We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature lover's paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Crow Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Crow Guesthouse
Save
You added Red Crow Guesthouse to your Saves list
1064 Pacific Rim hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 46 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nature lover's paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Just as vivid as my memories of Tofino's wildlife and landscapes are my memories of divine apple crisp breakfasts and luxurious surroundings at the Red Crow. My last night there I had a campfire on the inlet, 20 feet from my back door, and heard a great horned owl calling for an hour. I was traveling solo but will certainly return with my significant other, since the atmosphere is perfect for couples.

Room Tip: River otter suite is enormous - lounged on the sofa with a book when it was rainy one day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
76
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Only two guestrooms on the ground floor at the Red Crow with great views out over Clayoquot Sound. The managers are in the upstairs part (plus there's a self catering chalet awat from the house). We were in the river otter suite which was a good size with everything you'd need and a few useful extras like a fridge, microwave, stereo, bathrobes etc. It is a guesthouse so noise insulation may not be as good as you'd like but there's only a very small number of people there at any time so it rarely intrudes. Breakfast was freshly made each day with fruit crumble, yoghurt, muffins and toast - well worth the $10 pp cost. It's not a cheap stay with prices more hotel like but if you want a quiet break from the hoardes in Tofino then Red Crow fits the bill nicely.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

From arrival to departure Brydon and Lisa made our stay special. The breakfast quality and imagination were a real suprise, the boardwalk to the hottub situated in the rainforest was outstanding, the room extraordinary and the view complete with wildlife was a jewel in he crown.
The recommendation (requested) to dine at Sobo turned into the discovery of an addition to my top five dining places in the world and only the second in Canada.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We (my girlfriend and 2 friends) stayed a couple days at Red Crowin the Garden Cottage in September 2011. We loved it having no TV/ WiFi (Screen & DVD player are available but no reg. TV programs). The most gourgeaous part is the hot tube in the forest including the view to the ocean.
And we just can say one thing: We will definitley come back soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I had the absolute pleasure of staying for three nights in the Red Crow in Tofino in mid-September and it was quite possibly the most delightful place I've ever stayed in and I've visted over 70 countries. My girlfriend and I stayed in the Black Bear Suite and totally fell in love with the place. The house itself is in five acres of old growth, towering trees, the tranquility, the beauty, the wildlife was perfect. Step out of Black Bear right onto the beach. We got up before sunrise each morning and were charmed by the early morning light (the house faces due east) as the herons and eagles and seals and distant tug boats and ocean across the peninsula made the only sounds. We plan to go back in February for 'storm watching'. Honestly, this place is truly wonderful, We didn't want to leave and plan on returning, again and again.

Room Tip: Black Bear Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Words can not say how thrilled we were with our experience here! We were tempted to spend our entire time here, drinking wine on the patio and watching the tide slowly creep towards us.

The hot tub in the woods is an extra that we will never forget, the nighttime journey along the whimsical wooden pathway allowed me to escape into my imagination and truly feel relaxed.

Our host was kind, and even after we left the hospitality continued when it came to retrieving items we had left behind. He went above & beyond!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We love staying at the Red Crow. This was our second visit. The location on the tidal flats is better than it sounds even. We have seen otters and bald eagles not to mention other birds both times we have stayed. It is so peaceful here and it really is in a great location, close to Tofino and the beaches on the other side. We like to stay on the other open ocean side as well but this really is a cheaper option for a different kind of ocean experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Crow Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Crow Guesthouse

Address: 1064 Pacific Rim hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful private entry waterfront suites with ensuites, down duvets & fireplaces; stunning views overlooking Tofino Inlet and tidal waterways of the bird sanctuary. Have your coffee on the verandah in the morning sun and enjoy the bird life in a most tranquil oasis. Additional 4+ person Garden Cottage in a glade of magnificent old growth cedars. Forest Hot Tub; Complimentary WiFi, Canoes & Bikes; Helpful and welcoming hosts. Walking distance to Tofino village & beaches. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Crow Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.