We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dog-friendly getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Storm Season Savings
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing dog-friendly getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My husband and I and our 2 dogs stayed in a villa at the Pacific Sands Beach Resort for four days in mid-October. The experience was so amazing. The staff was welcoming and the accommodations were ready even though we arrived early. Our villa was luxurious with 2 gas fireplaces, a well-stocked kitchen (we brought our own food), a very comfy king bed and deck chairs overlooking the ocean where we enjoyed our coffee every morning and a glass of wine every evening. :) Had a fantastic time and would love to repeat. So dog friendly and the area has endless hiking and fantastic photo opportunities. A great, relaxing few days!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    240
    53
    17
    8
See reviews for
408
565
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

During our recent stay at Pacific Sands resort 6 ladies on a weekend getaway had a fantastic time! The suite was lovely with windows all along the front and a large deck with a hot tub. The grounds were beautiful and the view just gorgeous. Rain or shine we would recommend this location anytime. Staff were pleasant, professional and helpful.
The WWW Girls!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I almost don't want to write this since it is likely to increase interest in the resort, but it's such a wonderful place it wouldn't be fair to keep it to ourselves. We have been coming here since the resort was built over 30 years ago (having found it by accident the first time) and have stayed at the resort several times since then. We've always considered it to be our little bit of heaven.
Friendly staff, great accommodations, and scenery you can't find anywhere else. And good value for the money.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We have visited Tofino a number of times and have stayed at the Pacific Sands Resort a number ot times. Staff are very friendly. Accommodations are very clean and spacious. View is spectacular and a great way to sit and relax indoors. Surfers are plentiful while you sit and watch, drinking your morning coffee. Walking the beach is such a relaxing way to spend an afternoon. Tofino is just a short drive up the road and plenty of shops to mosey about in and restaurants to enjoy. Visiting at any time of year the view and weather is varied. You never know what you are going to see or experience which is the enjoyment of visiting this area.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in a full waterfront view suite which is normally a corner unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We have been coming to Pacific Sands for over 15 years and loved it but always have a tough time sleeping (beds are too soft in the beachfront units even after the renovations). Also, the tub and shower is so so. As a result, have move to the Long Beach Lodge and enjoy the room much better, smaller but great beds and bathrooms (big tubs). We used to like to cook so Pacific Sands is better suited for this but as we are getting older (and richer) we prefer to eat out for lunch and dinner (breakfast is included at LBL).

Room Tip: The Villas are excellent for more than 1 couple but the master bedroom is bright very early (needs b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortone, General Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Traveller, We have very much appreciated your custom and loyalty over the past 15 years and are naturally disappointed that you have moved to a competitior Resort. Your comments are valuable to us and yes we do plan to continue to enhance our new bedding programme and equip the entire Resort with Pillow top beds shortly, as part of the continuous upgrades that commenced in 2009. Perhaps we may have the occasion to welcome you back in future and win you over again. Sincerely yours, Stephen Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We booked a beach front townhouse for a family trip, but the online booking system overbooked us and we were offered a lighthouse suite at the returning guest rate instead. The suite was an end unit adjacent to a very public walk way which lacked privacy, was noisy and far too small for three adults (1 bedroom,a small combined kitchen/dining/living area with a pull-out sofa bed). Other than providing a complimentary bottle of wine, the management made not other efforts to compensate for their booking error. We tried to locate accommodation elsewhere, but it was a busy weekend and none was available.The location is lovely, the grounds are well-kept, and the kitchen was well-stocked, but, unfortunately, our stay at Pacific Sands was marred by indifferent management.

Room Tip: Avoid the Light House end unit adjacent to the public walkway. It lacks privacy and the bedroom wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortone, General Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Traveller, Thankyou for your message and please do accept our sincere apologies for a less than immaculaute stay. Unfortunately we along with other Resorts were completely full whilst you were visiting otherwise i can assure you we would have gladly rectified the situation for you. Please be assured that we do all that is possible to ensure our guests are completely happy. I understand when the booking error was identified, we called in advance and discounted your stay. As a strict policy we do not overbook and understand this was a computer systems error. I would welcome your call to discuss further compensation to redeem our hard earned reputation with you. Please call me directly. Sincerely yours, Stephen Peters...........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

the service , the view and the stay was all wonderful,, quiet and awesome. will be a repeat customer as long as i can still breathe

Room Tip: check out the on line site
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.