music, chocolates, and a lit fireplace were nothing short of spectacular.
Our stay at The Wickaninnish Inn was one of the greatest weekends of our lives. Incredible, spectacular and surreal don't begin to describe it. I would HIGHLY recommend it for marriage, elopement, anniversaries, and any other moment in life that needs a spark of romance. It's pet-friendly, child-friendly, gay-friendly and all-round friendly to those lucky enough to stay there!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our room overlooking the Pacific Ocean is really, really nice in the main building, with a whirlpool bath tub. After a long drive across Vancouver Island, it's a very nice way to relax, with a drink beside me and a view over the crashing waves. The Pointe Restaurant has the same view over the rocks and waves and is billed as a gourmet spot, but we thought the food at dinner overpriced and pretentiously presented and served. I particularly hated the server pointing to all the goodies on the plate. Please, just let me enjoy my food. I read the menu so I know what I've ordered. The Driftwood Café is hidden away in the basement of a different building. I just wanted a coffee and something simple for breakfast, but the wait first for a seat and then service was interminable. Turns out the food came from the kitchen in another building, so it was both cold and overpriced. After this we head into Tofino for all our meals and found some great spots, including one with a happy hour with $1 oysters served any way. My wife enjoyed the spa. The beach is wonderful, but July fog rolled in and blanked out the view. We paddle in the water, which is freezing and admire the guts of a class of wet suited surfers heading out into the invisible waves. In the village there was bright sunshine, and an entrancing view into the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear gentlemansportion,
Many thanks for posting a Review of your stay at our Inn in July, 2012.
While we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our Ancient Cedars Spa, we were disappointed to read that The Pointe Restaurant and Driftwood Café did not meet your expectations with respect to price and service. It is our goal to provide each and every guest with a culinary and service experience that meets and hopefully exceeds their expectations and we apologize that we did not meet this goal in your case. We pride ourselves on delivering quality service and providing outstanding culinary experiences utilizing locally sourced food products at a good value.
We also apologize that you found the food descriptions provided by your server to be annoying. It has been our experience that diners of The Pointe Restaurant are interested in the special ingredients that are used to create each dish and that the descriptions enhance their dining experience. They are, however, meant to be brief and non-intrusive.
Slow service certainly is not the standard at our Inn and we were very sorry to read that you experienced a lengthy wait for both a seat and service at our Driftwood Café. We do realize that availability of seating can be limited, particularly during our peak summer period, as reservations are not accepted at this location. While you are correct in that menu selections for the Driftwood Café are prepared in our Pointe building, processes are in place to ensure guests receive their food in a timely manner. Cold food is absolutely unacceptable and please be assured that we will be following up internally with our team. While we believe your experience is an isolated incident, as a result of your comments we will be looking at additional ways to ensure all diners of the Driftwood Café receive their food hot and fresh.
On behalf of Charles McDiarmid and our entire Wickaninnish Inn team we thank you for the opportunity to learn from your experience and improve the product and service we offer our guests. Should you wish to personally discuss your experience with a member of our Senior Management Team, please feel free to contact us through Trip Advisor’s private messaging system or at sandy@wickinn.com.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Wickaninnish Inn several times, and it is always a wonderful experience. The staff of the hotel, restaurant and spa are all exceptionally friendly and professional; the rooms are clean and well appointed (fireplaces and lovely bathrooms). The location is magical, nestled in the trees and at the edge of the sea. Whether on your own, for a romantic getaway, or with friends, you simply cannot find a better place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.