We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Tofino - bar none!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Pacific Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Tofino
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best place to stay in Tofino - bar none!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at many of the nice resorts in Tofono to chill out and surf. PSR is definitely one of the best. Beautiful beach house right on Cox Bay. Amazing sunset views. Rooms were exceptional,roomy and very clean. Anna at the front desk gave us some really great advise on places to hot in town. Bit a haul to Longbeach from here so we Chesterman instead
Loved it. Thanks for an amazing stay. See you again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    758
    174
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
315
439
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Thaiand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights to bring in New Year 2013. Last time I visited Tofino was over 40 years ago and this was the first visit for my wife. We learned about Pacific Sands from the television ads and then visited their website.

We were attracted by the beautiful scenery and and tranquil atmosphere. We were not disappointed and the resort exceeded our expectations. We would not hesitate to return and the only thing I had to bring to the attention of the management was that the staff were too friendly.

What a wonderful place to relax and enjoy some of the best scenery in the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Pacific Sands was a great escape from the hussle and bussle of everyday life. Waking up to the sound of waves each morning was incredibly calming and the views were magnificent. The one bedroom lighthouse suites are a bit small, but still enough room for a family of 4 with younger kids and only steps away from the beach. The property feels very private. There is a short trail to Pettinger Point with great sunset views. There are bicycle rentals on site and easy access to the bike trail into Tofino. Although there is no restaurant on site, the hotel organizes twice weekly barbeques by RedCan Gourmet which was fantastic. As well, basic foods are available for sale in the lobby. The biggest hit with our kids was the hotel's nightly S'MORES roast, with the free movie & boards games a close second. Great place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is our second visit to this year. The setting is fantastic and the staff and facilities are great. During our march visit there were three couples so we took a condo at the north end. It was magnificent but behind the island so we looked down the beach rather that out to the Pacific. This time we were only three so we booked one of the Lighthouse Suites. It has a better view out to sea but was not a posh. I was still a great unit. The beach affords a great walking and viewing and the trail out to the point was fantastic. All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: No bad suites but ones to the south give better view of incoming surf.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our family stayed in one of the beachfront houses (which are really townhouses) over Christmas. Very room and the heated floors are great. Great for pets. Well appointed kitchens and bedrooms are huge. As with most everything in and around Tofino, this was fairly pricey, so if you are prepared to spend the money, then this is a nice place to stay. It could REALLY use dining accommodation on the property (similar to Long Beach Lodge has) but other than that, no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Lots of great choice for oceanfront accommodation if you want "walk onto the beach access"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Can walk straight out from the room to the beach and the surf was good for all of our stay. I found it very nice that we could go in for a beer or lunch and no big deal to get back out again, it's right there.
On certain nights there is a big BBQ that was very good.
Nice for fires on the beach at night.
Doesn't have the same appeal as renting a small house or cabin but I liked it for the closeness to surfing.

Room Tip: I think there are some newer units which I would request next time, although where we stayed was fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been visiting this beautiful property for over 25 years and it is... without question our favorite destination vacation. Most recently we visited for 7 days and each and every day was absolutely perfect. Winter Storm season is our choice and it just happens to be my birthday and our anniversary. The staff at Pacific Sands never forgets this and we are truly treated like royalty. They have become our "island family" and each visit we have just brings us closer. The Beach House we stayed in is immaculate, spacious and oh so private. Total view of Cox Bay and yet nobody can see us lounging in our hot tub staring up at the stars. We were lucky enough to experience sunshine, rain, huge waves and even snow, but each and everyday I was able to wear my flip flops on "my" beach. That' s exactly what it feels like....MY beach! I am so happy this has become our Paradise!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.