We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, relaxing .....aaaahhhh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant to your Saves list
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, relaxing .....aaaahhhh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent two glorious nights in #309 in the Pointe Building. This room is outstanding. Its rapt in windows, on the top floor overlooking the crashing waves. We had the fireplace for warmth and ambience and opened the sliding doors for the sounds of the ocean while cozying up under the duvet of an incredibly comfy bed. Add to this a double soaker tub in the bathroom also overlooking the ocean.

We ate and two outstanding breakfast/brunch meals and one dinner in the Point Restaurant. Fabulous room jutting out over the ocean. Best version of Eggs Benedict. It comes on cornbread with pulled pork and a little kick in the hollandaise sauce. mmmm mmmm mmmm Also recommend the French toasted Brioche with deep-fried maple ice cream. mmmmm The housemade granola and yogurt with fresh fruit was excellent. Every piece of fruit was ripe and sweet. While we did enjoy the shredded potato encrusted oysters, we were for the most part disappointed with our dinner. I'm assuming it was somehow an off-night. We also ate in the Driftwood Cafe one night. We enjoyed the casual setting and the lighter selections that night.

Its a beautiful location for beachcoming and hiking.

One thing that really struck me as how professional the staff is. They are warm, friendly and courteous, but still very professional. It was something special.

Room Tip: #309 I think is probably the best room in the Point Building. Its expensive, but you get a room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    96
    41
    20
    10
See reviews for
91
457
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here on our recent trip to the Vancouver Island. Here is the breakdown of our stay:

1. Rooms: We stayed in a deluxe room with two queen beds located on the first floor (beach level). The size of the room was quite spacious with a gas fireplace, beautiful wide windows that overlook the beach, a two-person soaker tub (which was amazing!) and two patio chairs on a small balcony. The furniture and decoration weren't anything to write home about but the small amenities provided in the room were appreciated - like the bath salts, candles, rain gear for two people in the closet, Hudsons Bay wool throw, binoculars, turndown service and Brita water filter and jug. We opted for this cheaper suite and did not upgrade to an upper level suite but we felt that our room was more than adequate for our needs. It was relaxing to soak in the two-person tub and watch the sunset from the window although at times it felt like the location of our room was not private enough for us to keep the blinds up. A few things we did not like about the room: (a) the walls are surprisingly quite thin for a hotel of this calibre. We could hear mumbling noises from our next door neighbour and people walking above our suite; (b) I have a personal pet peeve about shower curtains. I don't think a luxury hotel should use shower curtains because it feels icky and sometimes can smell moldy. I wish our suite had glass doors to our shower instead of shower curtains; and (c) there was NO wi-fi in our room. You have the option to plug in your laptop at the desk to access their free internet but we could not get on the wi-fi using our iPhones during our entire stay which was not only annoying but completely unacceptable for the price you pay at this place.

2. Service: Mediocre and below our expectations of a Relais & Châteaux hotel. Customer service provided by staff seemed forced, not very genuine and totally not memorable except for the fact that it was lacking in many areas. Yes, they do offer complimentary valet service when you drive up to check-in. Yes, the staff member who assists you to your room explains all the amenities offered at the hotel. But those are things that you expect from any nice hotels. We expected something much more and better for the reputation that this hotel has, as well as the price it charges for their rooms. I just have three specific examples of why we thought the service did not meet our expectations: Firstly, when we checked-in and was shown to our room, I asked the staff member who showed us to the room if slippers were available. He said he would check with housekeeping and arrange to have slippers brought to our room. We never got our slippers. If the hotel doesn't offer slippers, that's totally fine but don't promise something you can't deliver. At the very least, follow-up with the guest and inform the guest that his or her request cannot be fulfilled. Secondly, we had difficulty accessing the wi-fi from our room. We called front desk to let them know that we were having trouble and they told us they were working on the problem. A couple of hours later, we went directly to the front desk to ask if they had any updates on the status of the wi-fi problem we were encountering in our room. The female front desk attendant told us that they were still working on it. When I told her that it will be a problem for us if we cannot access wi-fi in our rooms later that night, she raised her eyebrows and shrugged(!). And we never got on the wi-fi from our room during our stay. Thirdly, my husband had called a few days prior to our arrival to make reservations at the Pointe restaurant at the hotel. He was told that there was no availability except for a 8:30 pm seating for two people. He explained that we would prefer an earlier seating but was told that the restaurant was fully booked. We were starving by the time 7 pm rolled around on the day of our 8:30 pm reservation. My husband decided to call the restaurant to ask if they had any cancellations so that we could dine earlier, he was told that the restaurant could accommodate us at that time. When we walked into the restaurant, we noticed that the restaurant was only about 50% full. It would have been a nice touch if someone at the hotel had made a note about our preference for an earlier reservation and called us beforehand to let us know that the restaurant could accommodate an earlier seating. Overall, this place needs to understand that in order to live up to the high reputation and keep guests from returning, it has to up its customer service and teach staff to pay attention to the details.

3. Location: Superb. Within walking distance to the beach, it is easy to just put on some rain gear and walk right onto the beach to enjoy the scenery.

4. Restaurant: Okay but not memorable. We ordered a bottle of an Italian Primitivo and was told after 20 minutes that they could not find it in their cellar. Nothing on the appetizer list interested us so when I inquired about whether or not they had soup, the waiter said there was chowder from the lounge or "vegetable broth". Again, this isn't something that we would expect from a Relais & Châteaux establishment. If you are planning to dine at the Pointe restaurant, try and come to watch the sunset or dine at lunch to really enjoy the beautiful views. Because we were not given an option to book an earlier seating, we missed the sunset and could barely see out the window in the dark. It would be nice to have spot lights or some type of lighting outside so that guests dining at the restaurant could see and enjoy the views in the evenings.

My husband and I are avid travelers and enjoy frequenting luxury hotels and resorts all over the world. We do not consider ourselves to be picky guests but we do pride ourselves in knowing what level of customer service to expect from a luxury hotel. For us, Wickaninnish Inn did not meet our expectations. Yes, the view is magnificent and Tofino is truly an amazing place to visit but in order to remain competitive and not disappoint their guests, Wickaninnish Inn needs to revamp their customer service and train their staff to provide the highest customer service to their guests. Customer service isn't just about opening doors for guests and greeting guests with a smile. It goes beyond that if you want to have a reputation for truly being a luxury hotel and provide guests with a memorable stay. We will definitely return to Tofino but we will try the Long Beach Lodge Resort next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear GreenApple07,
Thank you for providing us with feedback of your recent stay at our Inn by way of Trip Advisor.
We were most disappointed to read that the service you received did not meet your expectations as all of our team members are provided with ongoing training which provides them with the tools necessary to ensure each of our guests are provided with a memorable and magical stay here at the Inn. We obviously fell short in providing you with the level of service, care and attention to detail that should have been delivered and for which the Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant have earned a reputation for providing to our guests. We can assure you that your experience is not the standard at the Wickaninnish Inn and please accept our most sincere apology.
It is our understanding that our Director of Operations, Christine Stocker, has attempted to contact you to discuss your experience but unfortunately has been unable to speak with you to date.
As we would truly appreciate the opportunity address your concerns personally with you, please feel free to contact Christine at 250-725-3100 or by email at christine@wickinn.com at any time.
Again, we are very sorry that we did not deliver on providing you with a memorable and enjoyable world class experience and look forward to speaking with you.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here twice before and, following our recent visit, I can only give it 4 out of 5 stars.

On our 3rd trip here last May, we were shown to our room and given a run down on the facilities and restaurant's availability. After the staff member left, we discovered a burned out light bulb in the toilet area of the bathroom. Despite our advising the staff about it twice, it was never replaced. This is the type of service you expect from a cheaper motel room, not the Wickanninsh Inn. While the staff member is showing the guest their room, may we suggest they go around and check that everything is working before they start discussing restaurant availability. As the toilet is separate from the rest of the bathroom, a failed light bulb would leave the occupant in the dark, a situation that should have occurred to the front desk and maintenance staff.

We ordered room service breakfast for our second day. As per the instructions on the card, we left our order hanging on the outside door handle, and well before the instructed time. I got up an hour before breakfast was due and found the order still hanging on our door handle, so I had to take it to reception myself.

All these problems are minor, but disappointing when you expect the flawless type of service the Wick is famous for. Yes, we would go back because there is no place more special than Tofino and the Wickaninnish. Where else can you stay that's this beautiful and accommodates your dog? However, I would expect more attention to detail should we wish to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Ian J,
We appreciate you providing us with feedback on your third stay at our Inn by way of Trip Advisor.
While we are pleased you once again enjoyed your stay with us, we are of course most disappointed that not all aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction as indicated in our correspondence with you in October. Again, please accept our most sincere apology as we obviously felt short in providing you with the level of care and attention to detail we expect to be provided to each and every guest of the Inn.
Should you wish to personally discuss your experience further with a member of our Senior Management Team, please feel free to contact us via Trip Advisor’s Messaging System or directly at sandy@wickinn.com as we would love the opportunity to fully understand and learn from your experience.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When my sister visited me in Vancouver from London, UK, we spent two nights at the "Wick" as the off season rates for a room at this Relais & Chateaux Inn were more affordable. With the amount saved on accommodation, we splurged on Hishuk Ish Tsawalk Awakening Treatments and Organic Sea Facials in the Ancient Cedars Spa. Nestled in our incredible beach room, rooted where the rainforest and ocean meet, was akin to a rebirth in a pristine and primordial world. We plunged into waves watched from our room off Chesterman Beach with Pacific Surf School. We indulged in the Chef's weekly menu with wine pairings at The Pointe Restaurant. Thanks to the warm staff at the Wickaninnish Inn, we had a wonderful experience that can best be described in a word - BLISS!

Room Tip: We chose a beach room on the forest floor for the savings but it was the best room in the Inn for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We feel the place is very over-priced and over-rated. Maybe we went at the wrong time of the year, as there were very few guests. They suggested we should make a reservation for the restaurant that evening, but when we went in for dinner there were only 3 people in the place, so do not know why they wanted a reservation. It did not get much busier as the night went on. I ordered the lamb for dinner, and the waiter did not ask me how I liked it done. It came very rare (which is not my choice) and it was surrounded by fat. When we asked the waiter why all the fat was there, he said that was the way the chef liked to cook it. My husband had the sable fish, which he enjoyed, but the dumplings and beef that accompanied it did not go with the fish. Also we felt they were rationing the bread. We were served one piece on our side plate, and then had to ask the waited if we could have a second piece. We had some Greek cheese and crackers instead of a dessert, and the cheese was so tiny one could hardly see it. The wine was also very expensive.
I don't think we will ever go back there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Jill S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our Inn and your dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant.
As we pride ourselves on delivering quality service and outstanding value in all areas of our operation, we were most disappointed to read that you did not feel you received good value. Should you have any suggestions that would enhance your feeling of value for price paid or if there are any aspects of our Inn other than The Pointe Restaurant you feel could be improved upon in any way, we would be most appreciative of further feedback from you.
Please accept our most sincere apology that the quality of your meals at The Pointe Restaurant were not to your satisfaction. As it is our standard to replace any dish not to our guest`s liking, it is most disappointing to read that your server did not offer this option to you.
As feedback from you, our guest, provides us with the insight needed for continual improvement, we would truly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally so that we may fully understand and learn from your experience. We have taken the liberty of forwarding your comments directly to Charles McDiarmid, our Managing Director, and have requested that he or a member of our Senior Management Team contact you personally to discuss your concerns.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Amazing place. Attentive staff, friendly. Rooms very nice, soaker tub & great view. Can not wait to make the journey again. The beach front is nice, walking trails & bikes available. Let the staff set up dining for you

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Yes, it's remote - no one finds the Wickaninnish Inn accidentally, but the trip through the rainforest (5-6 hours from Victoria) is part of the experience not to be missed. Once at the Inn, the staff couldn't do enough for us, whether it was arranging hikes, making dinner and spa reservations or just getting us oriented. How can one not be impressed with picture windows (from both the bedroom and the bathroom) overlooking the ocean, framed by old-growth trees? Nothing is forgotten: blankets for extending the hours on the balcony, chocolates and bubble bath upon arrival, in-room binoculars for whale watching, the use of personal storm gear and a back pack, a heated bathroom floor, a library including DVDs. You are just steps from the beach, steps from the spa and restaurant. As a bonus, the food in the town of Tofino was suprisingly excellent - at least three supurb restaurants (and a great bakery for breaksfast - try the breakfast pizza (amazing)). The food and drink prices are on the high side, but considering the remote location, that is understandable. I have absolutely no complaints and enthusiastically recommend the "Wick."

Room Tip: Second floor in the "Beach" building is terrific. We were in room 23 which can't be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.