We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can't buy class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Tofino
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You Can't buy class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is the most luxurious hotel in Canada and the staff goes above and beyond every time. I have never had any issues with their customer service, and in fact if I did I am confident it would be resolved right away. The attention to detail and all the small touches makes this place like no other. The wicks guests are loyal and the service is what makes us come back again and again. These ladies clearly don't stay at luxury hotels often and like the title states, you can’t buy class. This site is not about bashing hotels, and I do not understand what is so helpful about posting on the internet that you put your jacket on a burning candle - maybe the waiter should have cut you "crazy ladies” off. If anything, the wick needs to raise the standard of guests they bring in. They were always sophisticated and down to earth; loving the hotel and all Tofino has to offer. I could just imagine the scene you caused disturbing everyone else’s dinner. Get over it and take responsibility for your own foolishness. You can tell these people don’t know what they’re talking about - they made a trip advisor account just to spite the hotel because the hotel didn’t pay for your jacket and dinner. As all the other reviews state, if you go to the wick you are treated like loyalty and will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear WestCoaster94,
We truly appreciate and thank you for providing our Trip Advisor online community with your thoughts.
We pride ourselves on delivering personalized and caring service by a team of individuals who are passionate in their commitment to each and every guest and we thank you for advising you especially appreciated this aspect of our Inn.
As it is always our goal to be better tomorrow than we are today, we welcome both positive and constructive feedback from our guests and appreciate the opportunity to learn from all experiences.
On behalf of Charles McDiarmid and our entire Wickaninnish Inn team we thank you for your Review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn again!
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    458
    83
    39
    19
    10
See reviews for
75
393
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, BC,
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just got back from 2 nights here. The Point Deluxe rooms are awesome, right over the rocks where the waves crash. Unfortunately, no big storm, I think we missed it by 12 hours! Gorgeous view of the ocean crashing from the double soaker tub. The private balconies are awesome! Beds are very comfy. The staff was very attentive and even remembered our name after meeting once! Did find the Inn a bit on the stuffy side though. We like to kick back and relax in a more casual setting. Found everything to be a bit formal for us. Service was impeccable though in the Pointe Restaurant as well the Inn. Slept with our sliding door open both nights so we could hear the waves but also found that the rooms got very stuffy as there is no a/c. Even with heat off, it was overly warm.

Room Tip: We had 3 floor with king bed in the Point section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Wickaninnish Inn for our anniversary in January. Jason took our reservation and made sure that every service or detail that we may want during our stay was offered. From the moment that we arrived, we were impressed with the attention to detail and the excellent staff throughout the Inn and restaurant. Wherever we met staff during our stay, we were always greeted in a friendly, professional manner. We had a room on the second floor with a great view of the breaks at Chesterman Beach and Frank island. The room was very comfortable and every conceivable need was present from a hidden TV to local books and binoculars. The bathroom and soaker tub were well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. We had both dinner and breakfast in The Point Restaurant. The food, service and (of course) the views were excellent. Our dinner server was Ane and she and the other restaurant staff insured that we had a very pleasant and memorable anniversary dinner. We are looking forward to a return visit for our next anniversary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Wick has not lost it's high quality service or accommodation since opening 10 years ago. This was our tenth visit and we felt like we were returning home. The reservation was made and changed as we altered our travel dates with no problem. The room contained a lovely 'welcome back' bowl of fruit and a card mentioning our 10th visit. There was also a 'doggy welcome basket' with towels, treats and doggy bags.
All staff were most accommodating, pleasant and provided us with a relaxing stay on the always beautiful Chesterman Beach. Particularly loved sitting in the Driftwood Cafe and enjoying a glass of wine in the evening or coffee and croissant for breakfast. Special mention to Davis who was an outstanding member of the service staff.
Looking forward to many more visits....

Room Tip: We still prefer the main Pointe building. Being right on the ocean as the waves broke is always amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Room - wow! Room view - wowsy, wow, wow! Service - Excellent. Food in restaraunt - not so much (don't get me wrong it was good, but nothing to brag about - too much sous-vide, not enough fire). This is the kind of establishment one goes to when one has considerable financial resources or you want full fill a dream .... I fullfilled a dream, got it out of my system, time to move on.

This was a difficult review, I held off writing it for 5 months. It was difficult because the physical and service aspects of this place are simply top notch - but it is expensive. Quality costs but value for money is another thing. Many reviews I read said had the same message. But if I owned this place I'd charge exactly the kind of prices they charge - I don't begrudge them that.

Room Tip: While the Beach rooms are excellent, the view towards a beach that can be full of people at times is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear StParrot,
Many thanks for sharing your thoughts about your Wickaninnish experience with our online Trip Advisor community.
We were thrilled to read you loved your guestroom, were wowed by the views and felt the service was excellent. Of course we were a little disappointed to learn the food aspect of your experience in The Pointe Restaurant was not quite as exceptional as these other areas. We have shared your feelings on the culinary side with our Chef de Cuisine Nicholas Nutting.
As mentioned and we agree the Wickaninnish Inn is not an inexpensive experience. While we are proud to be delivering what we believe is one of the best hospitality experiences in Canada we are also equally committed to delivering a superb value. As it seems we did not quite live up to your expectations on the value side of the equation we would appreciate you providing us with contact information through Trip Advisor’s private messaging system or directly to sandy@wickinn.com so we may contact you personally to determine if you have any more specific thoughts about how we might improve our value proposition from your perspective. Over the last five years we have not increased our prices while consistently reinvesting back into the property, to enhance the level of service, update the guestrooms, improve the technology behind the scenes and improve the quality of products throughout the property and will continue to do so.
Thanks again for sharing your thoughts with us and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back one day and wowing you as much with the value as we have with the other aspects of your experience.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had been wanting to stay at Wickaninnish Inn since we saw it while camping with our kids in Tofino. My dream finally came true many years later and it was everything I had hoped for! Our room was very lovely, with the waves crashing below our windows. Our fireplace was cozy and I loved the heated bathroom floors. What a perfect place to relax for a few days in the winter with my husband. We enjoyed all of our meals in the Pointe restaurant, where the panoramic view is mesmerizing, and the waiter magically knows your favorite and unfavorite foods! Each dish was inventive and incredible. The Ancient Cedars spa was also amazing. I tried the special Hi Shuk Ish Tsawalk Awakening treatment, and was transported to a peaceful state of mind that I will never forget. This is a very special place to relax. If you have to wait twenty years like I did, it is worth the wait!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Right from the time of booking the Wickaninnish Inn, Pointe Building, to the time we checked out, the customer service was outstanding. It is impossible to compete with great service, but more establishments should try. The reservation went smoothly, and a change that was initiated on our part was accommodated just as smoothly. Arrival is wonderful as the hotel is situated and the grounds are kept so that you really do feel as if you have left civilization behind. Grounds are kept as natural as possible with minimal parking lot, maintenance buildings, in view. The view from the room was outstanding. All amenities we could think of and more were provided in room - books, binoculars, umbrella, rain coats/pants, etc. I do not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who wants a top of the line experience while on vacation. Two family members booked time in the Spa and had rave reviews when they were finished.

Room Tip: We liked the Pointe Building. Other building was not as open to the sun and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.