We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Storm Season Savings
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed the weekend in the Cox Bay Suite. I would recommend this to everyone - its expensive but well worht it! We will for sure be returning, it was great watching the storms from our private hot tub on the patio. The kitchen was well stocked and having a BBQ one night was perfect!

Room Tip: Cox Bay Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    269
    58
    19
    10
See reviews for
456
636
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in delux two bedroom, three bathroom, condo on the ocean. The unit was beautiful with every ammenity. We go at "storm season" as we can not afford more popular times. We always love it, and will continue to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I hadn't been back to Pacific Sands since the remodel and want to report that it is still a wonderful place to stay and offers great value for families. We were on the main floor with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, living room, and small patio - all this plus a great view of the ocean. Travelling with three generations - including an infant - was super easy in this friendly resort with its direct access to a wonderful beach and nature path. We went for storm watching and got sun, the weather here is so unpredictable. I also appreciate the friendly staff, and I like the other guests - they're quiet and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our sixth stay at the Pacific Sands Resort - and it was FABULOUS as ever! We've always chosen this resort for the great service, excellent staff and location - beach front on Cox Bay and close to town. We had a wonderful view of the beach from our second floor lodge suite. We stayed for 5 nights, the suite was very cozy including full kitchen, nice gas fireplace and wide screen TV with a player for video. They are not kidding when they say you can have all the popcorn and movies you want. We ate almost two bags a day along with loads of coffee and hot chocolate - a nice treat at the end and start of the day. We want to thank the staff for a wonderful visit and can't wait to come back!!! Downside: There is no restaurant - but it would be hard to beat Sobo's (absolutely yummy) restaurant in downtown Tofino!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our third stay at the Pacific Sands Resort and we chose this resort because of the great location right on Cox Bay. We had a lovely second floor suite which afforded great views of the beach. The suite was comfortable and well-appointed including full kitchen facilities, fireplace and wide screen TV with a DVD player. A wide selection of CDs is available for loan from in the main lobby. We had two complaints - the very small bathroom and the extremely uncomfortable bed. The bed was extremely hard, just a mattress on a plywood base which made for very sore backs. Fortunately the sofa in the main salon was comfortable. Based on this latest experience, we will not be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacificsands, Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Helga R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy that you agree that our Resort truly is in a magnificent setting.
Thank you for making a comment regarding our beds, we are in the process of purchasing new mattress' with pillow top that will feel like you are sleeping on a cloud. We are all excited to have these in all of our rooms and we look forward to future guest comments.
I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Lara Kemps
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our 3rd time at Pacific Sands, but the first time in the Beach Houses. These are joined, 2 storey suites that are available in 2 or 3 bedroom. The view is spectacular from the living room and master bedroom. There are ensuite bathrooms for each bedroom. Kitchen is well equipped. I agree with a recent reviewer that the bed was uncomfortable and does not reflect good value for the rates being charged. The beach house master bedroom also have a beautiful soaker tub overlooking the beach. It also has a washer and dryer, full size fridge, stove and dishwasher, flat screen tv's for living room and each bedroom and also has a DVD player in living room and in the 2nd bedroom.

At this time of year, there are storm season special packages with reduced prices and complimentary espresso drinks, popcorn and hot chocolate.

There are several propane BBQ's for guest use, rain jackets, complimentary daily newspapers, free use of board games, DVD's, food convenience items including frozen entrees for sale.

All service employees were very friendly. They even worked around our schedule and returned to clean the room at a later time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Lighthouse suites affordable in off season. Well appointed kitchens, fireplace, great view of crashing waves. Terrific closed in public gazebo with open fire pit and BBq's close to water. Dog friendly with towels, outside shower and biscuits for fido.
Book upper floor as noisy if on lower floor. Reception has groceries for purchase, movies and a great espresso bar. Private beach terrific for walking, surfing, dogs.
Only 7 km from downtown restaurants. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tofino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.