We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The RV Campground in Tofino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cove Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Cove Beach Resort
Save
You added Crystal Cove Beach Resort to your Saves list
1165 Cedarwood Place, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cabins From $120/night
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
GreenLeadersGold level
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
“The RV Campground in Tofino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

We stayed at Crystal Cove for 2 weeks in September 2009, and for 2 weeks in July 2010. We have a small travel trailer. Though Crystal Cove is not inexpensive, it is by far the best value for rv camping in Tofino. The sites are a decent size, and have treed buffers surrounding them. The location is great, being at the south end of MacKenzie Beach, and there is a bike path that goes to downtown Tofino. It is a 10 minute drive to Long Beach. Crystal Cove puts a lot of effort into making the campground pleasing with lots of well maintained flower gardens, trails, and a playground. The showers are cleaned twice a day. Firewood and wireless internet are included in the cost. We are already planning another two week stay in 2011.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    70
    10
    2
    9
See reviews for
161
131
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010 via mobile

Nice view of the beach. Good attention to detail such as topping up the wood pile every morning, robes for your trip to the hot tub, gas BBQ . No maid service , but this wasn't a big deal. No phone or cable tv but again, no big deal. They have free dvd's at the front office. The only problem us the road. Quite a few twists and turns and is a bit of a challenge especially with truck traffic .

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

I recently stayed one night in a cabin by the beach at crystal cove beach resort with my mother visiting from out of town. Having lived in the area for years I have had the opportunity of seeing and in some occasions staying in several of the many accommodations here in Tofino. It was my first time staying at Crystal Cove and I was extremely impressed. At check in we were greeted with such warmth. The woman at the desk wanted to be sure we had everything we needed and knew everything we needed to know to enjoy our one night stay to its fullest potential. We had a phenomenal view of the huge winter waves rolling onto Mackenzie beach from our deck and hot tub. The beds were comfortable, we both slept soundly to the sound of a true Tofino storm on our roof. I would highly recommend staying at crystal cove whether it be a family getaway or a romantic one!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

If you want a full hookup site for your RV, this is the best place in Tofino. We have tent-camped at Green Point (the provincial campground located in the Pacific Rim National Park) and it is beautiful, but I don't think they offer water or electrical hookups.

We camped there in late September with 2 young children in our RV. The sites are very well maintained and level with power, water, sewer hookups. Some aren't very private, but ours was great. The firewood is free, free coffee in the office and free WiFi (as well as a computer free for guests to use in the office). Free DVD's to borrow too, but I think you have to leave a $20 deposit that is fully refunded when you return the movie. The grounds are very well manicured with lots of different plants and flowers for our kids to marvel at, even at the end of September.

Our dog loved the beach and our kids loved the beach and the wonderful playground (see photos).

I jogged through Bella Pacifica campground and their RV sites were not at all private or well taken care of (giant puddles, you could spit on your neighbour). I'd never RV there.

I asked to view a few of the cabins at Crystal Cove. I have to admit, they are pretty pricey for what you get. We have stayed many times at Pacific Sands Resort in their villas and for a comparable price, I'd stay at Pacific Sands every time. BUT, now that we have an RV and have found Crystal Cove, we'll be staying there 2-3 times a year!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We spent only 2 days in Cabin #11, but we left with certainty that this was the best place in Tofino to relax and hang. The cabin was perfect...we had everything we needed including endless wood replenishment. The view from our cabin of the wild beach was beautiful. Everything you needed was there and spotless. The grounds were beautiful, and at night, the entries to the beach were glowing softly. Besides being professional and easy going, the staff and service we recieved was inspirational. Jess, in the front office, surprised me with a birthday surprise, after my husband called to leave a happy birthday message. I was so touched by her action and generousity. What an incredible place with first rate service. Try for a cabin with a view. Its hard to duplicate this wonderful treasure of a resort. It really is a secret find.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Nice beach, great for walking. The cabin spacing is minimal, approx two car widths between them. Lots of labels to read and follow, $40 for dirty dishes, $50 for chopping fire wood in doors, no garbage after 3pm, lots of rules. The fire places don't work well, kept smoking out cabin, called for help but basically just didn't have any fires in the end. The staff is alright, they told me they are pretty smart and apparently the only ones that can build a proper fire to prevent the cabin filling with smoke ( couldn't make it work when I was there). They have a whole section printed on fire making and more rules.
Almost half the hot tub jets worked, and the view from the deck was kinda alright, couldn't see anything from the main floor. I definitely saw better places while walking the beach. I pd approx $500 per night, slept 6 adults.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

This was our tenth year at Crystal Cove and we like to come twice a year. Also in May. The best time to visit is when kids are back in school. I can't imagine what Tofino, let alone Crystal Cove would be like at high season but I don't want to find out. If you have furpersons as part of your family bring them here, but try and respect what ever pet owner already knows, pick up after your pets, keep them leased in the common areas, and don't leave your pets alone when you are away. The beach here is terrific and you can let your pets off to run and swim. Most of them love it. There are lots of pick-up bags for your use, and there is even a bath shower for pets where you wash off the salt water and sand. We love this place and it is our little paradise away from home and we vowed many years ago that if we were going to holiday in Canada and spend money in Canada it would be at a place like Crystal Cove. Who needs Mexico. The cabins are all self-contained. You can BBQ to your hearts desire. Full size fridges and stoves are also available. Some of the units have tv's but who needs that kind of entertainment when you have the Pacific Ocean and miles of sandy beaches. This is a great place to meet people from all over the world who have heard about Crystal Cove and if they are not pulling into the beautiful camp grounds they are setting up shop in one of the cabins or tree houses. The staff have been great and have always looked after our needs on a first class basis. Cabin #3 is perfect for high tide and low tide. One minutue you are walking on the beach, and soon thereafter the tide is rushing in. This is a great place and I would recommend it to couples and anyone else who may have a pet or two.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove Beach Resort

Address: 1165 Cedarwood Place, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among ancient cedars at the edge of the Pacific Ocean, enjoy our 34 genuine log cabins with spectacular views and all the amenities. Our well appointed, self contained cabins complement the incredible surroundings making Crystal Cove Beach Resort your home away from home. From Beachfront Cabins with private hot tubs, to secluded Cabins set in the Rainforest, you will be immersed in the beauty that is Clayoquot Sound. Our family oriented, pet friendly resort is located on Mackenzie Beach 5 minutes from the town of Tofino and 15 minutes from the Pacific Rim National Park and the famous Long Beach. For those who prefer to rough it in style, we also offer seventy well treed, private RV sites only a short walk from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Beach Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Cove Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.