We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views and very clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Storm Season Savings
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Breathtaking views and very clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our first trip to Tofino. The Resort was well taken care-of; we had breath-taking views and very clean rooms. The highlight of this resort is that most suites have their own kitchens which is great if you're visiting for a week or so.

The only critique we had was that the bed was somewhat uncomfortable.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    240
    53
    17
    8
See reviews for
408
565
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Nearing the end of our trip around the Rockies and Vancouver we opted to head to Tofino on reports that it was worth the drive.

It absolutely was. Pacific Sands Resort is a large set of apartments and villas right on the beachfront. It's about a 10 minute drive into Tofino itself but that's not really a problem as the reason to be here is that stunning view of the sea. Rolling waves, tides that take the water out for seemingly miles and a sea mist that turns every photo you take into a work of art.

The room was nice, a little dated but nice big lounge area, kitchenette, bathroom and spacious bedroom. We were on the ground floor with another apartment above us. We sat outside watching the sun setting, sipping a glass of wine and really feeling like this was the perfect ending to our trip.

Take the trail to Sunset Point at sunset, a stunning 180 degree view of the coast that is absolutely worth the 10 minute hike.

Lovely and peaceful a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

A group of five young women stayed for three nights in one of the beach houses. The two bedroom unit is absolutely fabulous and located only a few steps through a salal walk to the beach. We were treated to the most breathtaking view of ocean, rock and forest. The air is
wonderful and we slept like babies listening to the surf. Great staff, location and we were lucky to have wonderful sunshine. The beach house comes with everything you need; full kitchen, laundry, raincoats, cosy bedrooms complete with housecoats and comfortable living room with TV.

Room Tip: If you're choosing a beachhouse, the ones further north offer a little more privacy and what I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

When booking out recent trip to Tofino we tossed between the Wickaninnish, the Long Beach Lodge and the Pacific Sands. For us, on this particular trip, the Pacific Sands was perfect. We walked down the beach to dinner at the Long Beach Lodge one night, drove the the Wickaninnish the next night, so we still got to enjoy the two best restaurants in Tofino.
What we enjoyed most about the Sands specifically was:

- A fully stocked in room kitchenette. There is even a small selection of groceries at reception in case you forgot something.
- The barista bar at reception opens at 7:00 am. Way better than an in room coffee maker and faster than ordering room service so your coffee is actually hot.
- Bike rental. Great cruiser or mountain bikes were very inexpensive.
- Proximity to the beach. If you surf you can literally walk out the front door, across 20 ft of grass and be on the beach. We stayed in the Beachfront Suites, which seem closest to the sand, but look like they have yet to be renovated. The photos on the Sands website of the other suites look much better than the room we stayed in for sure, which was rather stuck in the 80's, to be honest.

The Pacific Sands is definitely the least luxurious of the 3 top hotels in Tofino, but it is reflected in the price and has some amenities we really enjoyed. I would not recommend it for your honeymoon, but for an impromptu weekend away it is in the same location as the LBL and the Wick at hundreds less per night.

I would stay at the Pacific Sands again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We spent three nights in a villa at the pacific sands, and I can honestly say that I could have moved in ... and never left! The villa was gorgeous, and the views were exceptional. The ground floor has a full kitchen, washer and dryer, dinning area and living room with gas fireplace. The heat is geo thermal, so the ground floor tiles are warm. The rooms have corner floor to ceiling windows. The furnishings are modern, And you are just steps from the beach. The villas have two bedrooms - the one on the second floor has two queen beds and a nice sized bath - but no beach view. The master bedroom on the third floor has a magnificent beach view - with a balcony. It has an en suite Jacuzzi and a smaller but perfectly acceptable bathroom.
The staff is professional and extremely attentive - and willing to go the extra mile. (We had booked a smaller suite, and while the living room had a beach view we did not like the fact that the bedroom overlooked the parking lot. We were fortunate that not all the villas were taken and for an upgrade were moved to one of the villas.) They recommended good restaurants, enjoyable hikes, remembered our names and were genuinely friendly.

Room Tip: Great place for two couples - family getaways etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Superb room overlooking an excellent beach. All facilities were modern and in excellent condition BUT if you wanted to eat you had to drive to a restaurant in Tofino (10 minutes) or another hotel nearby. Admittedly the room had its own facilities but not everyone wants the hassle.

Room Tip: ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortone, General Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Traveller, Thankyou for your comments and for choosing to stay at Pacific Sands. We do publicize that we carry SOBO Restarant to go food along with a Provisioning fridge and breakfast delivery options for our guests, we apologize if this information was not explained to you at the time of booking. Our Resort has built its clientele who generally prefer to prepare their meals in the privacy of their Suites and Beach Houses....... whilst enjoying travelling to town (a short distance away) to experience many of the outstanding Restaurants Tofino has to offer. We certainly hope to have the occasion to be of service to you again in the future. Sincerley yours, Stephen Peters....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We looked at a lot of places and felt this was the best deal. Great to have a kitchen and access to the beach and some trails. Personnel was exceedingly helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.