We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient accommodation for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maquinna Lodge

Save Saved
You added Maquinna Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maquinna Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 First Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Tofino
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient accommodation for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

First of all, I had expected much much worse when I heard comments about Maquinna the evening before I arrived, so don't be put off by the negatives you hear before you arrive!
For Tofino standards, i.e. a tourist destination on Vancouver Island's beautiful West Coast on the Clayoquot Sound, it is a decently priced accommodation. But you should be aware that you do not get 4-star accommodation for a 2-star price!
The room was rather big, the bed comfy, the bathroom okay although the linoleum could have used some replacing soon, but it was still rather clean. (I had a much worse bathroom in a 5-star Fairmont hotel once!)
There is a bar downstairs in the same building (outside entrance around the corner from the hotel entrance), but it was closed when I stayed there (was already end-of-season), so I can't judge any noise comments on that, but you are within easy walking distance to some nice restaurants (SoBo, Schooner), and if you're digging pizza, there's a takeout across the street from the main entrance, and they're open rather late for Tofino standards (when I was there).
If I stayed in Tofino again for just one night (arriving rather late, leaving rather early), I'll choose the Maquinna again. If I wanted to stay longer, I might pick another place for a much higher price to get a bit more luxury, but generally (and especially if you have to be concerned about a travel budget) the Maquinna is quite an okay choice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Considering all factors this hotel was a nice surprise. Clean rooms and bathrooms, great location, good internet reception, reasonable price. Close to all stores and restaurants. Fantastic sunset from the deck down the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

Our other alternative was a hotel that had a room with a washer and dryer for $840 -- a little expensive just to wash our clothes - though they  really  needed washing.  Even before checking in, it was apparent this was not exactly like the $135 room that one might find elsewhere.   It is located next to a bar and a nightclub..  The people hanging around appeared to need quick access to one or both.  The hallway has stains on the indoor-outdoor carpet which was new 20 years ago.  The window in our room-- accessible from a flat roof 8 feet below - had no screen and was certainly wide   enough for a 200-pound gorilla to enter our room unannounced.  (None did.)  Fortunately, no bugs bothered us either, despite leaving the window open because there was no ventilation and the room had an unused mustiness.  Nonetheless, the sheets were clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was spotless, the hot water was hot, the water pressure was decent and the 1990 television set was functional.  We were only awakened once by drunk screamers.   So, if you are so disorganized or risk-taking as to wait until the last minute to make reservations in Tofino during high  season, then you  know there is at least a clean bed...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

My wife and I spent the weekend in Tofino, staying at the Maquinna Lodge. There were lots of backpackers and noisy young adults running around the hotel throughout the night, yelling and screaming without consideration for other guests. The room was warm so we tried leaving the window open, resulting in even more noise coming from the busy intersection below. Isolated and limited parking. Look for an alternative!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

We stayed in the Maquinna Lodge for three nights, 15-16-17 May 2009. We payed a super low rate of 65 Can $ for the room, which was nice and clean. That is cheaper than a private room the International (Youth) Hostel in Tofino, which had no vacancies. My wife and I enjoyed our stay here, as it gave us freedom to stay in the dining room, use the Internet for free, and drink lots of free coffee in the morning. (no breakfast or dinner provided). In our view the owner and his son were extremely friendly and helpfull. The roms were cleaned every day, and the towels were replaced daily.
In our view: good value for your money, especially in the springtime.
Frans & Geertje from The Netherlands, Europe.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

Rather worringly, this place was recommended by the local tourist office, and as we arrived fairly late and had few options we booked it without seeing it. Paid $150 plus tax for a 'queen' room, which had not been redecorated since the 1970s and, being generous, cleaned some time in the 90s!

Do yourselves a favour and don't repeat our mistake - Tofino is incredibly busy in Summer, so if you decide to come on a whim and don't book ahead, you too could be the unhappy punter who is forking over decent money for an indecent hotel. DEFINITELY NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything else...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hooded_m
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

Average price $75 my foot. We went to Tofino and everything was booked. This was the only place we could find so the price was jacked up, so much for a nice community. Tofino was lovely, but certainly not at first. We paid $150 for 2 single beds in a room which had hideous wallpaper which didn't match the ugly carpet. Every hostel we stayed at on the island was cheaper and much nicer than this place. Some of the rooms, not our fortunatley, are above a bar which plays loud music at night. Book in advance when you go to Tofino and don't book here.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maquinna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maquinna Lodge

Also Known As:
Maquinna Hotel
Maquinna Hotel Tofino
Address: 120 First Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maquinna Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Maquinna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maquinna Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.