We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome pet friendly resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cove Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Cove Beach Resort
Save
You added Crystal Cove Beach Resort to your Saves list
1165 Cedarwood Place, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cabins From $120/night
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Awesome pet friendly resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We had a 1 bedroom cabin for a week. We chose because of the location, and the fact we could bring our dog with us. Place was spotlessly clean, great staff, internet worked free as advertised. The area, beach, is amazing. It isn't the cheapest place to stay but we felt we got very good value. Additionally restaurants in Tofino are fantastic, but it can be pricey if going out 3 meals a day. Having a kitchen to do breakfast, dinner at home was great. Oh yah...HOT TUB!! We will return without a doubt.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    70
    10
    2
    9
See reviews for
161
131
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

My husband, my 10 month old daughter and I stayed in a Treehouse at the Crystal Cove Beach resort for 4 nights and we really loved it!
The whole resort is spotless clean, and we always saw staff making sure it stays like that. Just beautiful!
Our treehouse had a full kitchen, 2 bathrooms, a fireplace downstairs and a gas fire place upstairs in the main bedroom, and the best of all: a jacuzzi in the main bedroom. It is easy to fit in with two persons, and with the fireplace just next to it you can even enjoy a romantic evening while the baby is sleeping downstairs.

Everyday we got new firewood distributed to our door, the garbage was picked up daily, and all that without disturbing us once!
They also offer free wifi-internet, which is accessible in all the cabins.

Unfortunately there was no frying pan in the kitchen, which made it a bit difficult to prepare certain dishes. Also, with a crawling baby, the house was anything else that childsafe. You always always have to have two eyes on the kids, especially because of the heaters on ground lever, that get very hot when in use and kids just have to touch them all the time....

Our daughter is still too young for it, but I also want to mention that the is a well equipped playground at the resort.

They also offer free DVD and book borrowing, and have quite a selection.
There is a direct access to the beautiful beach.

We really liked it here, and maybe we come back another time, when our daughter is a bit older so she can use the annex to the treehouse more.
It was a little expensive though, but for Tofino... you have to dig a bit deeper in your pocket.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed in Cabin 1 with our 3 miniature dachshaunds. When we arrived we received a bottle of wine and chocolates for our anniversary. There were pet blankets and towels there for our pets use. They were made to feel welcome straight away. The cabin is well appointed with everything that we needed. We brought food for breakfast and lunch. Barbeque there for use (we should have brought dinner food!). We were right on the beach. Great fun for the dogs to run on the beach. We will definitely be back! The only comment I would make is that there were cobwebs on the front window and dust on the mantle. Otherwise, the cabin was kept very clean...no easy task considering how much sand can find its way into your room. Thank you for welcoming our pets and these grateful [pet owners.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Amazing family vacation for people of all ages.
We LOVED our time here and WILL return.
They can only improve by putting a better mattress on the futon in the loft.
Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We enjoyed our weekend getaway very much. Not a high flutin kind of place..rustic , cozy.lovely beach walk and the wickannish beach is just a five minute drive.. cabin nine was lovely ,private,ocean view,private hot tub. I would take stay here anytime over the kingfisher resort or ti-na mara..we travelled here in feb/2010 and plan on coming back often.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo BC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

At a private spot at Crystal Cove on our second trip-my boyfriend (we met on-line 13 months ago) he proposed to me on a misty Saturday morning. It couldn't have been a more romantic place. No make-up or frills--rubber boots and all.

He said just before--"this is a nice spot to ask you a question" The answer quickly followed with a tearful but joyous "YES".
Beautiful spot for everyone and no frillls. Staff were wonderful and sincerely shared with us our excitement.
Will return annually if not more often. Scenery and ambiance says it all in this beautiful spot!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We booked to stay here as a part of our honeymoon in the US and Canada. It was everything that we had hoped that it would be and more. When we arrived, we were given the keys to our cabin, which was right on the beach front, looking out into the cove. At the front on the decking was the hot tub, which was great of an evening as it was pretty cool then, but you could stay outside for longer if you sat in the tub! Towelling dressing gowns were provided, so that was great for getting out of the tub and into the cool air. Also on the decking was a gas barbecue.

The inside of the cabin had a rustic feel. There was a living / kitchen / diner area, and it was all well equipped with everything that you would need for a self-catering holiday. Also in the living room was a fireplace, and firewood was provided. This was lovely in the evening, and even though in September it wasn’t so cold that we needed to light the fire, it just gave a romantic ambience that was perfect for us on our honeymoon.

The staff also gave us a lovely box of biscuits on arrival as a gift to celebrate that we had just got married, which was really a nice touch.

The bedroom was cosy and comfortable, and the bathroom was a good size and nice and clean. There is a television and video player in the bedroom, and its possible to borrow movies from the site office. Also, there is a site laundry room, which is great if you find yourself running out of clean clothes (like we did!).

The location is fantastic, as you are not too far from the town of Tofino, where you can stock up on supplies for cooking in the supermarket, and there are some nice restaurants, a liquor store, and plenty of places that organise excursions. Also, as you are right on the beach, there are some beautiful sunsets to be seen, and romantic strolls to take along the shoreline. Crystal Cove really does offer the perfect, romantic, stress-free getaway.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove Beach Resort

Address: 1165 Cedarwood Place, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among ancient cedars at the edge of the Pacific Ocean, enjoy our 34 genuine log cabins with spectacular views and all the amenities. Our well appointed, self contained cabins complement the incredible surroundings making Crystal Cove Beach Resort your home away from home. From Beachfront Cabins with private hot tubs, to secluded Cabins set in the Rainforest, you will be immersed in the beauty that is Clayoquot Sound. Our family oriented, pet friendly resort is located on Mackenzie Beach 5 minutes from the town of Tofino and 15 minutes from the Pacific Rim National Park and the famous Long Beach. For those who prefer to rough it in style, we also offer seventy well treed, private RV sites only a short walk from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Beach Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Cove Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.